We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diana Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Diana Palace to your Saves list
Diana Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Argassi, Argassi 29100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Argassi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a lovely 2 week holiday at the wonderful "Diana Palace". From our cooling fruity welcome drink to our personal goodbye from reception staff it was the most friendly hotel we have ever stayed in. The hotel itself is kept spotlessly clean by the staff. Our room was a good size, clean and comfortable beds, sheets changed every 2 days with white fluffy towels changed regularly.
The hotel is AI, the bar staff are amazing, especially Stathis who really does remember your name and tipple. His mixed fruit juice was especially refreshing during the hot sunny days lounging around the pool :)
The restaurant staff work especially hard ensuring the tables are clean and crockery and cutlery removed once you are finished, the food was very good for AI with quite a good variety at every mealtime. The maître d ran a very tight ship but was very pleasant and professional and very knowledgeable about Zakynthos and as we hired a car for a few days suggested many beautiful places to visit. Thanks also to Jodi xx and good luck with your wedding plans xx by eck lass xx

Overall it is the staff who make this hotel. All are very pleasant and helpful, it is a family run hotel chain I believe, and you can see the staff feel they belong to the family.
We usually don't return to a hotel once we have been as there's a big world out there to explore, however there were many people there who appear to return year after year & we can see why they do.
Thank you to all staff at "Diana Palace" we really did have a lovely time from start to finish, a lot of it down to your lovely hotel and remarkable kind and friendly staff, :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Diana Palace, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Hello MoB!

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Diana Palace and for sharing your lovely memories with the rest of us here. It makes us feel so happy to know that Diana Palace succeeded on meeting your needs and standards and we would like to thank you for your special mention in this matter.

Most of all, what makes us more happy is to know that our awesome staff made you feel so welcome and comfortable and we would like to show our appreciation for your kind feedback on their work and your praise to them on the way they took care of you.

We would like you to know that our guests belong to this big family and we feel honored to have people like you in our home. That makes us all the luckiest people..

Please know that our home will always have its doors open for you, your family and friends and our staff will be right here to welcome back with a big smile from the heart.

Until we hopefully meet again soon, have a lovely time back home and remember us and smile! Sending love and hugs from all..xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    217
    86
    28
    17
See reviews for
299
331
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yarm, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We traveled as a family of 4 generations, late may 2014 for 1 week. Myself , my Mother, Grandmother and Son aged 6.
Originally booked for 3 I added my Grandmother at a later date, the hotel was fully booked but I emailed them directly and they managed to shuffle things around to accommodate us, This was a fantastic start before we even arrived

I feel most of the reception staff went above and beyond, Elleyna and Katrina, amazingly friendly and funny, so funny, the best welcome to a hotel ever! A 3rd let the team down, but we'll just forget she existed....

The bar staff Stathis, Illias and Marco were outstanding, Dennis in the restaurant runs a tight ship with a smile and makes it look soooo easy! A lot of the waiting staff also were excellent, some friendly and smiling, others you hardly notice were there, but all very professional.

Food was above average for an all inclusive hotel, I'm not a fan of all inclusive, but some meals here were exceptionally good, and never poor. I'm not converted but I would return here.
Breakfast was my favorite meal of the day, excellent variety, all 4 of our group enjoyed the meals, I would have liked more variety of fresh fruit daily, although some days there was plenty. the hotel was full towards the end of our stay, you could tell the difference but the dining area/staff were more than able to cope at full capacity.

The hotel has 2 pools, the busiest/largest is next to the bar/dining area/reception. the 2nd Pool I have read described as "next to a busy road" we used this pool daily as it was more a family area next to the park and had a slide, it was clean, its full size and deep, also there were always sunbeds available around this area, even when the hotel was full. There is a road at the back of the hotel, but its not that busy, I didn't notice the noise from the traffic when using this pool, neither did I notice the "dust and dirt from the road" which I have also read somewhere in another review, My Grandmother has bad COPD and she sat by the pool daily and also didn't feel there was an issue.

We stayed in 415, a family room, 2 bedrooms one a double with kitchenette and one with three single beds, both had balconies. Spacious and comfortable, clean, although floors were not always swept properly, (under the beds hunting for lost toys) it didn't put me off but as a quick fix Diana Palace this could be easily improved.

