We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of both worlds.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kursaal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kursaal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kursaal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Sant Joan de Deu 119, 43820 Calafell, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Calafell
solihull
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best of both worlds.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at the Kursaal on a Bed and Breakfast basis. Continental Breakfast each day which was just fine with a large selection of meat cheese and fruit, on alternate days Bacon was available. Our room had a wonderful view of Calafell Beach and was serviced each day with clean towels also if required. This gave the best of both worlds, Breakfast, no beds to make, and a resort packed with good quality restaurants not ten minutes away. All the staff were friendly and helpful. we shall visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with sea view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    36
    12
    6
    0
See reviews for
12
41
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
liskeard
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just back from a weeks stay here and a very good week it was.
Staff, accommodation,facilities, room, food and location excellent.
I have no qualms about recommending a stay here.
The one minor downside I would say, if you have a car parking can be a pain busy times, eg weekends. the hotel does have its own car park but the cost is a bit eye watering
I have to add there is a brilliant Chinese restaurant near the fisherman statue, careful when ordering the portions are big.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Me and a friend stayed here as part of a cheapo deal from holiday discount centre. When we arrived we were made to feel very welcome and we were shown to our rooms. However the room was very small and only a small double bed. We are two blokes who didn't like the prospect of sharing a bed. When my friend went to go a mention this at reception we were instantly upgraded to a huge room on the top floor with a balcony overlooking the beach with two single beds! Staff were excellent and as being a novice in speaking the spanish lingo they were more than happy to correct my pronunciation when I asked if I was saying it right. Breakfast was fine as it was continental and I love gamon! Would certainly recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Just got back from this hotel,and would deffinately go back there.The only problem with the area, was that is was mostly holiday homes for the Spanish people,so when the season ends, most of the shops do too.There were some lovely restaurants lining the beachfront,selling mostly Spanish dishes,but there were some that cooked English food too which was fantastic.We found a tapas bar and I asked for a portion of whitebait,omg it was enough to feed 4 people,good job I was hungry.!excellent with their portions.This place is fantastic for people that want a very quiet holiday,not much to do really but eat drink and sit on the beach *( bit boring for me ). There is a train station around the corner from the hotel,so for the more adventurous ,there are plenty of places to visit.language barrier was a small problem but we had a laugh trying to get understood.we visited Barcelona,tarragona and sant vivcent,all beautiful places to visit.We had a small problem with the hotel when we first got there,but it was sorted very quickly by the amazing lovely staff. they speak fairly good English and nothing was a problem for them.Especially cristina.she went out of her way to help and even printed off train times for us.On the whole a fantastic hotel,very clean and daily maid service.Breakfast was continental but on 1 day there was scrambled egg and bacon.There are no tea and coffee making facilities,so if like me you like your coffee,take a travel kettle with you.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a balcony, an extra 10 euro a night but so worth it to hear and see the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I have just returned from my second visit to Calafell, staying in the Hotel Kursaal. The staff, accommodation and location were fantastic. Our bedroom overlooked the beautiful, pristine beach, our rooms were cleaned everyday, and the food was of a very good quality. The restaurant is a great spot to relax, dine and chill out with a nice bottle of wine, while people watching along the beautiful, spotless clean promenade. Its location is perfect for trips to Sitges, Barcelona and on this occasion we visited Vilanova I la Geltru, which was a great surprise to us. It's beautiful Rambla, with modern shops and cafe life is a real treat as Calafell, can be very quite off season. If back again, we will definetly be booking into the Kursaal again, and would highly recommend it to other to stay there as well.

Room Tip: Try to get a room directly overlooking the Restaurant, as the rooms further down will not get the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel was definitely worth the experience because the staff make it so enjoyable. The rooms are small but the view from the balcony is great and they are cleaned every day to a high standard.There is also a lounge area on the first floor with a PC and internet access which you can use any time you like. The hotel has a section on the beach that is reserved for hotel guests with loungers but we didn't use that service so don't know how it works.

We booked half board and, being into our food, we had seen all the lovely pictures of the food on the website and were looking forward to our mealtimes. Unfortunately, the set menu for hotel guests is really disappointing with the food on offer some of the worst I have had. This is something I feel the hotel management has to look at because, if I had passed by and seen the food in front of hotel guests, I would not have chosen to have my meal there.

Having said that, if you don't eat at the hotel, you won't have the chance to meet the lovely staff who more than make up for the food. Special mention for Patricio, Miguel, Carla and Ester who were especially welcoming and attentive. As far as evening meal is concerned, I would advise that you book b&b only and then use the restaurant as a paying guest where you will receive a much better choice and standard of food.

On a positive note, breakfast is very good and you get to eat it outside if you want to. It is self-service, buffet style but the staff are always there to help. We travelled with my partner's mother and Eric, who is a lovely young man, was always looking after her, taking her plates from her and carrying them to her table.

This is a lovely hotel, in a great location and I can forgive the terrible food because of the particularly nice staff. Even when you meet them outside of the hotel, they continue to be warm and friendly.

Calafell playa, known as Sant Pere, is a quiet resort with a very limited night life and feels extremely safe when you are out and about at night time. It's a great place to practise your Spanish as there are very few English speaking tourists there but that's just the way we like it. Take a walk up the hill to the poble and you will find a small town square with three bars around it, all of which are friendly and welcoming. We went during Festa Major - between the 11th July and 16th July in 2013 - and it was an experience we will never forget. Human castles, fireworks, dance of the devils and giants' parade. They have festa major in Sant Pere itself around a couple of weeks before the one in the poble.

Calafell is great for access by train to Barcelona, Sitges and the other towns along this coast and definitely a place I will return to. It was one of the best holidays we have had.When I do return, I will be staying at the Kursaal.

Room Tip: As others have said, make sure you book one of the rooms at the front with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Could not get in at Sitges for a room with a balcony, so on the recommendation of our Grandaughter who had visited the area, we went to the Kursaal at Calafell. We are so pleased we did. Lovely small hotel; we had a sea view room with a balcony (always choose this option). Room was of average size, balcony overlooking the sea was great. Breakfast was buffet service and excellent. We ate in the hotel at night - set 3 course meal with a glass of wine and three choices was 14 Euros - it varied a bit in quality - the meal on our last night (a Thursday) was excellent. The staff were great and very helpful and we would like to mention Christina in particular, who was the main receptionist. I hope the hotel look after her, she was an absolute gem; helped us with all queries about the hotel, train times, etc., - very fluent in english. Would also like to mention the young chambermaid who was so charming (no english). We were amazed at the value of The Kursaal, its comfortable beds, friendliness, charm, position on the traffic free promenade and easy going atmosphere and would recommend it to all. It was great value for money too.

Room Tip: Always choose the comfort room - i.e. a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Kursaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kursaal

Address: Av Sant Joan de Deu 119, 43820 Calafell, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Calafell
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Calafell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kursaal 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Kursaal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kursaal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.