We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windmill Bay Aparthotel

Save Saved
You added Windmill Bay Aparthotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Windmill Bay Aparthotel
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Argassi, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Well worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

OK the windmill bay is one of the last hotels heading away from argassi, but it is still only a wonderful five minute stroll to all amenities.
On arrival to the hotel you will be greeted by Effie the wonderful front of house she is a real gem who is brilliant at her job and deserves all the respect possible.
Effie showed us to our apartments, we were two families and stayed in 311 and 312, the rooms were of a great size, plenty of storage, clean towels daily, beds made, sheets changed, floors swept bins emptied daily, brilliant.
The pool and bar area was also great not noisy no loud music just very relaxing, just a few steps and you are in the gorgeous blue shallow sea, fantastic.
Good food here lovely place to have a late night drink sat by the sea without a worry in the world.
Going back to our rooms ! We in 312 had two balconies which was just fantastic and the hotel is built so every room is lucky enough to have a sea view.
We would certainly like to return to the windmill bay at some point.
Thank you windmill bay and all of the wonderful staff that work there and Effie ;-) you are a very special lady and very cheeky see you soon xx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    34
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
74
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

After a relatively short flight and a very short,15 min transfer from the airport,we arrived at the apartments.Fairly compact but everything that you needed was provided.All rooms had a good sized balcony with a sea view and with the sea accessible down the steps from the pool area,it was a tough decision whether to dip in the pool or go for a paddle in the shallow,warm waters of the Ionian Sea.With the apartments located at the far end of Argassi it was only a short 5 min walk into the centre where there was an excellent selection of restaurants,however,the food served around the pool was fantastic,not a bad meal in a fortnight.With no boom boom music in the hotel you could return there in confidence on an evening knowing if you wanted a bit of shut eye you would not have an issue.All in all a fantastic two weeks and both the resort and accommodation we will return to without haste.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I have just returned from a two week stay @ the Windmill Bay with my Husband & two children aged 6 & 10 years old. The apartments are located in a quiet area about 5 min walk from the main shops, etc. The apartments all face the sea offering a lovely view, also sitting around the pool looking out to sea is lovely. We stayed in room 404 which was on the top floor with a concrete balcony which we liked as we felt it was my private & safer for the children. The only think with being on the top floor you do experience the droning noise of the air con unit on the main roof, but we got used to is after awhile. The apartment was spacious with the main bedroom having twin beds & doors opening onto the balcony, the children had their own room with a single bed & sofa bed, which if you wanted would also be the sitting room, it also had doors opening onto the balcony. The balcony was very big giving plenty of room for everyone to sit at the table & chairs provided. The kitchen was slightly lacking on a couple of things, like a toaster (had to use the sandwich toaster to do toast) & a carving knife, but as we only had breakfast & sometimes lunch in the apartment, it wasn't to much of a problem. The bathroom was a good size with a good powerful shower, or though sometimes it did lack hot water, but it was refreshing to have a cool shower after a hot day in the sun. Plenty of storage space & two TV's in the bedrooms. A couple of things I feel did let it down was that the beds were very hard & the bedding was only a bed sheet on the mattress & on top, which most of the sheets had some stains & rips in them & I also made the mistake of looking @ the pillows & found them to be stained & moulding! The rooms were cleaned most days or though this was only a quick wipe round with a mop, which didn't go under the beds as these were still dusty. The bathroom was cleaned ok & bins were emptied everyday. I do think the place could do with a tidy up, eg lick of paint & general maintance before next summer, then these apartments would be 100%. On arrival we had to pay 120 Euros for the air conditioning, which we did know before we travelled, but I do thing these costs should be included in the holiday price by the travel agents ( we went with Thomas Cook) The air con worked very well in the children's room, but the main bedroom it didn't work so well, but it did help as it was very hot @ night, so it is recommend that you get it. The complex was very clean & tidy, it also had a lift which was good, no dragging cases up flights of stairs! The swimming pool was lovely, we did manage to get sunbeds on most days even though the early rises were out with their towels everyday! Some of the beds needed replacing really, as the had splits/cracks in them. Also the wooden fencing across the back def needed replacing as it was very lose & a bit dangerous when people leaned on it, especially with children around. The pool bar/café was excellent, the food was lovely. we ate there a lot either lunchtimes or evenings. The prices of the food & drink was very good. The girl waitress (don't know her name) was very nice, friendly & helpful, as were all the staff we met. Agrassi itself had lots of shops, bars & restaurants to chose from. The places we liked the best were Simply Greek & Granada. As for entertainment there wasn't much to do, the Green Frog bar had a Michael Buble tribute act on Wednesdays, but apart from that there wasn't anything else that we saw about. There wasn't much for the children to do, but likely there were happy to just stay in the pool most of the day. There is a few supermarkets in town, we found the cheapest one @ the top by the cash point machine, but also the Green Frog was good too. We did one trip which was on the Kalamar 2 Speed Boat to see the Turtles, it was fun on the boat & went swimming, but we only saw two turtles & they way the trips are promoted it seems like you will see loads! We booked that trip with Pete in the town who was very nice & helpful. We travelled with Thomas Cook on this trip to Zante which was our first time, when we arrived it was quick & easy or though the transfer coach was dirty with broken seats, non working seatbelts & the driver drove like a lunatic!!! When we were collected the coach was much nicer & the transfer time is only about 15/20 mins depending on how many others are being picked up. When we got to Zante Airport we were quiet shocked as there was queues & queues of people waiting to check in & when you did check in, you had to re-join another very long queue to put your own luggage through the security scanner. This process took us about an hour. It was a bit like a cattle market with people everywhere & we have never had to queue & check your luggage in like that before. As you can guess there was a lot of very unhappy people!! Once checked in we went through to the departure area where there is duty free & a couple of food areas, but be warned the food & drink is VERY expensive! We were called to our gate about 3/4 hr before take off, we were loaded & ready to go very quick & did leave about 10 mins. All in all we really enjoyed our holiday, it was to just relax & not do much. If we did return again, I would def hire a car as it's limited to what you can do in Argassi. If you want to enjoy lovely hot weather & just chill out then this is the place for you. There was a few children there, which was good for my children as they made lots of friends, so that kept them entertained. There was also a computer room & free Wifi, also a pool table, but you couldn't play properly as the room was to small to use the cues. There was also a small area with books that you could borrow whilst there, so when I had finished my own one, I found a good selection to chose from. Thank you Windmill Bay for an enjoyable stay (-:

