We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Families book with confidence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Son Bou Family Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Royal Son Bou Family Club to your Saves list
Royal Son Bou Family Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Son Bou s/n, 07730 Son Bou, Alaior, Minorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Son Bou
Nieuw Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Families book with confidence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We visited for a week in June, and I’m still sorry to have left. My kids (1 & 4) really loved the place, and I’m now quite familiar with most Spanish Mini disco favourites…especially Veo Veo. The new rooms were OK, the beds were reasonable but be prepared to do some pram carrying as there are stairs to negotiate.

The entertainment was the best I’ve seen in a hotel, as well as the organisation. Everything is there for children. Wasn’t bad for dads too as I played football most days, in true English style the last game was lost to the Germans on penalties.

Outside the hotel there isn’t much, a handful of bars and restaurants but nothing I could recommend. There was one Bhudda bar that was OK for a relax. The food in the restaurant was also pretty impressive for mass catering. The pasta station was also excellent for a fresh cooked plate-I went back for seconds one night which I later regretted! Eyes bigger than my belly I suppose. The beach was quiet, quiet unspoiled and quite green.

I would book with confidence-they do everything right I’d say in relation to the price. I found HB far better value than AI-you’d really have to hammer the drinks to make it worth your while.

Room Tip: We stayed in G-1st floor-rooms were refurbished. Sunny balcony and next to the entertainment which s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estefania A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writting a nice review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel. It is very nice to read things like "I’m still sorry to have left". Thank you! ;-)

It is a pleasure to know you liked your apartment. We take note of your suggestion about some mechanism to carry the prams. In this way, you help us to improve our service.

We are very thankful for valuing our entretainiment and the food so good. It is also great to know you liked our beach. However, we take note of your comment about Son Bou surrondings. As you say, one of the best bars in Son Bou is Buda Louge. We know the owner. He will be very happy to know about your review ;-)

We would like to thank you also for the title of your review " Book with confidence". Thank you so much for your support! :-)

We hope to seeing you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    146
    28
    4
    3
See reviews for
455
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Iv just recently got back from staying at royal son bou hotel with my partner and two kids aged 4 and 5.
This hotel is all about the kids and kikoland is amazing as all we got was"can we go to kikoland" everyday!. This is very good for the adults because you can get a break from the kids from 9:30-12:30 and 3pm till 5:30 leaving adults to do what they want secure in the knowledge that the kids are safe and happy doing lots of different activities.
The hotel is very clean and well kept,think it has had a recent refurb and the rooms look nice and tasteful.
We specifically asked for a sea view and to be on the top floor,we didnt get either of them requests as per our booking so be prepared to not get what u requested!!. The hotel was full so they couldnt have moved us anyway! We was given a ground floor apartment and it was terribly noisy!!!!! Dont think they know what sound proofing is!!!. When i did eventually complain about the noise i feel nothing was done. I phoned reception at 2 in the morning complaining of noise from the apartment above. I got a prompt response from reception and one of the reception staff came round who told me they would log it in the complaints book but did absolutely nothing else so i had to indure another night of hardly any sleep!!.
The beds are rock hard and the worst BY FAR! i have ever slept on,all four of us where exhausted when we returned home which u shouldnt expect from a holiday. My parner joked of sleeping on a lie low they were that bad!,the beds and lack of sleep ruined our holiday.
Food was pretty good,no complaints there although a tad bit repetitive.
The hotel is not 100 metres to the beach!
We would not return to that hotel!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estefania A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writting a nice review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We are very pleased to know that your kids enjoyed so much Kikoland and you and your wife felt secure about leaving your kids at Kikoland. Thank you much for your compliment about the cleanliness and the food.

Regarding your comment about your apartment request, we would like to inform you that unfortunately we did not get any of your requests. Furthermore, the apartment type you booked (Hooky Royal) is an refurbished apartment with pool view. In exchange, the apartments with sea view are not refurbished.

We would like also to apologize for the noisy. As you said, you called the Reception and the reception team talked the family was living above yours to ask for being more silent. However, it is difficult to check if they are being silent every time.

Sincerely, we are very sorry about the inconvenience with the beds. In order to make your sleep more comfortable, we changed the mattress for a softer one under your consent. On this point we kindly ask for your understanding.

In spite of the inconveniences, it would be a pleasure to be able to see you and your family again.

Kiko, Cuqui and Hooky send a big hug to your girl and boy! :-)


Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We've just returned from a lovely holiday at Royal Son Bou and were all very sad to leave. We went with our 2 kids, aged 4 and 2 and they had the time of their lives.

