We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful Croatian experiance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Murvica Restaurant

Murvica Restaurant
Center of Town, Jelsa, Hvar Island, Croatia
+385 21 761 405
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 18 Restaurants in Jelsa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful Croatian experiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Me and my friends have just got back from Murvica restaurant and could not miss a chance to share our marvelous experience in this cozy place. We have chosen this place following good recommendations on tripadvisor.com and after an evening there we found the place to have beaten our expectations. We have ordered different sea foods all of which were excellent in both quantity and quality. After the meals we have been offered differed home-made alcohol beverages which shared a unique taste and at the same time very soft. We asked the owners to sell some of them and were pleased to get many different tastes to take away, After all, we had a warm tasting experience with the owner of the restaurant. In overall, this family-run and cozy place in a beautiful Adriatic island is a must see landmark. Strongly recommending.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    30
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely b&b/restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Arriving in Jelsa and looking for accomodation, the first place we found was the Hvar Hotel where the staff seemed unfriendly, the room prices exaggerated and the hotel itself nothing special.

Fortunately we had a look around and stumbled upon the family-run Murvica restaurant and b&b. As soon as we walked through the door, the friendly owner greeted us and made us feel welcome. We stayed in the b&b for three days and the rooms were nice, clean, reasonably priced and the owners looked after us. We also ate at the restaurant several times - the food was delicious, inexpensive and the staff were great.

All in all a lovely place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great service and food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We have been travelling to Jelsa for many years and Murvica has been consistently good. You are made to feel very welcome. The home-made produce is an excellent buy too!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langenfeld, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant beside the main tourist places”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Nice restaurant with a big menu, dalmatian and international kitchen (owners are croatian/German). Nice terasse with view in their own garden. Great house wine and fresh fish plate at reasonable price.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“True Croatian hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We found this restaurant via trip advisor and were very satisfied. When we arrived around 1830 the restaurant was empty. We were a little surprised since the city was full of people and the restaurant had good ratings. Not even 5minutes after we sat down the restaurant began to fill up. The waiter, chef and owner gave us good recommendations and we felt welcome from the first minute. We had the bruschetta as starter with aperitifs (prosek) followed by catch of the day grilled fish and muscles in a simple but excellent white-wine sauce. With that we had a beautiful homemade dry white wine. Although they were very busy, the service was fantastic and I would recommend it to anyone visiting the area. The menu is more or less like any other place in Jelsa, but the food is cooked with heart and the customers individual wishes are appreciated. All in all, great food, great service, and great atmosphere!!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murvica Restaurant also viewed

Jelsa, Hvar Island
Jelsa, Hvar Island
 
Jelsa, Hvar Island
Jelsa, Hvar Island
 

Been to Murvica Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murvica Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.