We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place with very friendly host(s)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of School Cottages Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added School Cottages Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
School Cottages Bed & Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   The Street, Farmborough, Bath BA2 0AR, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Treat on Arrival!
Ranked #1 of 3 Farmborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
“Charming place with very friendly host(s)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

My wife stayed here for a week to attend a nearby animal therapy course and I joined her for only one night, at the end of my business trip in NY. The place is very charming and easy to find! Tim was very friendly and even joined us for a drink at the local pub the evening I arrived.

I took a few photos of the newborn goats (I understand the parent goats are award-winning!) and also of the garden and surrounding area. The next day we continued our trip and explored the English countryside, but not before enjoying a nice breakfast made to order with amazing bread and jam, coffee and an egg muffin with extra crispy bacon (just as I had requested).

Great place ... looking forward to going back!

Room Tip: Not sure of the other rooms, but ours faced the garden (the front of the cottages) and was a nice lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
136
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My family stayed at School Cottages last weekend. We hired the whole of the B & B and cottage for our sons wedding at Priston Mill. Nothing was too much trouble for Tim to provide, amend or go that extra mile for. The house is very comfortable and garden are a delight and the breakfast certainly prepared us for a long day ahead of us, including the freshly laid eggs from the chickens in the garden. We would certainly recommend School cottages to any friends and relatives staying in the vicinity. Thank you Tim

Room Tip: All rooms are well equipped and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Some things in life are a must and this is one of them. Great for a visit to Bath with brilliant access via the nearby park and ride. The service and welcome is impossible to beat and the breakfast experience will live in your memory. The Pygmy goats are so cute and the garden is beautiful. This is the best way to relax in the South West. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

A little piece of English paradise. This is a B&B that goes that little bit extra...I think it's the attention to detail that does it for me. The 5* service but retaining that personal touch.

From the moment we arrived we were impressed. We were welcomed with a pot of tea in front of the roaring log fire in the downstairs guest room. We loved the beautiful gardens, the spotlessly clean and beautifully appointed rooms, and the attentiveness and professionalism of our hosts.

You have to try the breakfast! Gorgeous full English with all locally sourced farm ingredients, and eggs from the hens down the garden. Large selection of fresh fruit salad, and cereals, and a variety of homemade jams, we tried them all, they're available to buy too!

We spent a lot of time in Bath which is just a very short 10-15 drive away, and found parking no problem. There's also a really easy park and ride. Our host Tim was on hand with helpful maps and advice/info about the best places to visit. The Roman Baths are superb, and also the new Museum in the Royal Crescent was fascinating, we wished we could have stayed longer.

Everything was perfect at School Cottages, lovely rooms, wonderful food, luxury products in the bathrooms, a perfect relaxing stay, close proximity to Bath....We will be back!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed here for a single night recently and had an absolutely wonderful stay. The place was spotless and Tim was really accommodating. He provided us with a list and map of local places to eat and really made us feel at home. The beds were wonderfully comfortable as were the rooms. The highlights of the stay were the pygmy goats outside and chickens outside and the 3 course breakfast which was amazing. The eggs were fresh from the garden and there was home made jam to go with the toast - it was amazing! Cannot recommend it more highly, thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Really close to to Newbridge park and ride which is the best way to get into Bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Just returned from our 6th stay at School Cottages and we love it just as much as ever. We visit twice a year for a relaxing weekend away in what now feels like our second home.

We love the location in the pretty countryside just on the edge of Bath, only a 10 minute drive to the Park and Ride which is really convenient and saves trying to park in town. We also love the proximity to the many other locations nearby, where we visit a different place on each new visit – for example Wells, Weston Super Mare, Bristol and Stourhead National Trust. This time we tried our hand at glass blowing at Bath Aqua Glass in town, a really interesting session and we got to make our own hand-blown glass heart. We’d definitely recommend this for something different to do!

I think our favourite aspect of School Cottages are the delicious home cooked breakfasts made with local ingredients, the bacon is to die for and the homemade jams and marmalades are all wonderful too.

All of the rooms are warm, cosy, immaculately clean and furnished with everything you might need. And tea and biscuits in front of the fire when we arrived on Friday in the middle of a massive storm was very much needed.

Many thanks Tim, we will be back again soon for sure!

Room Tip: They are all lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, Essex
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Arrived to a warm welcome from Tim and enjoyed tea and coffee in front of a lovey log fire.

Our room was beautiful and comfortable with every need provided, in the morning we had a breakfast of local produce including eggs from the chickens in the garden, then great advice for were to go on Sunday for a lovely evening meal.

Located for easy access to Bath and surrounding area's

Thank you Tim for a wonderful weekend

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to School Cottages Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about School Cottages Bed & Breakfast

Address: The Street, Farmborough, Bath BA2 0AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Farmborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Farmborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — School Cottages Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the pretty Somerset village of Farmborough, just minutes away from Bath, School Cottages Bed & Breakfast, set in lovely gardens, is the perfect combination of comfort, style and traditional charm. We believe the standard of our accommodation reflects our very high expectations of quality, attention to detail and service. Our stylish en-suite rooms offer affordable luxury, tastefully designed and furnished for your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your School Cottages Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
School Cottages Bed And Breakfast
School Cottages Hotel Farmborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage School Cottages Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.