We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zakantha Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Zakantha Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Zakantha Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Argassi 29100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Argassi
Woking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An Amazing Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was my second time here at this amazing hotel with fantastic and very helpful staff . always a friendly atmosphere I will be back again very very soon . Monica the bar manager is possibly the greatest person on the island she is always smiley , fun very professional and has so much advice on many things to do around the area plus she does some amazing cocktails :-)
The rooms were always cleaned every day to an excellent standard, even had our clothes folded for us and left neatly on the chair. The surroundings were always kept maintained and immaculately well presented with the pool cleaned regularly.
Breakfast was always a large variety of spreads to suit everyone. From your different breads and cold meats to your cereals then onto your Fry ups! Everything is always fresh.
The hotel staff were always on hand if ever you needed anything and could advise you on the best times to go out to Zante town.
All in all, this was one of the best holidays I have ever been on and I would highly recommend this hotel to stay in if you also wish to thoroughly enjoy yourself. I will be booking another stay next year!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    78
    36
    14
    10
See reviews for
28
125
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cardiff
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is the 5th time that we have stayed at the glorious Zakantha Beach Hotel (16th August - 23 August 2013). It has a superb beach side location, is airy and beautifully clean and the staff are welcoming, especially the effervescent bar manager Monica, who just feels like an old friend. It is ideally situated on the main strip but is at the far end so doesn't get a lot of noise from the bars and restaurants. My one and only gripe is that during July and August they charge hotel guests for the use of their beach side sunbeds, which at 3 euros a day was a little irritating. The sunbeds around the pool are free. We will be back again next year!

Room Tip: We asked for a sea view which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great hotel on the beach, ideal for families, beach,sea ,pool , and a choose of beach bars, sea so calm and warm, hotel lovely and clean, staff lovely, bar got a lovely manager called Monica , go and say hi, she knows everything about the resort, lovely lady, one Main Street with bars mini golf, shops etc, short ride to Zante town well worth a visit

Room Tip: Sea view room a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Zakantha Beach for two weeks (30th July - 13th August 2013). Family of 6 ranging in age from 7 years to 75 years. On arrival at the hotel our expectations were far exceeded. This hotel is totally undersold in all the holiday brochures. The lobby is large, airy and welcoming and the reception desk staff fantastic! We were check in in no time. From the lobby you can see out to the beach.... what a view after a long day of traveling.

The rooms are very comfortable, this hotel does not offer your usual basic but clean accommodation, the rooms here are a pleasure to be in, beds are comfy, flat screen tv, hairdryer, aircon, fridge. We had 3 partial sea view rooms. Room 123 did what it said on the tin - partial sea view. Room 323 - wow, being that bit higher up it had a great view of the hotel pool and sea and looked across towards Zante Town. Room 309 - wow does not describe this the view..... being on the corner of the top floor this room had a perfect sea view, view of the hotel pool and Zante Town. We also used room 307 during our last day (we paid to keep a room on as we had an evening flight). The view from this room was also stunning (307 is classed as a full sea view). The only thing I would say is the balconies partial sea view rooms are drenched in sunshine during the afternoon and early evening - for us it was too hot to sit out on them on our return to the room late afternoon. The full sea view rooms have shade at this time of day.

You have the option of being half board or bed & breakfast, we were bed & breakfast. The breakfast was excellent with the following items available every day: white rolls, brown rolls, white bread, brown bread, white sliced bread for toasting, white crisp bread, biscuits, Madeira cake, cheese, ham, salami, sweetened fruit Greek yoghurt, natural plain Greek yoghurt, peaches, tomatoes, boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, fried eggs, sausages, bacon, beans, mushrooms, cornflakes, muesli, water melon, honey, jam, marmalade, nutella chocolate spread, freshly baked croissants, fruit juice, tea, coffee, water, milk. My husband said he would have preferred more variety - meaning perhaps varying things a little, maybe having an omelet chef one day for example, but to be honest the offering is very good.

Local Area - the hotel is in a small village called Argassi. There are lots of nice restaurants & tavernas in the village including one of the best rated on the island. It's very close to the main town - Zanta Town (an 8 euro taxi ride away). There are a few bars within the village but it is not a party area, it's well suited to families and couples.

Restaurants & Tavernas - We really enjoyed eating out and came across some fantastic eateries. Top of the list being ZORBAS. we cannot recommend this place highly enough, it's real traditional Greek food and great service. They have meal deals and daily specials also. Making a reservation is a must as this is a small restaurant and it's very good so is always busy. PEPPERMINT is a close second. This restaurant is known for being one of the best on the whole island and if you go there you'll see why. It's got an Italian flair. All the food is very fresh, a lot of the herbs & veg is from their own gardens which you can see from the restaurant. The service is fantastic as is the house white wine! Those were our two favourite restaurants but we would also recommend PAPILLON and ETHNIC (a must do for meat lovers). SIMPLY GREEK has great views and the food is good but the other restaurants are better. There are good review of THE GREEN FROG - we attempted eating there but walked out. It's dirty, smells of old frying fat and you feel more like you are in weatherspoons in the UK than in a nice Greek taverna. Avoid it!

