We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really quite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Las Olas

Save Saved
You added Hotel Las Olas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Las Olas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Los Cancajos s/n, 38712 Playa De Los Cancajos, La Palma, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“really quite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My wife an I have just returned from two weeks at the Las Olas we had room no.426 which was on the second floor and had a wonderful view of the sea the room was cleaned every day and bedding and towels were changed when you left the request on the bed and towels on the floor could not fault it. The staff were always helpful and friendly and.went out of their way to help you. We eat in the hotel once but that was enough food cold and not much of a choice. if you want peace and quite this is the place for you, we are both over seventy and we found it too quite. La Palma was very pretty and we enjoyed our stay but would;nt go again and we like some life on an evening even if it is sitting in a bar people watching .

Room Tip: hire a car as buses never on time
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    106
    52
    17
    8
See reviews for
45
141
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks here. I agree with other reviews and we had a pleasant stay. It is a good hotel with friendly staff and is ideal if you just want to chill out. Unless you are a keen walker there is very little to do on the island but there is some stunning scenery which is definitely worth seeing. We ate out most of the time and there are plenty of restaurants nearby which offer good value , if not exciting, food. Plus several small supermarkets if you're self catering.We found the Thai restaurant at the hotel a bit inconsistent with the quality of it's food.Weather was mixed but always warm, mornings were best with cloud building up about lunchtime every day. As a result the pool was freezing! We didn't get a car but did the tour of the Observatory and the Astro Safari ( both were brilliant) as well as using the bus to Santa Cruz. I'm not keen on heights and the trips can be quite scary but it's worth persevering as the experience is well worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed here on a late Thompson deal in November. Great value for a real relax if you want to miss the usual tourist traps in the canaries. Hotel is good value, never dined in the hotel did at the Thai on the top floor, quite good. The main road has a few restaurants which were fine as well in fact everywhere we eat was good without being fantastic and decent value.

The weather is very hit and miss so the pool never really gets warm and would get more used if it was heated to a decent temperature. We were on the lower floor and had to close the curtains for privacy i should imagine the view from the higher floors is better but on a late deal we didnt complain. There is not allot to do if your not into walking but you can get most places by bus or car. Word of warning the buses go over the cliff's for longer trips(it's the only way) so be prepared if you struggle with hights but Santa Cruz is fine and regular. There is entertainment in the hotel but just background acts really.

The staff were very nice and friendly, although one of the recepionists said we could walk to Cas Goya (a local restaurent near the airport) nearly ended up on the runway! wasnt best pleased, luckily a nice couple in a hire car offered to drop us back off.

so for a real switch off or if your a walker then consider Las Olas but if you like anything more than eating out on an evening maybe not and if the sun comes out grab it while you can! :)

Room Tip: high for views, low for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

It is hard to write a review of Las Olas and La Palma as it seems to be very much a question of taste. Some people we spoke to loved it and returned year after year and time after time, others we're grateful they were only there for a week.
When the weather was nice it was really lovely and the pool area was excellent, but when it turned grim there wasn't a lot to do. We walked into Santa Cruz (quite a walk but pleasant ) but in all honesty there wasn't much there, we kept thinking we had missed something but I don't think we had.
Our room was large and well kept with a beautiful view and really couldn't be criticised in any way.
We did the trip up to the observatory and that was a good day, although, apart from views the island does not have a lot to offer.
Basically the people who made the most of their time there were the well organised ones who had their walks organised, their bus timetables planned, their rucksacks packed, their walking boots carefully fastened, their cagooles donned and their walking poles in hand. My flip flops and desire for a sun bed didn't really cut the mustard.
The restaurants were OK and we had a lovely paella in El Pipo on the road behind the apartment and an excellent tapas lunch in the cafe below them. We liked La Caleta and their mojo roja was delicious. We had red snapper there and it was very good.
All in all a good break but not somewhere I would rush to return to.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

The hotel
We visited in November 2013. The room was clean and tidy and a good size.. Our room was 304 and had a restricted sea view and terrace rather than balcony, at the back of our room must have been a bar or cafe as we could hear lots of talking throughout the day and evening, fortunately we were out and about most of the time and if you shut the bedroom door it was fine. The public areas were clean and tidy with a nice pool area. We did eat in the buffet restaurant once, not great but it was cheap, the snack bar food was good. The wine was really cheap 2 euros for a large glass of wine. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is very quiet with the majority of the people staying being walkers aged 50+. A good reasonably priced hotel in a perfect area if you intend to explore the island.

Los Cancajos
If you stay in Los Cancajos you will not see the best of La Palma. There are a few restaurants and although the food was ok we have had better, we struggled to find much that was really Canarian and felt the food was aimed at the English and German tourists, El Lager was the best (goat, canarian cod, goats cheese etc.). There is a pleasant walk along the sea front and it was lovely watching the Atlantic crashing into the island. However this purpose built tourist town is ideal for exploring the island being close to Santa Cruz and you can, with a car, easily get to the main sites of Los Tilos, the volcanic South and the Caldera.

La Palma - hints, tips and is it for you?
La Palma is beautiful and is perfect if you love walking/hiking. The paths are well marked and there are taxis that will transport you on the long one way hikes. The island is hilly, really hilly, to see it properly you will need a car and the roads are steep and windy (very). In November the weather was cloudy and could be quite chilly, although we did have some lovely hot sunny mornings. Take a variety of clothes as it is cold on the top of the caldera, and one walk we did was in the cloud and was quite wet. It is a working island with shops and bars aimed at the people that live there but also don't expect that you are going to the back of beyond (it is still the canaries). If you have a sweet tooth make sure you try the local dessert Principe Alberto (yum). A little Spanish will be useful and will be appreciated.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Las Olas hotel is situated in Los Cancajos, a small strip of hotels, bars and restaurants five minutes drive from the airport and about ten minutes' drive from Santa de la Cruz, the main port and town on La Palma.