Service - absolutely wonderful. I have stayed at many 5 star hotels that could learn a lot from the quality and sincerity of the staff at Royal Son Bou. My husband and I marvelled at how the hotel could have recruited and retained such a brilliant team of service personnel. A special thank you to Mauricio and Gemma from the Kikoland team as they took special care of my son.

Apartment - we were upgraded on arrival to a 2 bedroom apartment in Block E, overlooking the pool. THANK YOU ROYAL SON BOU! It was a lovely apartment with loads of space and high quality furnishings. We made friends with someone staying in a 1 bed as well and it looked great too. Must congratulate the cleaners who got the room cleaner than anywhere else I've stayed.

Food - good quality and lots of variety. Only downside is I now have a few extra pounds to lose! We were half board and that turned out to be the best option because the sum total of what we spent on lunches and drinks (we didn't scrimp) was around half the cost of the upgrade to all inclusive. Maybe this is something the hotel need to look at if they want to encourage more guests to go all inclusive.

Kikoland - great activities for the kids and plenty to keep them entertained for our 10 day stay. What was really special though was the staff who were very friendly, caring and hard-working.

Entertainment - really fun and lots of variety. Kids stayed up till 10 every night and had a blast. Service from the bar staff was superb and we were amazed at how efficient they were.

We would definitely consider returning to the hotel next year and would recommend it to anyone travelling with young kids.

Room Tip: 2 bed apartments are very spacious indeed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estefania A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writting a nice review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel.

Thank you so much for valuing our staff so good comparing us with a 5* hotel staff. The will be very happy to know about your great review. I will personaly thank Mauricio & Gemma for their job in name of you! ;-)

We also are very happy to know you liked your apartment and its cleanness and you value so good the quality and variaty of our food. Thank you so much!

We take note about your AI Upgrade price suggestion. In this way, you help us to improve our service.

Thank you for your recommendation! :-)

We hope to seeing you and your family again.


Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just come back from a weeks stay at Royal Son Bou, and couldn't have wished for a better holiday. It provided a fantastic holiday for my husband and I, and our 3 year old daughter. We chose this Resort/Hotel because of the trip advisor ratings and comments, but also because the Resort of Son Bou, is so close to the airport reducing transfer tantrums from the kids!
We had a 3rd Floor, sea view room which was fantastic, as when our little one had her afternoon nap, we had the sun on the balcony. It was also very quiet. Our room and all communal areas were spotless and well maintained. The pools were excellent with the childs pool being heated. All staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
We sampled both restaurants and found both to be of excellent standard, however there is more choice in the Es Prat restaurant situated in the main hotel. The variety and choice on offer was superb, both at breakfast and evening meal.
Kikoland and the child entertainment was brilliant for our 3 year old, as was the evening entertainment for both children and adults.
The only downside was that we did not venture far out of the complex, due to the extensive entertainment program on offer, so next time would probably book for longer than 7 days, so we can hire a car and venture out!
We will definitely be looking to revisit Royal Son Bou next year.
Excellent choice

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estefania A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writting a nice review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel. It's also great to know you felt good in your apartment and you found our restaurants, Kikoland and our staff excellent. They will be very happy to know about your review.

As you say, it is a very good option to hire a car in order to discover the fantastic island of Minorca! It is strongly recommended ;-)


We hope to seeing you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hotel is fantastic in almost all departments. The children's entertainment, accommodation and food are perfect and make this hotel the perfect base for a family holiday. Kiko, kookie and huckie are like mini celebs to the children! The only slight negatives are that as this is not on UK lists, there are few other uk families and majority German families. Not a major issue but I imagine when my children are older it could be as less likely to make friends. Most of staff very friendly and polite with the odd exception but this can only be expected. Overall fantastic place but may be better to go with friends and their children if hoping kids will make new friends!

Room Tip: Away from entertainment if young children... e block was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estefania A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writting a nice review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel. Thank yourfor valuing so good all of our departments. Our staff will be very happy to know about your review.

We take note of your comment about the English families. Normally, there are more German families than English families. However, our English guests hold the second place on th list. Maybe it was a casualty not to find many English families during your stay . We sorry about that!


