We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, if you don't mind queueing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New Inn

New Inn
Bath Road, Farmborough, Bath BA2 0EG, England
01761 470350
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice food, if you don't mind queueing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I visited the New Inn this Sunday for lunch. It is clearly an extremely popular place to eat and the food is quite good, but on my visit it was extremely busy and we spent most of the afternoon waiting or queuing. Having booked a table for 2pm (and arriving in good time) we eventually got shown to it about 2.30pm. I chose a carvery, got told I had to queue to pay for it and get a ticket, and then queue again for the food. The queues were so long that the first people in my group had almost finished eating by the time the last people were served. The staff were polite and friendly but this pub appears to have grown too big for it's facilities - nice food if you don't mind being part of a production line but not somewhere for a nice leisurely Sunday lunch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    25
    9
    11
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly helpful staff and lovely setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stopped at this pub on our way home from Dorset and decided to have food from the set price menu - Two courses £7.95 or Three courses for £9.95. Not a huge choice (only 2 starters and 2 desserts), but we both liked nearly everything within the set menu.
Food service was good and the meals were enjoyable (Fish & chips and Haddock & spinach florentine).
The restaurant was really hot as all the windows were closed, but upon asking for windows to be opened this was done straight away.
Not food that you would describe as 'superb', but good value pub grub.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Found it by accident after the M4 was blocked. Tried the £6.75 menu for three courses at lunchtime. Can't say what nain menu is like but service is relaxed and friendly, food exceptional value. Gone are the days of processed pap, this looked and tasted like it had fresh ingredients. Eggs rosita were nice with nice slabs of bread, had the roast of theday with jam roly poly to follow. Mmmmmmm! Not sure if others experience, can only say ours was very nice and this is on the places to come back, when next in the area

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“one to avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We are a couple who were visiting the area for the week end and on seeing this public house from the road we popped in and booked a table for later that evening. First impressions were good. We arrived back at 7.30pm for our reservation. We were told by the restaurant manager to take a seat with a drink whilst our table was got ready. He directed us to a small round bar table to wait. Whilst sat there we saw numerous people shown through immediately by him to their table, we even over heard one couple say they had not booked and yet they were shown straight to a table. After approx.15 mins he then handed us two menu,s which we presumed were for us to decide our order whilst waiting for our booked table? No we were wrong, the restaurant manager approached to take our order from this tine table. I had to point out that we would like to sit at a dinner table that was set with cutlery etc We were looked at with utter shock and told that ''we looked comfortable''. My partner is 6ft 2'' and he was perched at a tiny table with a huge plastic plant over hanging our heads?? We are still extremely baffled to his behaviour towards us.
It was now approx. 7.50pm. We were at last shown to our table and ordered our food. At 8.35 we were still waiting for a starter. My partner made enquiries and was told ''it will be out in 4 minutes''. We very patiently waited a further 10-12 minutes and then we gave up all hope.
On getting up from the table and making our way to the exit we were called out to ''but its coming now''. There was no apology and no concern shown. I was now not at all interested in giving them my custom. It was now 8.55pm and we had been treated appallingly. We felt completely ignored and unwelcome. I have never suffered such a terrible experience whilst at a restaurant.
Our treatment whilst there is a complete mystery to us.
I advise people to give this place a miss.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonjaf517, General Manager at New Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We really do appreciate you letting us know of your experience on Friday 16th August, without feedback we are unable to improve our service.

Graham does remember you arrving at the restaurant and on checking the CCTV this was at 19.38. We appreciate you were sat by the door where there is a large plant, however there was other emply lounge seating available at the time.
Your Sharing Medley starter was delayed in coming to the table as the kitchen team were in the middle of plating up the main courses for a party of 30 diner in our conservatory restaurant.

Sonja remembers you calling her to the table to check on the starters, this she did with a smile and went to the kitchen for an update returning immedialely to advised it would be approx 4-5 minutes as the last of the party meals were being served.

We appreciate your frustration and do apologise for the poor hospitality you received on this busy evening.
We will of course address the issues mentioned to ensure our service is improved.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Would be fine if prices reflected food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Lovely looking pub and had high hopes the food and service would also be of high quality.

Unfortunately I found the food to have very little taste and it was mass produced. Shame the prices did reflect this.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Inn also viewed

 

Been to New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.