Evening entertainment I always skip, My son is always so tired by then, so I cannot comment on this. We requested a cool quiet room, Our room was quiet enough for us to sleep early (9 pm) with the exception of greek night which was a little louder but didn't finish too late, our room was also cool, shaded from the sun we didn't need our aircon (last week in may,) we all thought the prices for aircon and the safe were reasonable although I cannot remember how much they were.

All 4 of us would happily visit Diana Palace again, I can see exactly why they have so many happy guests that return year on year, and we will no doubt see you again. An excellent hotel for the price, Ideal for families.
Thanks for a lovely stay, keep up the good work :-)

Room Tip: email the hotel if you have any requests, without a doubt if they can help you they will. 415 was q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Diana Palace, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Hello becki!

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Diana Palace and for choosing to share your holidays experience with the rest of us here.

It makes us feel so happy to know that you and your family had such a great time here with us and that our hotel succeeded on meeting your needs and expectations. We appreciate your effort on giving us your suggestions and advice so as to improve our services and we would like to assure you that we will take immediate action on what you mentioned.

Most of all, on behalf of all the staff and the family I would like to say a big thank you for your wonderful comments on our staff and for giving the such a credit on their hard work and character. Your special mention means a lot to us.

It will be a pleasure and a honor to have you back again with us in the near future for another family holiday under the sun, with friendly people and lots of smiles!

We would like you to know that our staff and family will be right here for you to give you a warm welcome back.

Until we see each other again, have a wonderful time back home and always remember us and smile. Sending love from all..xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Have just returned from a week all inclusive stay at this Great Hotel. Firstly I have to compliment the staff on a superb effort to make everyone's stay an enjoyable experience. Particularly Dennis and his Dinning room staff who made Herculean efforts to ensure everyone's needs were met. Thank you Dennis meal times were excellent. I think we saw the head Chef every meal who made sure everyone was enjoying the fayre. The 'Animation' team did a great job of keeping the youngsters and not so young entertained with activities various during the day and evening. Yoga in the day and fire eating and magic in the evening just to name a couple of them. The hotel was extremely clean and the house keeping service faultless. The staffs attitude to ensuring a great stay was evident in every aspect, as an example I noticed a small issue in the kids little play area, the technician was called immediately and came to rectify the issue. Of course I cannot finish without mentioning the Bar staff whose efforts epitomise the work ethic. Thank you Stathis Ilias and Marcos for keeping our glasses full.
Ultimate test would be ' Would you go back?' The simple answer is yes 100%.

Room Tip: We had room 602 a family one which was right above the bar in the entertainment venue. We had no pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Diana Palace, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Hello Stevie!

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Diana Palace and for choosing to share your holiday memories along with the rest of us.

First of all, on behalf of all the staff and the family here at the hotel, I would like to say a huge thank you for your lovely feedback and for praising our staff for their work, attitude and the way they took care of you. Your rewarding comments mean a lot to us giving us a great motive to keep on what we do with love and passion.

It is great to know that Diana Palace and its facilities were up to your needs and expectations and we are so looking forward to accommodate you once again in our home to offer you another great holiday under the sun away from all worries. Our staff will be here once again to greet you back with a big smile from the heart!

Until we meet each other again, have a wonderful time back home and always take care and smile! Sending love from all..xxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We arrived as a couple together with two friends at The Diana Palace mid morning,tired from our journey,but oath wise happy...this is what we think...

The Reception...
All four of us were warmly greeted at reception by two very friendly smiling young ladies who emmediately made us feel very welcome,we checked in easily,our red wrist bands were put on,which signified that we were 'All Inclusive' while enjoying a complimentary drink which was very refreshing.
The reception area while bright and tastefully furnished and very clean lacks quite a bit of character and charm,but a few plants here and there wouldn't go amiss and maybe a touch of Greek decor to give it more of a Greek atmosphere.

The Rooms...
We were then taken to our rooms,which are typically and simply furnished in the familiar 'Greek style' it was very nice to have a full bath tub as well as overhead shower.
Our room was also equipped for a self catering holiday which included a small kitchenette,which of course we never used,and a table and chairs situated on the balcony.
A very outdated TV was bracketed to the wall and the selection of channels very limited,but we weren't there to stay in and watch TV anyway so this didn't really matter that much.
The mattresses on the beds were all extremely hard and not that comfortable,which caused a few aches and pains,but a more than adequate number of comfy pillows was also supplied thankfully.

