We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, Quiet, Great diving, Great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amontillado Beach and Dive Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Amontillado Beach and Dive Resort to your Saves list
Amontillado Beach and Dive Resort
Dauin, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6217, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Dauin
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Charming, Quiet, Great diving, Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

We enjoyed our stay very much, Nice rooms that got cleaned every day. In a beautiful garden with good swimming-pool. Friendly helpfully staff that go`s all the way for you.
Nice and quiet resort with all the space you could need. The diving was great, Beautiful unspoiled reefs with lots of interesting fishes of all kinds. Very good and friendly dive guides and boat crew. Al you wanted was possible. Good restaurant sometimes the portions where a bit to big.
Simple spa with very good massages.
Good connections from the resort to villages and tows in the neighbourhood. Also interesting excursions to be made from out the resort.
Prices where reasonable not more ore less than elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    10
    2
    4
    4
See reviews for
6
40
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Valkenswaard, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

we stayed one week for diving
but we didnt it was way to expensive 1900peso for one dive so i dived with locals (dive worx)very close at our resort on the mainroad and payed half price and we had a good dive master and very well know about the dive sites and we had a great time
we went to apo island and did 4 shore dives in dauin very nice
i travelled a lot in the phillipines and never payed more then 1100-1200 peso pro dive
the dining area is dirty with a lot of flies(hundreds) and we also see a rat under the roof while we were dining
i asked if it was normal and they said to me that was normal because there are farmers in the neighborhood
i want to rent a motorbike and that was overpriced as well
the badroom was very old and had no warm water
at nighttime we woke up because rats were fighting on our roof of the bedroom HORRIBLE
black beach with big stones and high waves
no nightlive
very isolated and nothing to do
no value for money

Room Tip: coco grove on siquijor is a great resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Amontillado Beach and Dive Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
I hereby would like to react to the statements of the reviewer:

Expensive diving: The reviewer is obviously a price-concensious traveller. And I agree with him, that our dive prices are higher than for some other Philippine resorts. But there is generally a relationship between price and quality. And if one is willing to accept lower standards in comfort and safety and is willing to dive with non-accredited dives guides, there is a lower price tag. But I also would like to adjust the reviewers price indications in general. The reviewer had not pre-booke any dives, nor did he avail of our favourable packages. Then the price for a single dive is indeed P 1,900.- If he would have pre-booked a package the price would have been p 1,300.-

Dirty. Our dining area is definitely not dirty and the reviewers statement does not make any sense. Please read the reviews from other guests who specifically praise the cleanliness of our resort. i wonder whether the reviewer does not confuse us with another of the many Philippine restaurants he knows.

Overpriced motorbike: Our motobike costs P 600,- per day (approx. Euro 11,-) I leave it to the reader to decide whether this is indeed expensive.

Old bathroom and no warm water. The bathroom of the cottage the reviewer rented is 5 years old. We have water from a hot spring, which needs to be cooled off to more bearable temperatures. The temperature is then between 28 degrees adn 38 degrees. We can make the water hotter; the guests just have to ask (which the reviewer did not do)

Black beach, stones and waves. Correct, the sand here is, due to the old vulcanoes, dark. At low tide there are some stones coming out of the water. And yes, we live at the ocean and there are therefore sometimes some waves. If this is inconvenient for the reviewer, he should dive in a lake where there are probably rarely waves.

No night life, isolated. Correct; we have no karaoke and no disco. And we do not want that either. Our guests like to enjoy the quietness to relax from a stressful job. We have several pools, a spa a nice lounge for chill-out and of course an excellent restaurant. For those who like the night life, we recommend a visit to Dumaguete. A large city about 20 minutes from the resort with restaurants, bars and disco's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasteras, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

We stayed one week in Mars 2011 at Amontillado Beach and Dive Resort. After a nice and informative welcome by Peter, who together with his wife owns the resort, we moved into one of the beachfront bungalows. (Twin bungalows, two under the same roof). The room where spacy but there's not a fan in the ceiling, we got a stand alone fan but that doesn't do the trick... The bathroom was rather worn-out, the towels was really old. More windows allowing more light into the room would help against the enclosed feeling in the room. The resort has a good pool, a elegant and nice restaurant and lounge area. The meals varies in quality, generally the fish dishes are good (even delicious) but some dishes are out of can. The resort is situated isolated, it's 10 minutes to Dauin or 20 minutes to Dumaguete by jeepney. There's also your only chance to have a meal elsewhere, you need to get to the Dauin resorts. The beach is not great but there’s a house reef to snorkel on if the waves isn't to big, the coastline is unsheltered.
The staff is very polite, correct but friendly. Staying at Amontillado, you're a tourist and are treated as one. Because(?) of the isolation from competition from other resorts, the prices are rather high and we found it overpriced.
The resort doesn't have their own diving crew employed, the two guides are freelancing and I believe that's why we never felt that "Hey, let's go diving!" feeling we've found elsewhere. A couple of times, there where problems with the bigger boats when heading out from the resort. We had to go by the smaller speedboat and because of rough seas we had to return by car after finish the dive at the beach.
If you prefer to stay at the resort, enjoying books and comfortable days by the pool or sunbathing without to much interfering with the local life of Philippines, this is you place.

