We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Repose

Save Saved
You added The Repose to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Repose
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Zankat Talaa no 17 | Ras Chejra, Rabat-Salé, Sale 11000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Sale B&B and Inns
Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Jan and her girls are a delight to stay with. The riad is like a thousand and one night fairy tale. with a lovely roof top terrace, which is a pleasure to stay at after the lovely breakfast they serve and have a relaxed morning in between al the beautiful flowers. Jan's pleasure is to encourage you to get on top of the Madrasa and find the rooftop terrace in the sea of the houses below. Although it was not easy to accomplish, we succeeded, which made Jan just as happy as we where. We enjoyed our stay and recommend this riad to everyone!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    42
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
44
134
23
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Hidden in the Sale Medina you´ll find this cool riad. Owned by Jan, a nice English woman living in Morocco, this place has an excelent staff, Jan and her team are very helpful and gentle.
It is perfect for couples, they have few, but comfortable rooms. Having breakfast in the terrace is something you can´t miss, its very relaxing.
Its not a big deal to find the riad once you´ve talked to Jan, she asked a taxi driver to pick us in the train station and when we arrived she gave us all the instructions we needed to walk around without getting lost.
Very recommended!

Room Tip: Pick a room in the first floor to have more privacy. The African room is cute, but you probably woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaizyB
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

From the moment the reservation was booked, this little raid stood head and shoulders above the rest. Jan, who runs the raid with her husband, sent a very nice email right away and offered detailed directions to make the place easy to. Find. On arrival I was welcomed with fresh Moroccan cakes, tangerines and dates before settling onto my beautifully appointed room. Jan then took the time to describe the area attractions offering great recommendations and good advice. Her staff cooked wonderful vegetarian food on request and they took every care to accommodate special needs. Soft sheets and fluffy towels made me feel right at home and every incidental need had been accounted for in the most gracious way. I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed in many places all over the Morocco, but this one is our personal favourite!
Even if Rabat itself is less interesting than Marrakech, it's definitley worth visiting it becuase of this Riad!
This place made a great impression, and will stay in our memory for a long time!!!
It was pure pleasure to be guests out there.
The interior is just amazig, rooms unique and cozy. (One of few places which had a hair drier among room equipment). The staff makes you feel very welcome, and they do anything-from orginizing pickup, massages, hennas etc.

If u plan to stay in Rabat, this place is THE place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skawina, Poland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Fantastic place, beautifully designed rooms and the eating area on the roof which still stays in my mind. The owners of the hotel treat you very personally and care to all your needs. Rabat is not the safest place in the world, yet Jan ( the owner) does everything so that you feel safe- organizes pick ups with friendly taxi drivers who will not rip you off and even gives you a mobile phone with a local number so that you can contact them immediately in case something happens. No 1 for me in Morocco!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This was by far the Best Customer Service I have Ever had no matter the place! Jan and Rachid went out of their way to accomadate any and every request, from train station pickup, change of travel dates, what to see, meals, shaves, massage, laundry, etc.

Once you enter the doors of the Riad prepare yourself to enter another world!!! Rooms are unique, excellent atmosphere and just outstanding!!!

If visiting Rabat, this should be your #1 choice of place to stay!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are different and unique!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We started and ended our Morocco trip in October 2012 at The Repose. If you fly in or out of Rabat this is the place to stay. Read the recent reviews and you will see why. We stayed two nights at the beginning of our trip and then two nights again before flying home. The riad is small, only four rooms, so it's good to book well in advance of your trip. If you are interested in handicrafts, especially pottery, you must visit Oulja: the Complexe des Potiers. It's a short taxi ride from Salé and Jan can give you directions. We bought an exquisite hand painted ceramic tajine there on the last day of our trip (see photo).

Room Tip: Best rooms are on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Repose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Repose

Address: Zankat Talaa no 17 | Ras Chejra, Rabat-Salé, Sale 11000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Sale
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Sale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Repose 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovingly restored by the owners, Rachid and Jan, this luxury riad has been renovated and decorated using traditional materials and craftsmanship to give a haven of peace and tranquility. The whole riad oozes Moroccan charm and each of the 4 suites has its own unique identity. The salon is ideal for dining in the cooler months, reading a book or playing games. The courtyard is great for sipping tea, listening to the splashes of the fountain, while the terrace is fabulous for breakfast, sunbathing or siestas in the shade. With Rachid and Jan living on-site, the hospitality and customer service are second-to-none and the combination of their local knowledge and awareness of international expectations ensures a warm and comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Repose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Repose Hotel Sale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Repose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.