We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dancing Midge Cafe - whatever you want they do it well!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dancing Midge Cafe

The Dancing Midge Cafe
24 Glasgow Street | Millport, KA28 0DL, Scotland
01475 530548
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Kent
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dancing Midge Cafe - whatever you want they do it well!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This may be a small cafe in size, but the owners are clearly very experienced in this field and run a tight ship - smart surroundings, well laid out menu, excellent service, and superb food and drink.

From a simple ice cream, to a cooked meal, you can be sure of the excellent quality. Most forms of coffee are professionaly prepared, and no minor preference is too difficult to be provided and with no fuss.

Highly recommended if you visit Millport, in fact it's a must! We have been there each time we visit millport these last two weeks (four times) and on no visit have I been disappointed. Other than the time there was a long queue outside the front door to get in and we had to miss our Midge coffee on that ocassion due to time constraints! I'm told that particular day was one of the busiest on Millport for the last 35 years.

And if the weather suits sit outside and enjoy the incredible view. Don't miss this small gem of a cafe, open from late March till October. I'm told there is more info on their facebook page.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    8
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We visited this cafe for a simple soup and sandwich. I was very impressed with the variety of soup, sandwich, toastie etc combo's. The soup (broccoli and cheddar) was beautiful and the sandwiches were lovely. The kids were well catered for by having a jigsaw and little notepad/pencil etc. The milkshakes were great. We didn't try any cakes etc but they looked very nice. The service was efficient and friendly. Will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Subtly modern cafe in 1960's resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

While Millport has suffered from the loss of its previously massive self catering summer trade from Glasgow, it still has some gems and this is one. The coffee and tea would be acceptable anywhere, the cakes, scones and puddings are fresh and enjoyable. They do more but we only popped in at the end of the day and found it a pleasant surprise.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The Best Omelette in the World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The more widely travelled may pick, but I've never been able to make an omelette as light and tasty as the Dancing Midge cheese omelette. For a long time this was the only place one could by a decent cup of coffee for breakfast, for which the banana and golden syrup porridge also comes recommended. Binoculars are supplied in order to check for seals basking on the islands in the bay, and there are newspapers as well.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbernauld
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012 via mobile

Great food, lovely people and beautiful views. Have not yet seen the seals but have been told by many people that are on island in bay. Would definitely recommend it and try and save some room for cakes!!!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midge24, Owner at The Dancing Midge Cafe, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thankyou for your review of The Dancing Midge Cafe, we really appreciate your comments and hope you can come back again. Thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dancing Midge Cafe also viewed

Millport, Great Cumbrae
Millport, Great Cumbrae
 
Millport, Great Cumbrae
Millport, Great Cumbrae
 

Been to The Dancing Midge Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dancing Midge Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.