Room Tip: Go for a top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I stayed at the Windmill Bay Aparthotel with my brother and parents. Our room had one bedroom and a lounge area that doubled as a bedroom. There were all mod cons, 2 TVs (although only one was connected to the aerial), wifi in the room (you had to ask for a code at reception), a well equipped kitchen and clean bathroom. Towels were changed and bins emptied every day and the sheets were changed almost every couple of days.

We didn't spend much time at the pool bar. We ordered a pizza for our room one day and we had our very last meal there waiting for the bus to pick us up. I wish we had made more of the pool bar as the food in the Argassi and Zakynthos restaurants was very, very salty.

We walked into Argassi almost every day, 5-10 minutes along roads with only narrow and sometimes nonexistent pavements. There are two small supermarkets along this road. One belongs to the Green Frog restaurant, where we dined once each week. Other days, we took a taxi into Zakynthos town, 8 euros each way. Not bad for four of us, the bus fares would only have been a few cents cheaper. The receptionist at the Windmill Bay would ring them for us.

There's a few steps from the pool area onto the beach (just a small strip, no room for sun loungers). You can walk out a fair way into the sea if you wish. The water was quite warm too.

One day towards the end of our stay the phone lines went down so there was no wifi for a few hours, no big thing on holiday though, right? ;)

All the rooms had a balcony sea view but not all the balconies were see through! Our balcony was a concrete wall. You had to pull your chair right up to it to be able to lean over. On the plus side you could use it as a shelf.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was our 2nd time returning to Windmill Bay. We also went last year. We are a family of 2 adults and 2 children aged 7 & 9 years. We are well travelled and up to this year never returned to the same destination as there are so many new places to discover in the world. But Zackythos touched our hearts and we just had to return. I must admit I was a bit apprehensive wondering if it would be as enjoyable the 2nd time around. All I can say is it was even better! For the first time I can truly understand why people return to a place they like. We felt we were returning to our second home. Local people remembered us and were so welcoming. We made a friend for life in Effe at reception and this was a true highlight of our trip. The Windmill Bay is beautiful, calm and ticks all the boxes for us. It's location is beautiful and despite peek time there was never any hassle getting sunbeds. The pool was never crowded and the entire place is spotless. The pool bar serves lovely snacks and meals and at night there are so many beautiful restaurants to choose from within walking distance. The staff are lovely, efficient and friendly. Do hire a car and explore this beautiful island. It is so worth venturing around. We will definitely return again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

If you are visiting Argassi, this is the place to stay! This hotel has very spacious rooms with two sofas (one has a hidden bed), a clean kitchen and toilet and the bedroom is brilliant. You have a maid coming round cleaning the room everyday of the week so it's spotless! Every single room has a great sea few as the sea is a few metres from the pool!! There is no need to get up at ridiculous times to reserve sun beds as there is enough for every person staying there, the pool side bar is great with its service of food and drink. As this is a self catering hotel you'll probably need things for the fridge, cupboards etc. but this isn't a problem as its a five minute walk to the first shop but this shop is expensive so you could walk ten minutes to the next shop which is right next to the Green Frog bar. For a great meal you could take around a fifteen minute walk to the Athinas restaurant for a great meal, For a drink I recommend Zorbas but I strongly don't recommend Legends as its nothing like the pictures/reviews the service there was terrible. Back on topic the Windmill Bay ApartHotel is a great place for anyone, I really recommend you stay here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed here for 11 nights with my husband & 2 teenage boys. Had a poolside room, very cool during the day, did use aircon for comfort at night. Room had a large veranda with its own gate - was really handy for popping back for drinks, snacks etc.
The cleaning staff work very hard, all public areas & rooms cleaned daily with clean towels & sheets most days. Beds very comfortable and it's quiet at night so we all slept like logs.
Varied & well priced menu at the pool bar.
All the staff here work very hard, are friendly & very helpful. Must mention Effie on reception - will book you tables at restaurants, order taxis - anything you need.
From the moment we were greeted at reception and saw the wonderful view out over the sea I knew that we have found a winner.
Pool area very clean. Plenty of sunbeds & mattresses with grassed areas away from the pool if you fancy a quiet spot.
Being able to walk down the steps for a dip in the sea is pure heaven.
To sum up - Perfect and will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms are handy to pop back to your room and are cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Windmill Bay Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Bay Aparthotel

Address: Argassi, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Argassi
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty lodging in Argassi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Windmill Bay Aparthotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Windmill Bay Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Bay Aparthotel Hotel Argassi
Windmill Bay Aparthotel Zakynthos/Argassi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windmill Bay Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.