We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite Small Greek Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Agnadi

Agnadi
Argassi to Vassilikos road, Argassi 29100, Greece
2695035183
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 34 Restaurants in Argassi
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Agnadi is owned by the same family that have a villa right next door to the resturant; http://www.villakouros.com/
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Exquisite Small Greek Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Delicious food and great view this Greek restaurant will surprise you!

There is an amazing view on the gulf of Zakintos, it is very easy to reach by car though parking and crossing the street is a bit tricky!

The tsagiki was the best I've had in Greece and the cinnamon liquor was a wonderful discovery!

We were there during a wedding and the atmosphere was amazing. Despite being very busy, the personnel was very efficient and kind!

I look forward to go back!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    13
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Top Contributor
293 reviews 293 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
260 helpful votes 260 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant, Wonderful Views, Friendly Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

What a wonderful restaurant!

_It's located on the main road heading to Vasilikos and is perched on a hill top overlooking the gorgeous ocean. It's close to the Windmill restaurant.

We were served by Harris who was a wonderful local gentleman who was very passionate about his restaurant and his family who run it. The Kouros family is known by Greeks for their local home made traditional food.

We ordered breaded calamari and a greek salad to start and both were excellent. The calamari were some of the best I have ever eaten in my life. Perfectly breaded, crispy deep fried and with a delicate flavour. Served with the outstanding local lemons, it was a wonderul starter. I think the local lemons are some of the best in the world, not too acidic or tart with a subtle sweetness.

For mains, my wife who normally is very unadventurous, ordered the meatballs in red wine sauce and I ordered my favourite grilled lamb chops. The meatballs, which were recommended to us by Harris, were simply OUTSTANDING. They were large in size, very very soft and tender and had a subtle taste of mint and oregano served in a delicious red wine and tomato sauce. People often consider meat balls to be a culinary disaster, however, I assure you, these were culinary perfection.

My lamb chops were superb, chargrilled and served again with the heavenly lemons. A word to the wise, lamb chops in Greece are oftne served well done. So if you are used to pink/rare lamb chops in English/French style, these are different. They are slightly chewier as they are well done, but this is exactly how I like them. It reminds me of the wonderful grilled meat nyama choma you get in Kenyan restaurants.

Once again, despite not ordering a dessert, Harris offered us a shot of local liquor as well as his grand mother's lemon pie, which was absolutely superb. The lemons did it again!

All in all, the prices are reasonable, the food wonderful, the views stunning and the service warm. What else do you want in life!!! We'll be back Harris, thank you very very much!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great local food with amazing sea views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Very friendly open restaurant, with the most amazing views over the local coastline and the sea. Food was enjoyed by all, young and old, the menu will not dissappoint.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Zakynthos Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We loved drinking and dining at the Agnadi Taverna- the food was lovely (authentic and home made) with a great selection on the menu.

The owners were so lovely- even at their busiest time when the restaurant was full they were always accommodating and friendly- and were knowledgeable about local attractions and very personable.

The view from this Taverna is unbeatable- it's like paradise- I still dream of going back some day!!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“a Zakynthos institution”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

one of our favourite places to eat in Zakynthos. great food. stunning views and always a warm welcome from Debs and Harry. great calamari and the best saganaki on the island. and the Mythos beer is always good and cold.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Agnadi also viewed

 
Argassi, Zakynthos
 

Been to Agnadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agnadi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.