The Grounds and Pool...
Largely paved areas,patchy lawn and shrubs.
The pool is relatively small,which is basically because it was originally designed to cater for a hotel that at one time was not as large as it is at present due to building expansion,which sadly means that the very tired and grubby looking sun beds (which really need replacing) supplied are now far too cramped,leaving little room to move around,we felt too tightly packed in and rather on-top of each other.

Pool Activities and Animation Team...
Whilst we fully accept that the hotel owners are trying very hard to cater to all tastes,had we known before hand that the activities existed as such,we most likely would not have booked this particular hotel.
We just wanted a quiet and relaxing get away...this was impossible due to the constant,intrusive and often too loud music in the pool area and the animation team...animation activities also centre around the pool for the most part and is great for those who wish to participate,but for anyone wanting to simply chill out these constant interruptions are very annoying indeed.
We could have gone to the other pool,that is unfortunately situated near the main road and largely given over to family use,thus making the pool a little too shallow for adults to realistically use for the purpose of swimming.

Smoking around the pool is a real issue,as it was for us.
There is a designated smoking area at one end of the pool,but this is unfortunately at the same end as the pool bar,which by the way gets pretty busy during the day with people getting drinks...it would be much more pleasant for the majority of non smokers sitting around the pool if smokers were not aloud to smoke anywhere other than the designated smoking areas...its also worth mentioning too that one of the side entrances from the pool bar end to the main building is accessed by having to walk through the smoking area,which is very unpleasant...unless one wishes to walk the longer way around the pool to the other entrance.

The Restaurant and Food...
Meal times are often chaotic at best,feeling uncomfortable and not well organised.
At breakfast the fried eggs are nearly always crispy on the underside and runny on the top,there is no bacon,but instead something like a thinly sliced bacon roll is offered,it's not unpleasant...but it's not bacon.
Getting to the tea and coffee area in the mornings takes time and patience and is largely inadequately facilitated...take tea with you if possible or buy some from the nearest supermarket as the tea bags the hotel uses are dreadful.
Coffee is okay but tinned milk is used in both tea and coffee which is a bit of an acquired taste !
Cake and biscuits are also very boring,bland and dry.
We love greek food,and whilst the food served in the hotel is plentiful,it was often anything but Greek and it looses a little in translation and is often at times a little bland and uninspiring.
Of particular note are the often very strange and odd looking artistic attempts at food art...which if nothing else gave us a laugh !
Deserts are a real disappointment too,very uninspiring and not always very appealing to look at.
Where are the Baklava etc ?

The Bars...
The pool bar is definitely looking scruffy,tired and needs updating.
The main bar situated in the reception area is bland and uninteresting...there are also no bar snacks (nuts or crisps etc ) available at anytime either.
However this area is invaluable if you wish to relax in quieter surroundings,but perhaps some softer and more relaxing music would be a pleasant and preferable option.

The Staff...
Most of the staff at the hotel are extremely friendly,respectful helpful and happy.
Of note are Stathis,who's cheerful personality and ability to remember everyone's name and what they drink is astonishing !
And Illias,a real charmer and thoroughly nice chap plus he's a great barman too.
But we noted on quite a few occasions that a couple of the female restaurant workers were straight faced and unfriendly to say the least...on several days they looked positively miserable.

Generally the hotel is well maintained and clean,but we did note during our holiday that the pool area looked a little unclean around the loungers,maybe jet washing would help.
Also the pool toilets are in need of updating too.

Finally...
This was our first visit to The Diana Palace and our very first experience with All Inclusive and I can honestly say I think it will be our last...we didn't really enjoy the experience on the whole and think that we much prefer to venture into local tavernas and bars to sample more authentic cuisine and hospitality.

Sorry Diana Palace Hotel...but we won't be coming back :(

But what has happened to the Greece of yesteryear ?

Well,Greece has suffered terribly in recent years...struggling to ride out the recession...and it shows.

