We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Uncooked” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ca l"Emma

Ca l"Emma
Vilamar, 89, 43820 Calafell, Spain
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 73 Restaurants in Calafell
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Food Uncooked”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Went to this restaurant on two occasions as it was a three course lunch for €9.50. The first time we went the main course fish was uncooked but starter and dessert were nice. Thought we'd try them again thinking first time was a one-off but no. Two nights later the main course fish was cold in the middle. Wouldn't risk it a third time!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    20
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great local food at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We went here twice last week and found out why it was usually packed and there were people always trying to get a table.
It has various menus- we went for the 9.5 Euro one which was a three course meal with loads of choices. Cheap wine and beer and brandy and bill of only about £60 for six adults and a child.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brentwood UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A favourite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I have been going to Emma's for many years.It's unbelievable value and the choice on the menu is huge!The food is good too.....but does get busy so be warned.I went last week with my daughter and her friend and was dissapointed to see it was closed due to a fire in the kitchen....i hope they re open ready for the summer.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Not What i was expecting,not at all,very expensive and poor quality and very dirty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011 via mobile

Very dissapointed with the quality,the presentation and the service. I had the impression I was eating in a school rather than a well known restaurant.
I had a goat cheese salad and I was just astonished as what I got was a whiten salad with goat cheese previously heated in a microwave!that's all!if at least the would have added different types of green leaves!
The meat is pretty good quality. If I had to go back to this restaurant it would only be for the meat but the condiments were awful. Frozen Chips soaked in oil!I felt sick afterwards and I still blaming on the oil.
Seeing that my food was not good at all I decided to have a good look to what other people was eating.the presentation had no sense at all for this restaurant. Pasta looked completely overcooked, salads with no condiments or colours,wine presented in old and used jars rather than in their own bottles,etc
I decided to complain to the manager and the respond to it was to catch someone to blame; first to the guy who did the salad and secondly to
Myself as I did not complained before I paid. The woman did not understand that was Actually my intention,is not about the money or the salad,is about the restaurant itself. She told me I was the one and only to complain in so many years,I'm sorry but I'm pretty sure I wasn't and I won't be.
Very old fashion restaurant that's why I was expecting great quality,but I'm
Sorry, I have been in so many very old fashion Spanish restaurants before as a Spanish myself and there is nothing to compare!I'm so sorry
To begin with the tables were so dirty, the covers need to be replace ASAP!it looked like never cleaned before and you have to eat on it!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnyrigg Scotland
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Great value - wide choice of dishes available”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

We picked up this restaurant from trip advisor before arriving in Calafell but could not get in on the first try as it was full!

We tried the following day, and it was still busy, but we managed to get a table.

How they can do it for the money ( €9.50 for a three course meal including wine, bread and water) is amazing.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ca l"Emma also viewed

Calafell, Costa Dorada
Calafell, Costa Dorada
 
Calafell, Costa Dorada
Calafell, Costa Dorada
 

Been to Ca l"Emma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca l"Emma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.