We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hillside Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Commodore Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Argassi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Commodore Hotel
Argassi 29100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 31 hotels in Argassi
Crossmaglen, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hillside Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

Stayed here last year, Studios are basis but clean. Pool area is clean and tidy, it's one of the few pools I have ever went into but I enjoyed it. Hotel is located on a fairly steep hill, but very central to the resort. Plenty of shops and cafes in vicinity of hotel. Some of the apartments do not have a view at all, you could be facing the main complex end wall. Overall in my opinion the hotel is adequate for your needs, but I would not go back to it because of it's location.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    11
    14
    14
See reviews for
17
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

Yes hotel is geared towards East Europeans. This is not to criticise these people but I feel the food is well below par. Nothing is labelled, little choice for every meal and dinner is simple, nothing special. Some staff standing arms folded watching Poles clear their own tables! Empty food in a trolley bin while 1 waitress was overworked. The rest, mainly men stood watching. Rooms are adequate but very basic. We had a single size room with a double bed & fridge, banging our legs to walk around it to get on balcony. Bathroom really small with shallow shower tray that can easily flood room, its about 2 inches deep. Drinks are ok for A.I. standard. Entertainment is ok as you don't get free entertainment in all hotels. You have a choice of pools in the Captains/Commodore complex. These are adequate but I hasten to add not once did we see anyone clean them or add chemicals. To clarify I think this hotel needs a good clean, some staff are excellent while others seem to do as little as possible. Management & owner need to spruce it up a bit, spend a little money repainting and on basic fixtures likes new doors. Some stff need re-training to come up to basic 3* standard customer service. We have visited Greece before in both 3* & 4 * hotels and I would down grade this to a 2* at present. It has all facilities but lacks the final touch in service, food and cleanliness.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

Eastern Europeans rule this hotel. They party untill 3am. Play vollyball in the pool at 4am. Every the afternoon their Reps will remove life saving rings from the pools & tie them to the pool vollyball net so as they can be used for water polo matches (so drown in the morning if you must). A lot of Argassi has closed down due to all inclusive hotels taking the business according to the locals. The rooms are dirty, broken, smelly & damp. Towels & sheets are old & stained & don't look at the state of the pillow under the pillow case unless you have a vomit bag handy. We booked through Thomas Cook & feel we were misled.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan,England
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

was dreading going to this complex of hotels but found everthing fine.Our first visit to Greece and was not dissapointed,room cleaned everyday we had aircon,hairdryer and safe.Did here reports of rats seen on complex but rentakill were on the case.
We used room as a base and were not dissapointed with what we got.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

What can we say?Definitely the worst holiday we have had ever. What a complete waste of money that we worked bleedin hard for. Am very angry but on the upside, we are glad we are home!!This hotel should NOT be available to the English as they only cater for Pols who by the way, are complete animals!
We arrived on the Sunday afternoon and were given room 127! What a joke! The room could only just accommodate a double bed and there was barely enough room to open the balcony doors but we thought, sod it, how long are we actually going to be spending in this room?So, we went up to the Captains for dinner both eager to get stuck in to the buffet. Words can't actually desciribe the standard of the food. The best way to describe it would be "SLOP." We sat down to eat but it dawned on me that we had made a huge mistake.
We couldn't grumble at the weather as it was boiling so at least that went our way. We met another English couple and we all had a moan about the place. They thought the same so they showed us their room and we showed them ours.This gave us someting to compare our room to so we were even more angry!
They couldn't believe the size and lack of facilities in our room. They had a tv,microwave, sink, cups and a huge balcony etc. We had no tv, no microwave, no sink, no cups, a tiny balcony!That night we had an early night..or tried to. There were Pols outside our balcony having a party n playing music so I told them to turn it down but the music soon went up in volume. Rude and ignorant people. We had had enough so I went to Reception and demanded another room. We were given room 508 with a seaview, reluctantly. I even complained about the food and we were told we were allowed to eat at the snack bar!No thank you!!!
We ended up spending an absolute fortune on meals outside of the complex so all in all the holiday cost more than the Polish could earn in a year!!
This has made us resent the Polish even more and will never ever go back so we warn you not to go here. This is only half the story.You wouldn't want to hear the rest!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2008

The Captain's Commodore complex leaves a lot to be desired. We had to ask for a change of room as the first one was filthy and overrun with ants even in the beds. The staff were the most unfriendly bunch we have ever come across, the only decent guy was the English barman and even he was saving for a ticket to get out.
We went half board and the food was ok if you like potatoes, cabbage, stew, potatoes, cabbage, stew sometimes pie or flan made with, you guessed it potatoes and cabbage definately catering for the
Eastern Europeans who fill this hotel. Not once in our two week stay did we get a clean table at breakfast or dinner, even when the dining areas were quiet no staff cleared tables they all just sat at the bar, you were always met with filthy, stained tablecloths from the previous diners, so we would bundle up the left over potatoes and cabbage in the tablecloth and leave it on the floor, prefering to use the bare table which was slightly cleaner. Breakfast was the usual continental fare, or you could opt for some of the previous evenings potatoes and cabbage.
Don't get me wrong, we are not snobs or prudes and have been visiting Greece for nearly 30 years and are well used to basic Greece, but this place is beyond basic and is downright dog rough.
I can honestly say, this was the first time ever we were actually looking forward to the end of our stay, a week would have even been too long.
However on the plus side Zante is a beautiful wee island and it is really rewarding if you hire a vehicle for a few days of your stay, there are plenty of boat trips to be had as well.
Argassi itself is fairly quiet, a lot of places have shut down and the locals blame the influx of Eastern Europeans who spend nothing during their stay, one local business woman told us they come by bus and ferry which means they come loaded with their own booze and food, probably suitcases full of potatoes and cabbage which does nothing for the local economy.
So overrall our holiday was just ok and was blighted by the poorest standard of accomodation and staff you could ever encounter, oh by the way, did I mention the potatoes and cabbage.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Arriving
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

DON'T GO THERE. We arrived late at night and was allocated room 308. So after dragging our cases up the numerous steps to the reception we then had to haul them down to the basement to our dungeon. It was damp, smelly, decaying, dirty and full of mosquitos. The fridge didn't work. The manager was very unhelpful. Our rep finally got us and several other British tourists moved to another hotel
September 2008.

  • Liked — view from restaurant
  • Disliked — quality and situation of room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Address: Argassi 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Argassi
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 hotels in Argassi
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel Argassi
Commodore Hotel Zakynthos/Argassi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Commodore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Commodore Hotel to your Saves list