GREEK NIGHT - we would highly recommend TARGET GREEK NIGHT. You can book this along Argassi's main strip. It's a traditional Greek taverna up in the hills above Argassi. You can go any night but on a Tuesday and Friday they do 'Greek Night'. It's 15 euros per person - that includes - taxi from your hotel to the taverna, greek salad, Tzatziki, pitta, pork souvalaki and as much wine as you can drink. They have Greek music and traditional Greek Dancing which all gusts are encourage to participate in. It really is a fantastic night and the views over Argassi and Zante Town are stunning, as is the sunset over the mountains.

Back to the hotel..... We ate lunch pretty much every day at the hotel's snack bar, a bit lazy but we were on holiday after all. The menu was good with lots of Greek favorites as well as various salads, burgers, hot dogs pizzas, anything you wanted really. Yes, it is a little more expensive than some of the restaurants on the strip for lunch but it wasn't expensive. The soft drinks are expensive there though. It is worth walking across the road to the shop for your Coca cola needs! In the evenings the hotel has a well stocked bar with an extensive cocktail menu. I love cocktails but the cocktails here are a real let down. They all taste the same. After 3 I gave up.... they are all extremely sweet (even the margarita's and cosmopolitans are sweeter than sweet)! But as I said the bar is well stocked. Stick with your usual tipple would be my advice.

I think this hotel is rated 3*, I would definitely put it as a 4* or even 4*plus, it's a fantastic hotel in a fantastic location with fantastic staff... and is generally, well, fantastic!!!!! All members of our family thoroughly enjoyed themselves and we will, for sure, be returning.

P.S..... My lovely husband lost his wedding ring in the sea.... if any of you reading this should happen to find a ring while snorkelling... do let me know ;)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Just got back from a great 2 weeks at this hotel! The hotel is well maintained, modern and clean. It is down as a 4star and for abroad standards I would say it is definitely a step up from 3 stars so this is a fair rating.

We stayed in a partial side view -room 338 and it was perfect as no noise from the main road or pool area if we wanted a nap in the afternoon.
Room: lovely size and modern. Maids did a great job everyday also! Air conditioning was free (July&August only). We didn't bother paying for the fridge which was €2 euro a day.
We were lucky enough to have a double bed and it was really comfy! Also no problems in having extra pillows.
Only downside was to do with other guests who seemed to slam their doors which disturbed any chance of lie ins! Also some guests didn't seem to respect others and we were woken a few times at 4am by people talking really loudly down the echoey corridors. Tip: pack some ear plugs just in case!

Breakfast was 7:30 - 9:30 but they kept bringing more food out close to 9:30 on most mornings for the latecomers. if you are up for an early breakfast then that is more relaxing than later. Good selection of food to suit all... Bacon, eggs, beans, breads, rolls, biscuits, cakes, cheese, ham, jams, cereal, Greek yoghurt, fruit (limited but fine). Tea & coffee available but have to ask the staff.

The usual early morning reservations of sun beds occurred but we had no problem getting 2 beds the times we used the pool area. Didn't bother paying €3 euros for a sun bed on the beach as it seemed silly if they were free a few metres back. To the left of the hotel is a small beach which we went to quite a bit as it was quieter and not crowded with sun beds and towels on the sand worked fine!
Pool was great for serving the purpose of a cool dip and a little swim when not too busy. Kept clean also.

We ate in the snack bar a handful of times and enjoyed the food. Drink e.g. Cans of pop seemed overpriced (€2.50) so we avoided those but bought from the shop opposite instead. (90c!)

Free wifi but couldn't access in the room had to sit in the corridor or use the computers downstairs. You can pay for some or ask behind reception and they give you a code to use the Internet for free.

Staff behind reception were helpful..I did find some more pleasant than others.but didn't need to use them for anything apart from dropping key off and booking taxis.

You may also see a lovely little dog lazily guarding the front entrance / strutting around the hotel grounds called JooJoo or maybe zoozoo - she belongs to one of the staff and is lovely! She will happily ignore everyone but if you stop to say hello she is also happy to have some attention!

Some info about Argassi that may be useful.....
.............................................
Local area:
The beaches are small and there isn't a chance of strolling along the sea front as its broken up by rocks or hotel gardens and if you try to walk in the water it's rocky in places. The Main Street in Argassi has small pavements and busy traffic so don't expect to have hand in hand strolls through the town either. Make the most of that in Zakynthos main town!