Argassi is not the prettiest of places,allot of businesses have closed down and have been left to ruin,graffiti is everywhere and consequently cheap and tacky bucket and spade shops have popped up too.
Pavements and roads look dirty and unkept and the narrow beach front such that it is,looks dirty and unwelcoming.
It's all a bit sad.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Diana Palace, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Hello Mark

Thank you for taking the time to add your review on Diana Palace and for sharing your personal thoughts with the rest of us here.
First of all, I would like to thank you for the couple of positive comments referring to staff members. It is good to know that at least you found two people among our staff who gave you a positive picture.

With all due respect, I would call your review somehow cynic and in parts arrogant and that frustrated us very much as we during your stay there was no sign whatsoever from you side that would alert us on your unsatisfaction in all parts of the hotel.

Please allow me to make some comments in the same way you have structured your review.
The reception: Since our hotel fist opened and that was in 1991, it is the first time we face that kind of comment about the Greek décor in the lobby. All I can comment in this is that this is a subjective opinion of decoration and it is respected. I hope that by stepping outside our gardens gave you a picture of Greece.

The rooms: Skipping again your subjective opinion and the ‘Greek Style’ that I would call offensive, I would like to inform you that the TV in your room is a 21inch TV and the channels apply according to the nationalities we have in house. One channel per nationality plus one more news channel in English we think is a fair facility. We are very sorry that we could meet your taste in this matter. As for the beds if we have been asked we could supply you with a soft bed cover as we do with similar requests from our other guests.

The Grounds pool: Our hotel consists of two pools available to all guests at designated times. Due to the majority of our animation program taking place in the upper pool most of our guests who like to join or watch activities spend their time there with no problems at all. In fact they enjoy it very much as this enables them to socialize with each other and make friendships. The hotel is built in 1992 in parts and as soon as the buildings expended so as the number of pools became. The sun beds are not the same ones we had since 1992 as this would sound strange and funny. In fact they were bought 2 year ago and the heat made their color blur.

Pool activities and animation team: Please allow me to remind you that all tour operator brochures refer to full day and night animation program in the hotel. That means that you had the option to book or not before finalizing your booking. Our second swimming pool is ideal for relaxing and the rest of our guests seem to find that pool comfortable for their needs.

Smoking:
I would like to inform you that the European smoking law states that all indoor areas must be non smoking. There is no obligation from any business around Europe to have non smoking exterior areas. Nevertheless we have made a non smoking section in the outside dinning area as we respect that non smokers prefer to eat outside. Our hotel is not advertised as a non smoking hotel in all areas including the exteriors. So, according to the law our hotel respects the non smokers 100%.

The restaurant and food: I would like to inform you that meal times are set according to the majority of all inclusive hotels along Greece and moreover approved by all the major European tour operators we work with. I am afraid that your comment in this matter has no argument behind. All I could comment about the food is that you could ask your eggs to be cooked in a different way and we prepare them on show cooking and as for the bacon, taking in consideration that there are various kinds of bacon this is the product that we have chosen to supply our breakfast menu. I am afraid that there is not much we can do in this matter. As for the rest of the menu I am sorry that we could not meet your needs but we would be more than happy if we knew and prepare something for you. I am sure that the chef would meet your taste somehow. As for the decoration in our buffer I would find your comment not very kind as behind our decoration there are people working very hard, every day and night with love and caring so as to deliver the best for our guests. As for the Baklava, it is not a Greek dessert but it’s origins come from Turkey. I hope that you had the chance to track the rest of our Greek food in our menu as in every label we have flags that help you identify which dish is Greek.

The bars: Again, after your subjective opinion on the surroundings and decoration please allow me to remind you that crisps and nuts in the bar are not advertised in the all inclusive program. Our main bar is available for guests who would not like to join our night animation and Ilias at the bar is always available to cater all needs of each guest.

The staff: We appreciate your kind comments about Stathis and Ilias but please allow me to say that we have never faced a comment about any member of our staff for being rude or unpleasant. I am sure that you had the chance to see our guests raving about our staff and vice versa.