We hope to seeing you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We have just returned from a great stay at the royal son bou with a 4yr old and 18 mth old. We chose the hotel based on reviews on here and we were not disappointed. The hotel is completely geared up for children and this makes your stay so smooth.
Both the pools and beach are great and Kikoland provides a wonderful alternative to being out in the sun. We never left the children but would have certainly been happy to leave the 18 mth in the 0-3 area which is wonderfully equipped, cool but not enclosed. We could sit at the edge and he played happily and the staff interacted with him beautifully. The activities in the main area for are older child were great too, the staff are cheerful and genuinely enthusiastic about everything they do showing real care for all the children. English children were certainly in the minority and although that didn't hinder his interaction with the adults, it did stop him making friends which meant I don't think he would have want to have been left. The pony trip is sweet and the trogoland trip is also good but take heed of the advise re little ones and footwear, its a fair climb for a 4 year old (and carrying a little one!)
Food is fabulous. Such a variety and stuff to satisfy even the fussiest of kids. My husband (who isn't a fan of half board) was extremely impressed with his surf and turf variety he had each night. We were half board and found this adequate as it is nice to have a change of scenery during the day. With most people in bed by 11 I can't see you'd get your money's worth with ai
We contemplated hiring a car but found the best value to be a transfer from the airport with shuttle menorca (who were fabulous) and then a local car hire for 3 days from a place 3 up from the kitkat bar. This enabled us to visit aqua land which was good for little ones and nice and quiet with no queues. Certainly not a massive waterpark but that's not what this age need.
Overall I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. Since having kids we have holidayed in villas but thought our eldest might want a little more entertainment. The royal son bou certainly provided that. We booked a 2 bed apartment and were lucky enough to be upgraded to the best room. It was fabulous and large. We were in block e which was a great location. Being top floor we had a view of the sea and the pool which was gorgeous and we were far enough away from the entertainment not to feel overpowered. The noise is from 8 til 10ish so not too bad anyway.
I think the fact the hotel isn't on a British tour operator list certainly limits the British visitors but I'm sure some may say thats not a bad thing! We found all guests to be pleasant and there was certainly no excessive drinking going on. And as everyone seemed to have at least one child under 2 there was certainly a mutual understanding of how kids are :-)
Wow, i didn't mean to write so much but I love using tripadvisor to research holidays and this is a hotel that I would never have found without it. Definitely recommend to pre school parents.

Two tips. Top floor rooms are great. Everyone leaves their buggies at the bottom so don't worry about having to carry up the stairs. Also re tv. We took a little DVD player that we plugged into the bedroon tv so we could put on some kids tv during down time but we also found that if you went to the menu settings on the tv you could convert the language to English on Clan (Spanish cartoon channel, peppa, Ben & holly etc) and Disney. I recommend they tell all uk guests that as it is very useful.

Room Tip: Get the biggest you can afford. Rooms facing the sea get sun nearly all day. Top floor are more pri...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estefania A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writting a nice and complete review of Royal Son Bou Family Club. It's great to know your visit was based on the Tripadvisor reviews and you were not disappointed. :-)

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel. We are very happy to know you liked the Kikoland & Babyclub (organization, activities and staff). Thank you also to remind our readers to take appropriate footwear for Trogloland. ;-)

It's also great you found a big food variety. We have worked very hard on it! That's why we do thank you your value!

It's also a pleasure for us to be able to read things like " Overall I would thoroughly recommend this hotel" from our guests. Thank you again!

However, we take note of your comment about the British Touroperator. In this way, you help us to improve our service.


We hope to seeing you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I have little to add that hasn't been said before, but we had a great time. We went with our 4 yr old daughter which was the perfect age I think. Food was good, especially the freshly grilled meat and fish every day. I have never eaten such a wide variety of fish in all my life! Entertainment was great, we are still singing and dancing to Chu Chu Wa! Animation team were awesome with kids, but ALL staff from the maids, reception, waiters, bar staff were fantastic with children. Special mention to the crèche available at lunch and dinner which let us eat our food non rushed after daughter finished hers. All restaurants should do this! Beach was 2 minute walk, which was not busy, perfect sand, and the clearest water possible! Only downsides (minor) were wifi which was a bit slow and flakey, but maybe this was a good thing to keep the adults away from their smartphones! Would also have been nice to have CBeebies or option to have Disney Channel in English.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estefania A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear family,

Thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writting a nice review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel. It's also great to know you likes so much our food especially the fish and the crèche. Thank you for valuing the variety of our fish. It is very important for us ;-)

We take note of your comment about Wifi. In this way, you help us to improve our services.


Kiko, Cuqui and Hooky send to your daughter a big hug and the sing again for your girl: Chu Chu Wa...! :-)

We hope to seeing you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Son Bou Family Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Son Bou Family Club

Address: Playa Son Bou s/n, 07730 Son Bou, Alaior, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Alaior > Son Bou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Son Bou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Son Bou Family Club 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Royal Son Bou Family Club, we are fully focused and conceived for families with children. Our motto is: the perfect holidays for and with children. It means that we offer active, amusing and entertaining holidays, knowing this is the way to assure to all members of the family that they can fully enjoy their holidays in Menorca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Royal Son Bou Family Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Son Bou Family Club Hotel Son Bou
Royal Son Bou Alaior
Royal Son Bou Family Club Minorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Son Bou Family Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.