We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid Back Comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Contessa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Contessa Hotel to your Saves list
Contessa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Argassi 29100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Argassi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Greystones, Wicklow, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Laid Back Comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Hi , spent a relaxing week here with my teenage daughter during the first week of August. The hotel was exactly what we required. The rooms were quite small but who spends time in their rooms on a sun holiday right? the important thing was that the rooms were very clean and modern and the daily maid service ensured that linen and towels were always fresh.
Also the rooms had good air conditioning which is free during the months of July & August ( most important for us northern Europeans).
The public areas of the hotel were also well maintained and the food was great too, especially the buffet breakfast where you could eat as little or as much as you liked.
The staff at the hotel were very efficient and no request was too much trouble however the thing I really liked was how much they blended into the background and weren't there until you needed them !
The pool area of the hotel was great and served food and drink until as late as you liked, as least midnight in any event. The barman/chef/superman manning this area during our stay was called Marco and although he actually lived at the top of the island 22km away he always seemed to be there working away, simply fantastic!
All in all I we really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Contessa and if we are ever back on Zante we would be delighted to stay there again.
Paul & Sally - Ireland

Room Tip: This is a dog friendly hotel and our room faced the back of the hotel where some dogs were tied up a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicia k, Manager at Contessa Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Paul and Sally,

Thank you very much for taking some time to add your review on Contessa Hotel and for sharing your memories with the rest of us here.

It was our pleasure to have you here at our hotel and we are very glad to know that you enjoyed yourselves so much.

On behalf of all the staff and family we would like to express our appreciation for your kind words about our staff. And I would also like to reassure that I will pass your kind comments to all the personel of the hotel especially to Mario from Volimes( the village far away).

We hope that will have the chance to see you back again in our home for another round of sunny, relaxing and worry free holiday. Our staff will be always here to welcome you back with a big smile and with their hospitality.

Until then, we wish you have a great time back home and dont forget us

We are all sending you our love

Take care,
Kladi A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    61
    26
    16
    5
See reviews for
77
172
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Just got back from a lovely family holiday at the Contessa, the staff were really friendly and couldn't do enough to help us enjoy our stay, they were particularly helpful with anything we needed for our grandsons of 2 1/2 and 7months. The hotel and rooms were kept very clean and linen was changed every couple of days. Breakfast was fine for a 3 star hotel and the rooftop restaurant and had an amazing view of the bay. Nice pool and baby pool, only one problem for us, the splinters we got from the surrounding wooden decking, not ideal, but it wouldn't stop us returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicia k, Manager at Contessa Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Val,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on us at tripadvisor. We are delighted to read that we have managed to make your vacation relaxing and comfortable. On behalf of the contessa stuff and familly I would also like to thank you for your sweat comments regarding our friendliness and our hospitality. We enjoyed having you and your wonderful familly around. I do apologise for the deck and the splinters. I would like to promise you that like every year we will paint and maintain it, now more carefully, so you wont encounter any more problems in the future if we have the honor to see you again in our place,

Thank you again for all your nice words, You have a lovely familly and we wish to welcome all of you again really soon!!!

Best Regards,
Kladi A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 5 nights with my wife. We were very impressed with the cleanliness everywhere and particularly at our room, and the friendliness of the staff! Very good value for money at the breakfast with all the standard items you would expect. Nice pool and very good service from Spyros and the rest of the guys at the bar. We will definitely return to the Contessa Hotel.

Room Tip: Must visit the "la Dolce Vita" & "Yamas" restaurants just 200 hundred meters...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicia k, Manager at Contessa Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Georana,

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Contessa Hotel and for choosing to share your holiday memories with the rest of us here.

We are very happy to know that you had a fantastic time here at Contessa hotel and that our facilities and services succeeded on meeting your needs and expectations. Most of all we are happy to know that our staff made you feel so welcome and comfortable.

We would like to say a very big thank you for giving our people such a credit for their work.

We hope to see you again soon until then take care and dont forget us!!!

Best Regards,
Kladi A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Spent one week at the Contessa Hotel on HB. First we saw a room with a garden view, but the garden was in fact some very dry plants, and then they changed it with a room with pool view.
The room itself was great, bed sheets and towels were clean, and were changed every two days. Bathroom was clean, everything worked, so no complains there. As I said we were there on HB, and the food was ok. It wasn't great by any means, but ok.
Argassi is a very quiet little town, if you need more bars, discos and things to do, you need to go to Tsilivi, Laganas or Zante. It's best if you rent a car and go explore the whole island. We drove around the island covering almost 1000 km, but we saw almost everything there is to see. We once ended up having lunch at a restaurant in the middle of nowhere with a view of Porto Vromi Bay. It was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicia k, Manager at Contessa Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Vlad,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on us at tripadvisor. You opinion is really important to us in order to help us improve our facilities.

First of all, I would like to thank you for your kind comments on our lovely staff and for giving them credit for their hard work and their hospitality.

Regarding your room I would like to apologise for the inconvinience of changing rooms but unfortunately not all the rooms have pool view however when we were informed of your request we changed your room immediately. It is really important for us to make our guests feel like home and cater all their needs:-)

I am also really happy that you have chosen to have a HB meal deal in order to taste the local cuisine. I can understand that Greek delicacies, however tempting I personally found them, may not suit to all people but at least by chosing this deal I am confident that you had the opportunity to taste many different delicacies with all the great variety we offer.

