We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap lunchtime option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Inn

New Inn
Bath Road, Farmborough, Bath BA2 0EG, England
01761 470350
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Cheap lunchtime option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I was a visiting a friend in Farmborough but this pub is well worth a visit for a good lunch. Lots to choose from including a selection for "older people or for those with a small appetite". All good, nice service, pretty quick too and more to eat than I would have thought, especially since we choose off the "small menu". Not my first visit, and won't be my last, bit of a gem really.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    25
    9
    11
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cheddar, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great lunch experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Visited this historic inn today with a coach party for lunch. A really welcome place to visit,clean, with friendly staff. Had a lovely two course lunch. roast beef with all the trimmings, and apple pie and custard, all freshly cooked and piping hot.costing £5.25 with free tea or coffee afterwards. A 3 course meal costs £6.75p. Mondays to Fridays 12pm to 3pm. a good varied menu to choose from. Would I go there again? cant wait until the next time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
“Good selection of good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We ate here for a family birthday and I was very impressed by the range and quality of the food. There was a huge choice for mains, and even though they had run out of one or two things, I couldn't really decide what to have! The Open Chicken Pie was excellent, and everyone else's meals all looked very good too.
There was a pretty good range of desserts too, although not many of our party could manage one, after the filling mains that we'd had!
The atmosphere was quite good, although the decor did seem a little heavy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Dined there yesterday to celebrate Mothers 89th Birthday. Good ambiance, Good Prices and most inportantly of all good food. Made to feel welcome from the moment we walked in and the service was very good even though the restaurants were full. Well done The New Inn.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This place has gone downhill....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Visited for a meal with the children. Service very good but food - main courses specifically - terrible. 'Sizzling' Chilli Chicken really was so disappointing ... A unseasoned chicken breast with skin still attached on a bed of nearly raw peppers with some cheap chilli sauce spread over. Almost tasteless. Venison burger dry and crusty. They managed to get the chips just right though - small mercy.
Have to mention the decor ... Dated, dark and depressing.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Inn also viewed

 

Been to New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.