We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprising gem in the middle of medina!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Repose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Repose to your Saves list
The Repose
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zankat Talaa no 17 | Ras Chejra, Rabat-Salé, Sale 11000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off 3 nights or more!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sale
Skawina, Poland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A surprising gem in the middle of medina!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Fantastic place, beautifully designed rooms and the eating area on the roof which still stays in my mind. The owners of the hotel treat you very personally and care to all your needs. Rabat is not the safest place in the world, yet Jan ( the owner) does everything so that you feel safe- organizes pick ups with friendly taxi drivers who will not rip you off and even gives you a mobile phone with a local number so that you can contact them immediately in case something happens. No 1 for me in Morocco!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    45
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
47
137
25
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This was by far the Best Customer Service I have Ever had no matter the place! Jan and Rachid went out of their way to accomadate any and every request, from train station pickup, change of travel dates, what to see, meals, shaves, massage, laundry, etc.

Once you enter the doors of the Riad prepare yourself to enter another world!!! Rooms are unique, excellent atmosphere and just outstanding!!!

If visiting Rabat, this should be your #1 choice of place to stay!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are different and unique!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We started and ended our Morocco trip in October 2012 at The Repose. If you fly in or out of Rabat this is the place to stay. Read the recent reviews and you will see why. We stayed two nights at the beginning of our trip and then two nights again before flying home. The riad is small, only four rooms, so it's good to book well in advance of your trip. If you are interested in handicrafts, especially pottery, you must visit Oulja: the Complexe des Potiers. It's a short taxi ride from Salé and Jan can give you directions. We bought an exquisite hand painted ceramic tajine there on the last day of our trip (see photo).

Room Tip: Best rooms are on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at The Repose for the first and last night of our trip through Morocco as we were flying in and out of Rabat. We couldn't have made a better choice!
I emailed Jan a few days before we left to arrange airport pick-up, and a driver was there waiting for us when we arrived - even though we were almost 2 hours late! He drove us right into the medina, then helped us carry our bags for the 2 minute walk into the riad.
From the minute we arrived, we were thrilled. Jan was wonderful and helpful, and the two girls who work there were so sweet. Everything we asked for was taken care of, and we were never made to feel like it was inconvenient. Jan took care of purchasing train tickets, getting us a SIM card for our phone, and on our last morning she packed us a bagged breakfast for our early (4am) trip to the airport!
We stayed in the African room the first night, and the Chefchaouen room the last night and we loved them both. The whole riad is so beautifully decorated. We could hear a little street noise the last night, as the Chefchaouen room has a window onto the street, but it quieted down around 9:30-10 and we were not disturbed after that.
We had supper in the riad both nights we were there, and it was delicious. I highly recommend taking advantage of the meals offered - they were delicious! Especially the vegetarian curry!
I don't have much to say about Sale, as we actually spent very little time there, but we did wander around a bit the first day and liked what we saw. Jan gave us a rundown of what was nearby, we just didn't have much time!
I cannot recommend this riad more highly, and we would stay here again, for sure!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed her in September 2012. Jan and Rachid are a very friendly and welcoming couple. Jan is an English speaker, which was very helpful! The gave us a map with a list of things to do given our short time in Sale and Rabat. They looked up train schedules for us and they even sold us their converter since ours was outdated. We stayed at 10 Riads while traveling around Morocco and this really set a high standard for the rest of our trip, being the first Riad we stayed at. The food was good and the rooftop was superb. The Chefchaouen room was so beautiful, clean and comfortable. They provided bottled water and soap/shampoo. It was easy to find the Riad and venture out by ourselves for sightseeing. Thanks Jan and Rachid! The memories will last a lifetime!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here for one day in the african room, which was the smallest but was really nice and clean. It was very comfortable but on the ground floor next to the central room so we could hear others and they could hear us.
Breakfast is great. We also had dinner (all vegetarian) which was really nice too.
Hostess is English and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed for two nights at The Repose Riad and loved this place. Everything is well decorated and very clean. Jan, the owner, received us very warmly with a nice mint tea and excellent local pastries. Breakfast, served in the terrace, was also very good. Our room (chefchaouen room) was very cosy and nice. Jan was always very helpful in providing us all the information we needed. We had a great time in this riad and hope to come back again in the future!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Repose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Repose

Address: Zankat Talaa no 17 | Ras Chejra, Rabat-Salé, Sale 11000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Sale
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Repose 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovingly restored by the owners, Rachid and Jan, this luxury riad has been renovated and decorated using traditional materials and craftsmanship to give a haven of peace and tranquility. The whole riad oozes Moroccan charm and each of the 4 suites has its own unique identity. The salon is ideal for dining in the cooler months, reading a book or playing games. The courtyard is great for sipping tea, listening to the splashes of the fountain, while the terrace is fabulous for breakfast, sunbathing or siestas in the shade. With Rachid and Jan living on-site, the hospitality and customer service are second-to-none and the combination of their local knowledge and awareness of international expectations ensures a warm and comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Repose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Repose Hotel Sale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Repose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.