We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made amazing friends !!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Admiral Argassi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Admiral Argassi to your Saves list
Hotel Admiral Argassi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Argassi 29100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Argassi
Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Made amazing friends !!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Many thanks to all who made our holiday amazing, you know who you are, Meechelle and Shaun the Sheep, Dan and Gems, Cathy and Sophie sexi laydee, Ed sexi boy, Carl and Kelvin and Doreen and John, unfortunately my partner had quite a bad head injury when he fell in the room, and when i asked could i get some toast the next day the lady on the bar said she couldnt help;, and to go into the restaurant where i was spoken to so rudely by Theo, who said i had to wait 20 minutes for the restaurant to open, i even explained that my partner had stitches, to which he replied " why are you not showing understanding to me?" I then explained the situation again, and he still said NO I was not having any food until the restaurant opened, this eventually ended up with me in tears, to which he responded very rudely signalling to the food TAKE IT ! at the top of his voice. the staff here actually couldnt care less, and I have never been so told off during a weeks holiday as i was here. The only 3 members of staff ( and I told them) was Gisela in the restaurant, 1 friendly guy serving behind the bar, and Ola, the entertainment lady, were friendly to us, we had a big group of english people, all up for a laugh, we were told off constantly by what I think was the manager, who did nothing more than stare at all the girls, after an ambulance was called for my partner following the accident, not a single member of the management cared in the least even though they were all in our room that night and not one of them asked was he ok, also a huge storm saw a massive glass door shatter and cover a guy in glass, lacerating his head, arms, and face, I didnt see him again, and the glass had had such an impact it was all in the pool, when I went to one of the cleaning ladies to advise her glass was on the other side of the pool she angrily waved me away, and started advising her colleagues by signalling her anger toward me by pointing. Food nice, no problems there, we did pay for a side sea view, and didnt get one, although i think everyone did and they didnt get theirs either. All in all a fantastic holiday, just a shame for the very unfriendly staff, who seemed to see you as an annoyance rather than people who work hard all year and deserve to relax and have a good time. YAMMAS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: stand your ground, as the staff couldnt care less, apart from the ones i mentioned above
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    34
    28
    22
    39
See reviews for
48
47
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brasov, Romania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We were very pleased with the hotel, the rooms wery always very clean and the food was really greek style - you know olives, tomatoes, feta cheese etc. The staff was was really very friendly, always smiling. Thought, the resort has it's down parts, for example the beach is really narrow and it wasn't really clean ... But the best part is that , if you get the All Inclusive basis you can eat at Captani's restaurant which provides the best view over Zante Town and the Port.
Deffently would go back!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011 via mobile

Ez egy borzalmas szálloda, még borzalmasabb személyzettel. A 350 méterre lévő part konkrétan gusztustalan. Ha jó strandot szeretnél az 6-10 km a márványos úton felfelé kanyarogva és súlyos pénzekbe kerül. A görögök folyton átvernek és lehúznak. a szállodai all inclusive egy vicc, ihatatlan italokkal és gyenge svédasztallal. Ha drágàn akartok extra szar helyre jönni akkor hajrá. a nyüzsgő életről meg annyit hogy semmi nincs argassiban!!!! De szennyvízelvezető cső az 50 cm széles partján az van!!!! Mi alig várjuk hogy otthon legyünk!!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We booked this as a spur of the moment, last minute break, then came home to read the reviews on Tripadvisor... oh dear. Two weeks later and with heavy hearts we were dropped off at the Admiral Hotel.
As our plane had been delayed for 3 hours at Manc airport we had missed lunch but the friendly receptionist informed us that we could get something from the snack bar.
We were put in the annex facing the main entrance of the hotel, the room was nicely decorated with all the facilities you would expect from a Greek package holiday hotel. Because of the reviews about the place being abismal we didn't expect the flat screen TV or the air conditioning (free) and the view from the balcony was lovely we could see the sea to the front and the side. We dumped the cases in the room and headed down to the snack bar totally expecting to be barked at in Polish, on the contrary the lady behind the counter greeted us with a smile and dished up our order really quickly and courteously and continued along the same vein for the duration of our holiday. We had been led to believe that we had to go up the steep hill to the Captains Hotel for b/fast, lunch and dinner this turned out not to be the case although we did go there on the first night, the views across the bay to Zante town and the sunset were lovely, it was, however full of Eastern Europeans who are by their nature a bit abrupt and Brits would probably call them rude, the lady who sat staring at me all through our meal not even looking away when I pointed at her nearly got a thump but I restrained myself. After enquiring at Admirals reception we were told that there was dining room there and we didn't need to walk up the hill at all, good job really as my husband has walking difficulties.
There was of course lots of nationalities around the pool but Brits outnumbered them and they kept themselves to themselves, when all's said and done they deserve to have holidays in the sun as well don't they? When one Hungarian teenager accidently bumped into me she immediately apologised in English, I would have no Idea how to say sorry in Hungarian.
The entertainment team consisted of one young girl who did aquarobics at Admiral then ran up to Commodre then Captains to be the entertainment there as well. There was something on every evenig exept Friday and yes they did make the announcements in 2 languages one being English but they do that no matter which hotel you stay at.
The pool was clean and treated each evening and there were plenty of sunloungers to go around.
Our room was cleaned every day, the linen changed twice during our stay and because we usually go to the US for our hols we followed the code that if we needed clean towels we left them on the bathroom floor, the cleaners seemed to ubderstand this code and left us clean towels when we didn't hang them up.
The food at the hotel was, as has been mentioned in a previous review, the same every day but I wouldn't say geared towards the Polish. We ate out for the second half of our week as we had had enough of it. The Snack Academy food was nice so that's where we went.
Whilst there we took a trip into Zante Town and "discovered" a market with Converse trainers for between 7 and 15 euros, our teenager was in her element.
We booked the Culture tour with our tour company, Olympic, but it was cancelled the day before because it was St Dennis birthday and the Zakynthians have a huge parade and not wanting to miss this once a year celebration we booked with one of the many trip arrangers on the road up to the hotel, what a let down, the coach dropped us off about half a mile from the town and we had to walk to the centre because the road was closed, fair enough but then the guide on the bus told us the bus would be there at 11.30pm when the salesperson had told us 10.30. The town was packed and we couln't see anything so we walked back for the bus thinking we could catch an earlier one only to be screeched at by a zar zar gabor lookalike who made us feel like naughty schoolkids so we caught the "wally trolly" and were sitting in a bar in Argassi when the bus we should have been on arrived back at 12.15am.
All in all we had a lovely break and would go back to Argassi again we would even go to the Admiral even though I had no sleep for a week once I had booked it and read the reviews, but I would not go all inc.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