A nearby coastal path gives you great views of huge, swelling turquoise waves crashing into spiky black coves, caves and cliffs formed from volcanic rock. A further 10 minutes along the path brings you to black sand beaches, calmer seas and a few basic restaurants. Looking inland, the hotel is surrounded by dramatic steep mountains that rise up towards the island's central volcanic peaks.

The resort itself is clean, tidy, spacious and pretty, with more charm and character than some of the larger hotels in the area. Facilities are basic but the quietness and the ease with which you can access food, drinks, gym and games equipment make for a relaxing stay. There were lots of older people at the resort during our stay, and the entertainment and excursions are geared towards them. The buffet food was passable but a bit weird and not that fresh, but the hotel's Thai restaurant was authentic and delicious.

Much is written about La Palma's climate, especially in local guides which claim it has the clearest skies in the world for the observatories found on the island's peaks. It is also said that the south and west of the island is hotter and drier than the east, and that if one side of the island is cloudy, it means the other will be sunny.
Las Olas, unfortunately, is in the east, and although it was consistently warm (24-26) in November, there did seem to be a blanket of thin cloud that formed about noon each day and just stayed there, stuck against the steep mountains just inland of the hotel. This cloud would gradually get thicker most days and just meant swimming in the pool or sea was very cold and anyone 'sunbathing' was be reaching for a cardigan every now and then.

We found that the weather improved as soon as you travelled north or south of Los Cancajos. Also, if you travel through the tunnel that connects the east and west under the island's main peaks, then as soon as you come out on the other side it is glorious sunshine with barely a cloud in the sky, whatever the weather at the hotel.

As well as chasing the good weather round the island, expect to do a lot of driving if you want to make the most of what the island has to offer. The restaurants in Los Cancajos and the nearby main town of Santa Cruz were either completely dead when we went or served basic, boring euro-food like hamburgers and chips, non-specific 'grilled fish' or pasta. Some of the 'towns' we drove to were very pretty but were little more than a church, a basic bar and deathly quiet residential roads.

The locals stick rigidly to their siesta routine, and even the main towns are almost empty of people between lunchtime and 5pm, which is hard to adjust to. Things start to gradually open at 4-5pm (even things like furniture shops and banks) and restaurants don't fill up until about 9pm.

The island's size is also deceptive. At first it seems small, thanks to the tiny distance from the airport to the hotel and from the hotel to Santa Cruz. But to get anywhere else you have to navigate endless mountain roads that twist and turn back on themselves over and over, meaning even short journeys take about an hour; to get to the opposite side of the island would be at least two. None of the local guidebooks we bought mentioned that the drive to the observatories on the very peak of the island is a gruelling and mind-melting drive involving at least three hours of one narrow hairpin bends after another.

Yet despite the vastness of its peaks and national parks, everything on the island seems tiny. From the island's creepy symbol, a dancing dwarf, to the car parks where you'll find even your little rented car too big to park; their roads ape the road systems of mainland Europe but are in miniature, crammed into a quarter of the space. So expect to be doing 80mph on a dual carriageway and see the sliproad you need to take sail past without warning, or to finally get onto a motorway to find it's about half a mile long.

Overall the island is a strange half-way-house - it's not quite the unspoilt paradise the brochures describe, with many idyllic streets spoiled by the ubiqituous coke signs of Europe and plastic garden furniture of tourist trap bars and cafes. The geography of the place is undoubtedly spectacular, but between hikes/ day trips you may find yourself underwhelmed and a little bit bored of the driving, samey menus, and lack of people - especially if it's siesta time.

Room Tip: We got our rooms changed because our one overlooked a giant boiler/ gas tank.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have just spent a week at the Las Olas Hotel, the location is excellent just across the road from the bus stop to where every half hour during the day you can catch a bus to La Palm Santa Cruz (10 min ride 1euro 30cents). There are 4 or 5 good restaurants with in a 10 min walk our particular favourites were Restaurant Sadi and Rincon Mi, the average cost of a meal for two with a bottle of wine about 25 to 35 Euros. The black sandy beach of Los Cacajos is a short 10mins away. The rooms quite big, clean with all the facilities you need. The pool area is quite large with 3 pools, 1 large,1 small and 1 for children. The staff are friendly and helpful.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Las Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Olas

Address: Los Cancajos s/n, 38712 Playa De Los Cancajos, La Palma, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > La Palma > Playa De Los Cancajos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Playa De Los Cancajos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Las Olas 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel-Apartamento Las Olas is a 7-minute walk from Cancajos Beach, and a 3-minute drive from La Palma Airport. The complex features outdoor swimming pools, a gym and free Wi-Fi zone.All apartments Hotel-Apartamento Las Olas have a balcony or terrace and a living area with satellite TV. Guests can cook in the well-equipped kitchens, and there is a handy mini supermarket on site.The aparthotel offers a large sun terrace with loungers and views of the sea and mountains. There is a paddle tennis court, beauty salon and massage service. Bicycle rental can be arranged at the 24-hour reception.Secure parking is available on-site and an airport shuttle service is available. Las Olas is less than a 10-minute drive from the island’s capital, Santa Cruz de la Palma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere so you can book your Hotel Las Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Las Olas Hotel Playa De Los Cancajos
Hotel Las Olas La Palma/Playa De Los Cancajos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Las Olas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.