We ate out every night and tried lots of places on the Argassi main road..
Simply Greek, Portokali (some reviews from last year say this is a club but when we went earlier in the evening it is a lovely restaurant with quirky touches, great food and in such a lovely garden setting so would recommend,) gyropolis (great for some cheap gyros/Slovaki), Erato, Granada (down the opposite end of Argassi - worth the walk) Apollo, Papillon, Picadilly, Zorbas, Athina, Castello beach bar.
All great but Erato, Granada and Portokali were our favourites.
Went to Target tavern in the hill for the Greek night and had a fab night! Free transport up also - €15 for food, wine and entertainment and stunning views&sunset. Great service too!

Would recommend venturing down the side streets towards the beach in the evenings as there are some lovely beach bars which are quieter and a great place to listen to the waves&enjoy a drink...Castello and Mimoza were the best! Also upstairs in hotel iliessa...there is a bar with great views over the sea.

Other than restaurants there are some bars and the normal touristy shops. The fruit mania shop is great for fresh fruit so if you're bored of watermelon and canned peach slices from breakfast get some variety from here!

Zante Town is worth a visit €8 euros in a taxi. Or €5 euro return on the tourist train...I think the evening train leaves at 7pm and returns at 10:30 so good value for money for a little visit in the night. We ate in Thymayla (seafood restaurant) - this was recommended by the tourist train driver and was great...and amazingly cheap! Good atmosphere there - very busy so be prepared!

Buses were a bit of a pain as were delayed, crowded and not much direct from Argassi. (Or not that we found out!) into Zante €1.60 each way but when we went to Tsivili via Zante the Bus from Argassi stopped in the central bus station which wasn't in the centre of the town so we didn't bother with buses again!

Easy to rent a car - we used Ionian car rental who were great and the best price too! Would recommend a car rental to explore the island for 1 or 2 days as it is so small!

Taxi to the airport is about €16 euros so cheaper and quicker than other transfers. We had prebooked a private transfer but when we arrived it was just a taxi and there were plenty of taxis waiting outside the airport.

Boat trips etc are also cheaper than with Thomson. We used Cavo Grosso to do the turtle spotting trip and the full day around the island.

Really enjoyed and happy to recommend to others!

Room Tip: Partial sea view avoids main road and pool noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aígio, Achaia, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We recently spent a few days at the Zakantha Beach Hotel having arranged to meet up with my sisters who were coming from England.We were recommended the hotel by friends who have family in Zakinthos and we were delighted with our choice.The hotel is on the beach so as we had our 2 yr.old grandsome with us we didn't have to lug loads of stuff with us to the beach.The staff were cheerful and efficient and the breakfast was a great start to the day.The rooms were clean and fresh and were were lucky to get a balcony with a sea view.We would definately go back there again!!

Room Tip: ask for sea view when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Two friends of mine had spent a week at the Zakantha Beach Hotel last year and were keen to return so another friend and I joined them after hearing all about the great time before.
I agree that the hotel is in a good location, it is very convenient if you like to be footsteps away from the beach, close enough from the airport for a speedy transfer, and stumbling distance away from the bars and tavernas if thats your kind of thing...

We were b&b. There was a fair choice of both hot and cold, sweet and savoury foods, tea and coffee were OK but the orange juice was very week. The snack bar served average food and all the usual icecreams and the main bar was run by the amazing Monica who works so hard but is always smiling :)

Rooms were good, beds comfy and reception were very quick to change her pillow to a softer one as soon as we asked. Our balcony overlooked the carpark, but with a view to Zante town which was lovely at night, and we could also see across to the pool. Air con was excellent, much needed (and free) in July and August.

For those worried about wifi you can get it in the lobby for free.

The hotel is towards one end of the strip, a 5min walk from Peppermint restaurant (definitely worth a visit) and close to Stars restaurant, a number of tourist shops / mini markets and bars. Our fave was Artemis bar but there are lots within a short distance!

When you are in Argassi I would highly recommend you try lunch or dinner (or like us, both) at Simply Greek. This restaurant was a fave with my friends last year and its got even better since then...feta baked in the oven, fresh tzatziki, stuffed aubergine, kleftiko, stamnas, and not fogetting the chef Alex's delicious brownie! Definitely a highlight of the holiday. Not just because of the food but because of the staff too. Infact, all the people we met in Argassi were so friendly and welcoming.

We had a fab time and cant wait to go back again next year...See you soon Monica!! ;)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zakantha Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zakantha Beach Hotel

Address: Argassi 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Argassi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Argassi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Zakantha Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Zakantha Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zakantha Beach
Zakantha Beach Argassi
Zakantha Beach Hotel Zakynthos/Argassi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zakantha Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.