70% of the people come from Poland or Russia, and they come there to drink vodka and party all night eventhough they are there with their familys.
The pool is crowded. Loud music playing from the entertainment team which are around the pool of and on from 11-23.
Was there with my family, and I can NOT recommend this hotel.
My travel agency Air tours told us it was a family hotel, but no, this is not!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

I do not know where to begin.... This hotel is awful. The staff are disinterested and rude. The rooms are terrible, basic like studetn accommodation. The food is average quality with variations that appear to favour the eastern european guests. The hotel guests are mainly Polish and rather rude at meal times. The standard of this hotel is very low and seemed to be accepted by other guests. It would seem that no improvements have been made for many years. We stayed all-inclusive but could not drink the extremely low quality alcohol, favouring a trip to local bars This became expensive.. Entertainment was not really provided as it consisted of disco, strong man, best hotel couple or kareoke. So in fact, the guests are the emterntainment. This is all conducted in Polish. Oh and the fitness centre is some broken gym equipment in a back cupboard.
The standards are very low and the hotel is quite honestly the worst I have ever stayed in. Save your money and go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

When we arrived at our hotel and went to our rooms we were quite shocked as I had requested no lower than a 4 star hotel and the rating on the door of the room was 2 star. It was most definitely 2 star. The room was shabby with a broken shower albeit functional. Our room was frequently missed out from the daily clean and the sheets were never changed in two weeks. The cleaner basically made the beds,swept a bit and that was it, therefore 4 people sharing it was pretty grim at the end of two weeks. The shower curtain kept disappearing too. Air conditioning (much needed in July in Greece) was 5 euros a day, how ridiculous. The general condition of the hotel was shabby and dirty, the staff miserable and unhelpful. The dining room was hot and cutlery and crockery generally dirty. The food was average, mainly cold and repetitive. Bread always stale, tea and coffee (when there were clean cups) disgusting. The majority of customers were Polish as were most of the staff, so as British families we felt isolated and unable to join in any entertainment as it catered for the polish. there was a laughable 'snack bar' with a miserable woman who would serve greasy chips and burgers when she felt like serving you. There were no ice creams or snacks for the kids. Drinks were very cheap pop, terrible lager and what tasted like meths for spirits. We ended up going out every night which was costly for 8 people over two weeks. There was a gym with broken equipment and a mediocre pool

So to add icing on the cake, I will now relate a true incident. An older woman had diarrhoea by the pool which she walked all around the pool and all over the toilets, she also tried to get in the pool to wash it off but we quickly stopped her. We asked a cleaner to clear it up as children were running through it, she half heartedly mopped at it and then proceeded to use the same mop in the dining room, the smell was horrendous. We complained at reception and was laughed at by the receptionist, he galvanised a few staff to clean up eventually but it took all day. All the while people were walking through the faeces and into the pool. Naturally i wouldn't use the pool afterwards or allow my children to do so. We kept asking for the place to be cleaned but the staff didn't seem bothered. Major infection risk especially in such a hot resort.
i have very little positive to say about the hotel, aside from one of the 'entertainment staff' Ola was very friendly

Argassi is nice with some friendly bars especially Beer Academy, beach small. New water park not bad, round island boat trip good but long. You need to barted with the trip touts who are everywhere

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Admiral Argassi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral Argassi

Address: Argassi 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Argassi
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Argassi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Admiral Argassi 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hotel Admiral Argassi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Admiral Argassi Zakynthos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Admiral Argassi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.