As for your mention about Greece suffering from recession I would like to inform you that the whole Europe is suffering from recession and any reasonable person can realize that. The reason you have seen some businesses closed is because the supply and demand factor of restaurants, shops, bars has no balance whatsoever in the whole island. For example, if you go down the road you will notice plenty tourist shops the one next to each other selling exactly the same products. That means that competition is split in many businesses as well as the buying power. The same stands for restaurants, bars, souvenir shops, hotels ect. It is all have to do with the carrying capacity of the resort and not the recession.

Lastly, as for the construction of the resort I would like to inform you that you can see anywhere in the world a broken pavement, or a dirty road, or even a narrow beach but I can assure you that there are guests who truly love this place and visit Agassi year after year because our small resort has something for everyone and there are local businesses run by families who can make you feel like home and this is called Greek hospitality. It is really frustrating that you did not have the chance to taste it. On behalf of everyone at Diana Palace, thank you for going through our response. We wish we could have the chance to make you love our place and we hope that the next destination you choose will be the one of your taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Booked this holiday because of the reviews on trip advisor, and we were not disappointed! The hotel staff are second to none! Ellenya and the 2 Katerina's in reception, Stathis the poolside barman, Illyas the night time barman by reception, Dennis the 'maitre ;D' and head chef (sorry did not know his name) were all superb.
Reception - the staff were very efficient and friendly.
Stathis & Illyas always happy, always remembered what you drank and were really caring about their customers.
Restaurant - Food quality was the best we have ever had from an AI holiday. Food was always piping hot, Dennis was buzzing about the restaurant making sure that everything was perfect at all times. I have food allergies and both Dennis & the chef bent over backwards to ensure that there was always something for me to eat - cooking my food separately on many occasions, Dennis went through the menu with me every day to ensure there would be something for me to eat. They even opened the restaurant early for us on the day we were leaving as Dennis insisted that we at least had to have coffee & toast before we left!
Rooms - our room was large and kept very clean, towels were changed every day if you wanted. We had a self contained kitchen area in our room and it was fully equipped, we only used the kettle as we were AI. Water was always hot and the pressure in the shower was great.
Entertainment - the team worked very hard, Orlando & Miro (spelling?) Lots of games around the pool, and they tried their very best to speak to everyone each day. They also provided the entertainment every evening apart from Mondays (Their day off) on this night traditional Greek dancers performed by the pool are in the evening.
The Greek people that we met were all so friendly, the mini market opposite the hotel (from the back entrance) was lovely, I asked him if he sold spectacle cords, he said not any more but had a look around and found 2 - he insisted that I had it at no charge!
Hotel has free WIFI as well - a bonus.
Only down side that I found was that I didn't find the beds all that comfortable, mind you that will not stop me going back.
We are definitely returning to this hotel, hopefully with some friends next year - just loved this place. :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Diana Palace, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Hello Liverbird!

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Diana Palace and for choosing to share your wonderful memories with the rest of us here.
It makes us feel so nice to see that you had such a great time here in our home and that our hotel and its facilities succeeded on meeting your needs and standards. We appreciate your comments in this matter.

Most of all, we would like to share a huge thank you for your wonderful feedback on our staff on the way they took care of you in every level. It feels great to know that you have people in your home caring for each other and that makes us all feel like a big family and we feel honored to have people like you visiting us with such a positive aura that is spread around to the rest of the guests and staff. Got bless you all!

Please know that it will be a great pleasure for us to see you back again in our home for another great holiday under the sun. Our staff and family will be right here on the spot to welcome you back with warmth and please let us know about you bed next time and we will make sure to make it softer for you for a good night sleep.

