We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel!!! Great for kids!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Son Bou Family Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Royal Son Bou Family Club to your Saves list
Royal Son Bou Family Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Son Bou s/n, 07730 Son Bou, Alaior, Minorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Son Bou
Bury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fab hotel!!! Great for kids!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just arrived back today from this hotel and we all absolutely loved it!! We went for 10 nights with our two young boys aged 3 and 7 and we found it to be a great place for kids and adults. Lots of activities to do for both the kids and also adults with water polo, water aerobics etc going on each day. Our kids loved the kids entertainers from Kikoland but we never left them there which is an option (only because we were doing things together) Jose and his brilliant team who work at Kikoland really are great and then work really hard all day long to entertain the kids and then start all over again in the evening to put on shows for the kids. Food was great (we were all inclusive), pool is amazing plus the small childrens pool which my 3 year old loved. You can always get a sun lounger even though it was high season. View from our apartment was great, sea view across the beach and even though we were in one of the unmodernised apartments which are a little bit dated we found the apartment had everything we needed and that it was nice and quiet.

We didnt do much out and about travelling (apart from the Aqua Park across the other side of the island) as the kids loved the pools and beaches.

This was our first Summer abroad holiday abroad with the kids and we were really happy that we did pay a bit extra and go for this hotel. I saw the reviews on this website and knew it was the only one for us.

Room Tip: The entertainment area backs on to the pool so if you arent going to stay and watch (if you have bab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estefania A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writing a nice review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel. We are loving your "We absolutely loved it"! ;-)

It is great you and also your children enjoyed our animation activities. Thank you for valuing so good our animation team. They will be very happy to know about your review.

We are very happy to know you and your family found "great" our foood and AI services. It also very nice you liked your apartment and its views.

Kiko, Cuqui & Hooky send a big hug to your kids!

We hope to see you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    146
    28
    4
    3
See reviews for
455
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

The cleanest rooms you could ever wish for. Fantastic food, great selection. And the staff are so hard working it is unreal - particularly the entertainments team. Close to the beach - the best place in Menorca by a long shot.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estefania A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writing a nice review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel. Thank you for valuing so good our cleanness and the food variaty.

We would like also to thank you for your compliment about our staff! They will be very happy to know about your review.


We hope to see you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Just returned from a week in Royal Family Son Bou, had a brilliant week. We went with our daughter (12yrs) son (7yrs) and our twin boys 8 months old. This hotel had everything we could have wished for. All the children were entertained and kept happy, the pool was large with two shallow parts. Never struggled to get sunbeds plenty to go around. Twins had a play in Kikoland baby section every day, the staff were amazing with them. Our son also enjoyed Kikoland and took part in something every day. Our daughter made friends and spent most of her day in the swimming pool or playing pool in the games area.
We requested a ground floor apartment which we got (thank you), apartment was lovely we had a one bed with two Travel cots and two high chairs and still had enough room. There was a small kitchen area with a kettle and microwave so I managed to do all the bottle sterilising.
The restaurant was lovely we ate most meals in the main restaurant which was never overcrowded.
Overall we had a brilliant holiday and could not fault anything at the hotel it had everything you could want for a family holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estefania A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writing a nice review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel.

It is great to know all your children had fun with us and found always something interesting to do! :-) We are also very happy that your request was filled and you liked so much the apartment.

Thank you for your support!

We hope to see you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Arrived on 19th- worried we had missed dinner but main buffet restaurant was open till 10pm... No idea why some moan at the food being repetitive as it was fab! Plenty of dishes to choose from every night. Rooms were basic- double bed needed rather than 2 singles pushed together-this is my only moan. Beach location was great- a safe walk thru tiny tunnel and path to the most beautiful beach, turquoise sea greets you... Waters are so clear and warm. Looks as good as cancun!! Main pool was great size , have to edge in slowly and get used to temperature as not heated but once your body adjusts its fine. Plenty of loungers free as others have said. The infant pool by Kikoland is great, waters warmer and the pirate ship is a fave and my 3 yr old loved it... He turned into a right water baby and even my 8 yr old was happy to play in it . Everything's very clean and staff are attentive... Only had to sit in the lounge/outside seating under the sails for few seconds and bar staff would ask what you would like to drink. We stayed all
inclusive and it was worth it. Drinks option was good with regards to spirits - cocktails etc... Try the "son bou"cocktail as it was my favourite. Games room has few things in to keep the kids entertained- and my two spent the evenings in there and playing around the area with other kids and watching the shows. We booked via travel republic and so found there wasn't any option for day trips to take . No rep like we've had on other holidays. Outside the hotel u can hear "choo choo" and its a Thomas the tank lookalike train vehicle that goes around son bou every 45mimutes and 10am-11pm I think... We did this on the last day and was nice 30 min ride around. Kids love it. Was 6euros each. We had an app with view of the beach A-12-12 with little view of the beach and the hotel sol milanos pinguinos was directly opposite and glad never picked it as its very hi rise and not ideal for little kids with rooms with balconies. Our overall stay here will be remembered fondly and we would defo visit again in a few years . Thank you all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estefania A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writing a nice review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel. Thank you for valuing so good all of our services.