We hope to see you again really sure,

Take care and dont forget us:-)

Best Regards
Kladi A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice location, close to the beach (200m), food is good -international cuisine for all taste. The staff it is friendly (best regards for Lou). We spent a very nice holidays. Thanks all! I will be back for more days next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicia k, Manager at Contessa Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Gabi,

I would like to thank you for choosing Contessa hotel and for sharing your comment on TripAdvisor.

I appreciate your kind comments regarding the location, the staff, the cleanliness and all the service of the Hotel. It’s a pleasure to achieve our guest’s satisfaction.

I am very pleased to read that you had a good stay and your positive feedback concerning the staff! I personally think that courtesy and professional service is the best way to guarantee a pleasant stay!

I hope we can welcome you again really soon at our Hotel,

Best Regards,
Kladi A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from 12 nights at the Contessa Hotel, on a HB basis.
Had a wonderful time.
Room at the back, right at the end.
Some noise from crazy golf course, but all went quiet at midnight.
Hotel has a very friendly feel to it. Although its got 150 rooms, it feels smaller than this.
The staff work amazingly hard, there every day throughout the season.
Room was cleaned every day, the cleaner was very friendly.
I had requested twin beds as traveling with my daughter, was given a double bed. But as I liked our room, I didn't mention this, just got an extra sheet of the cleaner.
The food is ok.
Breakfast has everything you need.
Dinner could do with being more authentic and Greek.
But I do appreciate all tastes have to be catered for, not an easy job.
Special thanks to Alecia at reception for letting me cuddle her dogs when I was missing mine!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicia k, Manager at Contessa Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Lies,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on us at tripadvisor.

It is so great to know that you had a fab time here with us and that our staff made you feel so welcome and comfortable.

We are also very happy that our hotel along with its facilities although small, succeeded on meeting your standards.

We would all like to say a very big thank for your kind feedback on us and for giving us a credit for the way we took care of you.

We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back at our Contessa. Until we meet take care and dont forget us!

Best Regards,
Kladi A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Spent two fabulous weeks in Argassi, in late July, and had the good fortune to stay at the Contessa Hotel. The hotel is very centrally located,with a fabulous view of the bay,and just a short walk to the " Main Street" and a range of top class restaurants, bars, tavernas and just a short step from the local beaches. From the moment we arrived we were made feel welcome, the staff were friendly, the hotel was clean and gave an immediate impression of being a well run establishment. Our room on the second floor was spacious and very clean with good storage space and good sized bathroom, together with a balcony overlooking the pool area.
We were staying on a bed and breakfast basis and the range of food available available for breakfast was excellent and was of the highest quality- not quite a "full Irish" but certainly the next best thing! The staff in the restaurant were very friendly and obliging even making breakfast available to us before seven on an occasion when we were going on a trip and breakfast service is normally eight to ten. We had an evening meal in the restaurant on three/ four occasions and this was exceptional value even if the food lacked the character of the food served down town.
The pool area is spacious and very well maintained on a daily basis by the friendly and hardworking staff. There are plenty of deck chairs and amazingly no need to to pre-book your sun lounger by using the early morning towel on the bench trick which I always find so annoying! Eventhough some new arrivals tended to make the early morning trip to the pool until the penny dropped that there was no need to expose the towels to the early morning sun in order to have access to a sun bed in the afternoon! The poolside bar was well stocked with a good very good range of drinks and cocktails,and the range of food and snacks was also very good. The proximity of the 'activity' down town generally meant that the poolside bar was generally quiet after dark which while it was slightly disappointing at times it also had an obvious advantage for those in rooms overlooking the pool!!
The upstairs restaurant is an interesting feature with the panoramic view of the bay. We attended one of the Thursday barbecues by the pool and the food was of a similar standard to the food in the restaurant.I imagine that some live Greek music and dance, even for an hour, would have greatly enhanced the atmosphere poolside during the barbecue and might even have prompted,charmed or indeed enticed the guests to spend a little more time and indeed money in the poolside area on those lovely balmy evenings!
Many of the local establishments advertise free 'Wifi' and this facility is also available in the Contessa for those who are so inclined! However you need a password which is available from the bar when you make a purchase and the password needs to be renewed on a regular basis!Could I suggest that guests should be given a password on arrival which could last for the duration of their stay - similar to the practice down the road in some of the more vibrant local hostelries!!
The Contessa is a very well run hotel and is obviously well managed- there is no waste and the door card operated lighting system is very efficient. However we used to challenge ourselves to walk fast enough on the second floor corridor to trigger the sensors in order to make sure the lights did not go off before we reached the end of the corridor !! keen fun but it certainly gives a whole new meaning to 'waste not want not'.
We really enjoyed out stay and certainly would recommend the Contessa to visitors to Argassi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicia k, Manager at Contessa Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Patsy,

Thank you very much for taking the time to add your review on Contessa Hotel and for choosing to share your holiday experience with the rest of the tripadvisor travellers.

We are very glad to know that you had a wonderful time here with us and that our staff, made you feel so nice and comfortable.

It is great to know that our hotel was up to your expectations and we would like to thank you for rewarding us with your positive comments. It is higly appreciated.

We wish to welcome you back to the contessa familly really soon. Until then take care and dont
forget us!!!

We are sending you all our love,

Warmest Regards,
Kladi A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Contessa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Contessa Hotel

Address: Argassi 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Argassi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Argassi
#1 Family Hotel in Argassi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Argassi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Contessa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Contessa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel Argassi
Contessa Hotel Zakynthos/Argassi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Contessa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.