Until we meet each other again, have a wonderful time back home and always smile.. Love from all! xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brierley Hill, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed here as a couple for 12 nights and had a wonderful time. We arrived 18th May 10:30am and caught a taxi from the airport costing 16 Euros and arrived 10-15 mins at the hotel for 11am. We were welcomed by the girls on reception with a smile and cocktail while we were checked into our room. We stayed in room 107 which was excellent and in a good position to all amenities. The room included a fridge/TV/air con(you get 2 hours in the afternoon and 2 hours at night free, so I paid 60 Euros for unlimited)/shower bath/balcony/comfortable beds and the sheets and towels were changed regularly were. The hotel itself is very clean and well maintained and of a 3-4 star Greek standard. The meals were excellent although I must say seemed to be swayed slightly towards the British and the chef makes some brilliant creations. I never had trouble putting together a meal but saying that I am not a fussy eater. Every night there was a theme for some of the food for example Mediterranean/Greek/Italian and there was always something different to choose from. The drinks are all locally produced and there are plenty to choose from except the cocktails. The barmen Illias and Stathis are brilliant and remember your names as well as your drinks. Marcus serves in the entertainment bar at night but as we didn't frequent there we didn't get to know him. There are 2 pools, the large one near reception and the smaller childrens pool down by the entertainment bar which is the one we used. The sunbeds do seem to be rather crammed in around the large pool and there is no room to move your sunbed. I also feel it would annoy people if you opened your umbrella as they would also be under shade whereas at the smaller pool there was plenty of room to move about. Everybody seemed to use the large pool basically because it was closest to the bar/restaurant and the wifi(free and the best I have known) was better there as well as the entertainment. They have a policy that you are not allowed to put towels on your beds before 8am or they are taken to reception for collection which seemed to work well, but still doesn't stop people reserving their beds and not turning up for hours on end and it was usually the British I'm afraid to say lol. We never had trouble finding beds down the bottom pool. There are a good mix of nationalities but mainly Brits frequent the Diana Palace. You can hire sunbed towels for free at reception as well as iron/ironing board. The animation team do an excellent job and everyone seemed happy even though we didn't join in it was fun watching. Even though Orlando(bless him), and the team tried their hardest to get us to join in we never felt pressured. We did watch the Greek night, which is the best we have seen and the dancers were excellent as well as having a brilliant sense of humour. The staff,(to many names to mention)are a credit to this hotel and are the happiest and friendliest I have ever come across who seem to thoroughly enjoy what they do which rubs off on the guests. The hotel is in a good location surrounded by bars/restaurants/shops.
My only criticism is that often outside sellers seem to be allowed to come onto the grounds when you were having your evening meal. On one occasion, a scruffy looking guy came around and handed items to children around tables and then asked for money afterwards which was very embarrassing to watch as the parents at first thought they were free and were then made to look like they were in the wrong when they refused and handed them back. If I were the manager I wouldn't want this going on in my hotel. Also one thing I couldn't get my head around, was I have never experienced it in Greece, where(apart from Illias and Stathis), all of the staff including the cleaners when you greeted them with Kalimera etc, they would reply in English(strange). The beach although only 5 mins walk away is not up to much as it has been taken up by hotels extending right down to the sea, but still worth a visit.
Overall we had an excellent holiday and the staff will go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 107 which was excellent. Overlooking the main pool, and near reception/restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Diana Palace, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Hello Mark!

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Diana Palace hotel and for choosing to share your holiday experience with the rest of us here.

On behalf of everyone here at the hotel I would like to pass you our appreciation for your kind comments on our staff and for giving them such a credit on their work and the way they made you feel while holidaying with us. Your praise to them means a lot to us.

We are very happy to know that our hotel facilities were up to your expectations and we would like you to know that your advice and suggestions will be seriously taken into considerations by all members of the team.

Please accept our apologies for the fact that you had to face illegal sellers in our hotel. Of course I can assure you that they are not allowed in the premises of the hotel and we always kindly ask them not to disturb our guests while they are trying to relax. Due to the fact that they have access from the second entrance of the hotel some of them in occasions visit our hotel but we always try to stick to our policy. Again I am sorry if they made you somehow feel uncomfortable.