It is great your kids enjoyed our new pirate ship and you liked so much our Son Bou cocktail! :-)

We would like to thank you also for the beautiful pictures.

Kiko, Cuqui & Hooky send a big hug to your kids!

We hope to see you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed here in 1 bedroom superior rooms block F ground floor (although this still means some steps) which overlooked the pool the apartments are very clean and good sized with small kitchenette and fridge so ok for cold drinks and tea making :-) Hairdryer in bathroom was ok and dont need to pack towels as can use hotels Towels by the pool and on the beach. Grandchildren loved the pool, Kikoland is very well run with lots to keep kids entertained, Adults can stay with them or leave them there. Evening entertainment was one of the best we've seen in hotels. All inclusive was very good, the food was excellent very good for children and adults, if people moan about it they must be very fussy eaters. Staff here are very helpful and eager to please in all areas, special thanks to Rosanne in kikoland and Christina in the Restaurant, was kids heaven xx

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estefania A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writing a nice review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel. Thank you for valuing so good all of our services!

It is great that your grandchildren enjoyed Kikoland and you found our staff so helpful. Rosana and Cristina will be very happy to know about your review.

Thank you so much for your support! :-)

We hope to see you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, great staff and beautiful pool. Close to the beach and right by the little show and restaurants. However, we were put on the third, top floor with a buggy and as there were no lifts my husband had to wake my son every night to get him out of it, then we had to carry the buggy up 3 sets of steep steps. When we asked for a lower room we were told none were available.The hotel needs to put those with children on the ground floor as I am sure couples would not mind the steps.

Also, on arrival, we had to take a buggy, 3 year old and 3 cases up to the room ourselves. As Inhad to stay supervising my son in the room, our luggagenwasnthereforenleft unattended as my husband ran up and down to carry each one up at a time. The hotel really needs porters!

Drinks were really expensive. Sat by the pool it was 2 euros for a juice for my three year old and at meal times a small bottle of water was over 2 euros. Therefore we went out at night as my husband refused to pay around ten pounds for a beer and vodka at the hotel.

The hotel is busy with Germans so please be aware of this if you like to chat to others and for your children to make friends as English were the minority.

On the whole everything else was great and these were my only complaints.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estefania A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writing a review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel.

First of all, we would like to infome you that we do not have couples between our guests to put on the third floors as you say. All of our clients have the same profile: families with children. We are very sorry if we could not give you a lower apartment, but if we did not do it, it was because of the availability. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.

We are also very sorry about the difficulties with the luggage. We do have this service, but we apologize if this service was not offered to you and your family.

As you say, most of our clients are German. But especially in July/Ausgust the guest nationality is very varied: Spanish, Italian, Swiss, Dutch...


It would be a pleasure to be able to see you and your family again. :-)

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and I and two daughters, aged 4 and 6 stayed from the 5th August. From the start our holiday was wonderful. The Hotel and apartments are immaculate and I have never stayed in such a well cleaned apartment, even the balcony was sparkling. The food was always hot, appetising and topped up. The children's food area was well thought out and much enjoyed by our girls. The staff were so helpful and kind and our check in receptionist Esther was informative, welcoming and Efficient. We lost several items during our stay, all of which were found and returned which showed good organisation. Even some bottled cream that had fallen into the bath and had wound up in the laundry! The animation team were simply wonderful and so very considerate. I would not hesitate to recommend the Royal Son Bou and would say it is well worth going all inclusive as it was an economical way for us as a family to afford the many extras it provided. Thank you to all the lovely staff that made our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: Found a one bed apartment ample for two small children and two adults. Block G was good as was near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estefania A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writing a nice review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel. Thank you for valuing so good the cleanesse of the apartment, the food and the animation team.

It is very nice to know you lost different items during your holiday but could get everything back! :-) In name of Esther I would like to thank you for your nice value. She will be very happy to know about it.

We would like to thank you also for the title of your review "Fantastic!". Thank you so much for your support! :-)

We hope to see you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Son Bou Family Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Son Bou Family Club

Address: Playa Son Bou s/n, 07730 Son Bou, Alaior, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Alaior > Son Bou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Son Bou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Son Bou Family Club 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Royal Son Bou Family Club, we are fully focused and conceived for families with children. Our motto is: the perfect holidays for and with children. It means that we offer active, amusing and entertaining holidays, knowing this is the way to assure to all members of the family that they can fully enjoy their holidays in Menorca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Royal Son Bou Family Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Son Bou Family Club Hotel Son Bou
Royal Son Bou Alaior
Royal Son Bou Family Club Minorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Son Bou Family Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.