We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not for demanding guests” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chryssi Akti Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chryssi Akti Hotel to your Saves list
Chryssi Akti Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Argassi 29100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Argassi
Velenje, Slovenia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“not for demanding guests”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

PROS
- free sunbeds and umbrellas by the pool
- pool itself
- closeness of the beach (nice to cool off, as such nothing special, if you enjoy spending your day on a beach you're probably looking for a nicer one)
- room cleanliness
- friendly staff
- closeness of the center of Argassi and some nice restaurants

CONS
- the same breakfast every day (buffet), crowded no mater what time we went
- traffic noise at night (our room was in third floor right above the main street)
- others complained of poor bed quality and having two single beds instead of one

We enjoyed the shades of mimoza beach hotel (nearby hotel) and their cocktail hours.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    8
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
5
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fredrikstad, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I've been to Chryssi Akti in July 2012. My husband and I stayed there for 2 weeks.

The hotel shared a pool and beach bar with Paradise Hotel.

- Simple breakfast.
- Awful beds, hard as rock. And they were too short for an adult.
- We had a room with a beautiful sea view, but we couldn't sleep at night because of a hell of a noise from the waves crashing towards a rock at the beach..
- Great service from the staff at the hotel. Nice staff at the hotel.

Our hotel was situated in Argassi (a place/village in Zakynthos). Argassi was a boooring place to stay. There were several restaurants, pubs, bars and discos - and millions of Englishmen (it seemed so..!!) Argassi had too many "pull-ins" (people/staff at restaurants, pubs, bars etc who try to force you inside their place)...

It was too hot the last week of our stay - 41 degrees Celcius (105,8 degrees Fahrenheit)!!

Recommendation: Visit Zante - the capital of Zakynthos.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've been to Chryssi Akti Hotel in Argassi last summer and didn't regret it. Nice and cheap hotel, just next to the beach (pretty small beach), clean rooms (few greek channels, nothing else, but who is watching TV in such a lovely country, when you have so much things to see). The rooms are basic, air conditiong present, nice view at the balcony, refrigerator, pretty big and clean bathroom. The hotel is situated at the and of the town, and that gives him more silence from the rest of the hotels. Anyway, the town is not so animated, which is a very good thing if you want to get more rest and less night-life. The hotel has a big pool, bar and snack bar at the pool, free sun-beds and wireless. I don't know about the hotel restaurant, I didn't eat there except breakfast,but I think it's ok. The Argassi town is situated next by the Zakynthos island capital, Zante, so you can go there very easy by bus or by taxi. In Argassi are so much places to eat wonderfull Greek food (their lamb is great), drink their good wine and seat at one of the many bars to drink a cold beer or a good cocktail.
So, if you want to spend a wonderfull and cheap vacation and enjoy the greek hospitality just go to Zakynthos and to Argassi's Chryssi Akti.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The service was great. I accidentally broke the shower head i our room, but they fixed as soon as i told them. Other than that the reception was very helpful during our entire stay.
The room was pretty basic, but it had everything we needed for a simple beachy holiday.
We loved the fact that the beach was just outside our door, the pool bar with the great sandwiches and cold drinks like ice coffee, soda, water etc and the pool was also great. It was especially great to have the hotel right next to the ocean when we where in need for a shower after a swim or just enjoying the view on the balcony.
There's not a whole lot of restaurants to choose from in walking distance, (in my opinion you get tired after a few days and they're not so great anyway) so you definitively should take a taxi and move around a bit. Argassi isn't huge, but has some good bars and a pretty OK nightlife.
Breakfast was OK. Not a lot to choose from and milk was hot etc. But other than that, a fanstastic holiday at a great hotel, with amazing staff. Especially the guy who's there in the night.

Btw, I really traveled in August 2011, but that wasn't available to choose.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We were unfortunate enough to be sent here after our return flight was delayed by 13 hours! The hotel is old and tired with unfriendly, surly staff. The room we were given was dirty, had lumpy mattresses and no hot water as well as being on a main road so we had a lot of traffic noise, we would have been better off sleeping at the airport! Luckily it was only for one night.....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011 via mobile

The location is not bad, and the people were very friendly, but even at our price of 45 € per night I can't say I was too stoked about this place. Light bulbs out, oddly dysfunctional air conditioning, the water went out for a key stretch of our morning routine. We thoht about leaving after one night but decided it was *just* convenient enough to stick with it. Word to the wise- if you don't have a car, don't stay here... You'll be limited to an underwhelming part of the island.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

We spent 2 weeks at this hotel. We had a room with balcony on the 2nd floor. A nice room, only the doublebed was very small and the tv small and with few chanels.
We enjoyed the beautiful view and the sound of waves!
The staff was very nice and helpful.
Guests at the hotel were mostly from Polen or greek plus a few scandinavians. Few children, few young people.
The breakfast was not very interresting!
The beach is narrow, but nice. You must pay for sunbeds.
Alltogether we liked the stay at this cosy and quiet hotel and plan to return.
Near the hotel is a very good family restaurant called "Granada" - and at the other end of town a more international restaurant called "Peppermint"! Go there - food and service are fantasic!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chryssi Akti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chryssi Akti Hotel

Address: Argassi 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Argassi
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Argassi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chryssi Akti Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Chryssi Akti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chryssi Akti Hotel Zakynthos/Argassi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chryssi Akti Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.