Well, that was just a not on behalf of all to say a big thank you for your wonderful feedback. We would like you to know that we would be more than happy to see you again in our home. Our staff and family will be right here on the spot to welcome you back with a smile from the heart. Until we hopefully meet again, have a great time back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Returned yesterday after ten nights at this hotel. I must wholeheartedly agree with other reviews that the staff at the Diana Palace are exceptional from the moment you arrive you feel very welcome and they do all they can to make sure you have a great holiday. The rooms are a good size a little dated but cleaned every day and towels and sheets changed regularly. The top pool area is a little on the small side ultimately leading to the sun beds being placed very close together leaving little room to move around them, there is another pool which is called the quiet pool, but is really used by families and children. The Diana is excellently situated for the shops, bars and many lovely restaurants. The restaurant is small and nicely laid out with more tables set up outside all used for breakfast dinner and the evening meal. It's all self service and can get very busy as there is only one toaster at breakfast and one coffee machine. I am afraid this is where I have to disagree with the majority of the other reviews with regard to the food and drink. Breakfast wasn't bad the normal toast, eggs, bacon, cereal, etc. Lunch and evening meals were very disappointing. The salad was very basic, and there was the same version of rice each night very dry thin chips, dry chicken, pork chops, sometimes in a sauce or not, fish of some sort most days cheese and potato pie mince and potato pie, not a lot of variety from one day to the next even though some nights are theme nights you couldn't really tell the difference . The snacks are brought out at 3.30pm these consisted of pizza, which was very dry, onion rings, spam and cheese sandwiches, very dry fish fingers and chicken burgers and basic salad all really not very appealing, sweets consisted of some sort of cream sponge-cake each night and jelly an ice-cream not a lot of fruit and no yoghurt The drinks in the restaurant were self serve and my husband informed me that the lager was ok. There was the usual house wine red and white no ros'e which I didn't like myself, the soft drinks were from a machine and these weren't too bad, however only available when the restaurant was open then they were served by a lovely man called Stathis at the pool bar but unfortunately the lager tasted totally different and the soft drinks were poured from bottles which made them seem flat and never really cold even with ice. This was also the case with the spirits combined with the warm flat pop and the poor quality made them, well lets put it this way I tried two drinks and after that we went out every night and drank and mostly ate in the bars and restaurants which are all very reasonable and I drank water during the day. I can understand why people return here because it is in a good spot and as has been said before the staff are lovely but if part of your all-inclusive holiday depends on having a good choice of food and decent quality drinks then I am afraid you will be disappointed especially if you're on a tight budget and can't afford to eat and drink elsewhere. We are not big eaters or drinkers so never do all-inclusive to over- indulge it's just for the convenience as we always venture out and about each night and sample the bars and the local food. Reading some of the recent reviews and past reviews which we based our selection on it seems we are in the minority having not fully enjoyed some aspects of this hotel but this is our honest opinion and we have holidayed in quite a few all-inclusive hotels and this does not compare with other 4* hotels we have been to. Full marks for staff and animation team but food and drink not so good and for this reason we would not return.
Can't comment on evening entertainment as we were out every night.
Recommend Legends Bar, The Green Frog both good atmosphere good food nice people and some good shows. Lots of lovely restaurants so many to choose from.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room some lower rooms are a little dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Diana Palace, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Hello Jill!

Thank you very much for taking the time to add your review on Diana Palace and for choosing to share your thoughts with the rest of us here.

First of all, on behalf of everyone, I would like to say thank you for your kind words on our staff and for giving them such a credit on their work and character. It means a lot to us to know that our people deliver the customer service that meet your needs.

We would like you to know that all of your comments will be seriously taken into consideration and will be discussed by our staff and management so as to take the appropriate action always considered the outcome on what is behind your writings.

The reason for our presence on TA is to take all the advice and suggestions from our guests so as to keep them happy according to our standards. In your case where you mention about the food, it would be very much helpful for us to see your suggestions on what kind of dishes would make you happy so we could adjust them into our menu. I am afraid that this did not happen so that leaves us with no options on what to change.

Having a 14day menu running in our hotel we are trying to satisfy all tastes, from various nationalities, with eating disorders, special tastes, always based on Greek oriented cuisine. When it comes to a guest that has a special request our chef and waiters are always there to cater every need. We are sorry to hear that you were not between those guests. We believe that if we had the chance given from you would have a meal to enjoy like all the other guests do.
As far as the beer is concerned, I would like to inform you that in every service point of the hotel the beer is exactly the same as we are supplied with the same beer brand.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to go through our response and we wish we had the chance to serve you the way you expected and leave our home happy. If you need to discuss any of the above, please feel free to contact us in our direct email. On behalf of all the staff and family we wish you have a nice winter back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diana Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diana Palace

Address: Argassi, Argassi 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Argassi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Argassi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Argassi
#2 Family Hotel in Argassi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Diana Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Despegar.com so you can book your Diana Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diana Palace Argassi
Diana Palace Hotel Argassi
Diana Palace Zakynthos/Argassi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diana Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.