Room Tip: That would be the beach front bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Resort:
The bungalows are 2 under one roof, with a nice veranda and hammock. Rooms are ok, bathroom is pretty outdated, bathroom towels are just old. Rooms have no ceiling fan, only a small standing fan which makes them very hot at night. You can leave the window open but it feels a bit unsafe at night and there are no mosquito nets. The garden is nice, but good be kept a bit cleaner. The neighbour likes to play loud dance music at night (but only until 2). Staff is friendly.

Food:
There is a menu that changes every day, offering 3 choices. In the morning, you have to fill in a form what you want to have for dinner. The menu is pretty limited in choice for fish-eaters and vegetarians. You can also choose from the lunch cart, but also limited and you have to pay extra. Quality of the food is good.

Diving:
The coastline of Dauin is excellent for macro photography. There is one permanent dive guide, great at guiding you to the highlights. The others are freelance and a bit less familiar with the dive sites. Boats are large, water and fruit is provided between the dives.

Rental material:
We rented our regulators at Amontillado. They had to be fixed provisionally by the dive guide a couple of times during the week (pulverized o-rings, leaking controls, etc). During one dive, a piece of rubber from my buddy’s mouthpiece broke of – and he either swallowed or inhaled it at 20m depth. We spent new years eve in the hospital undergoing an endoscopie...
Back at the resort, I found at least three regulators having exactly the same defect. All the other regulators were suddenly gone. See next chapter for the management reaction.

Management:
The owners seemed very nice and committed in the beginning of our holiday. However, after the diving accident, the owner was the first to point out the responsibility of the diver in checking his own equipment. He told us something similar happened before (a hose broke off someone’s rented regulator) – he didn’t consider it the resort’s responsibily at all.
The day we checked out, we found on our bill not only the full rental price for the regulators, but also the accidental dive AND the drive to the hospital (1275 pesos = €25,-). When we confronted the owner with this inappropriate fact, he got angry and told us we should be happy he didn’t charge us for the broken mouthpiece…

In short: great diving, but Amontillado resort is no good value for money and the owner is just rude. Next time, we’ll take one of the other resorts nearby.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amontilladoresort, Manager at Amontillado Beach and Dive Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
The management of Amontillado Resort has posted this reaction to the review, since the review is in all intent incorrect and written in such a way as to create damage to our good reputation. Following our comments:
Rooms:
That the room can get hot is correct, since our resort is situated in the tropics where temperatures usually are above 30 degrees. It is also correct that we do not have a ceiling fan, but a standing fan. What the reviewer does not mention is the fact, that there is also an electronic air-conditioning unit. This unit has no problem cooling down the room.
The reviewer correctly states that there are no mosquito nets. The reviewer forgets to mention that this is simply because there is not a problem with mosquitoes in our resort, so guests can without a problem leave their doors and windows open.
That the garden is not clean, is not correct (please see reviews of other guests). The reviewer also gives the impression that our neighbour (only one neighbour; one foreigner at a distance of average 100 meter, who is rarely there) constantly plays loud music. This is not correct; this was a single occasion due to his wife’s birthday.

Rental material:
Our rental equipment is either slightly used and well serviced or brand new. We are not aware of any quality problems. The reviewer received a brand-new piece of equipment. The only problem the reviewer had was the fact that he bit off a piece of his mouth piece and even swallowed it during a drift dive and then unfortunately had to go to hospital to have this piece removed. To this extend we agree with the reviewer. Of course this was not a pleasant experience and we supported the reviewer in any way we could.
Biting off a part of a mouth piece is however a quite common phenomenon, especially with less experienced divers, like the reviewer, who tend to bite much harder on the rubber mouth piece. For this reason all dive shops around the world have ample stock of mouth pieces and even experienced divers usually have spare mouth pieces along when they travel. The real problem here is that the reviewer tries to blame the dive shop for his mishap in order to avoid having to pay for the transport to hospital on New Years Eve. Our driver was away for 6 hours for which we charged approx Euro 21,-, which is a reasonable amount. The reviewer however refused to pay the bill, claiming it was due to our failing equipment that the transport had become necessary. We obviously rejected his claim, because of the following facts:
1. All rental equipment is checked when it is returned by the guests and possible damages are repaired before being put into stock again. This is a simple safety procedure to ensure that no damaged equipment is on stock. We can therefore safely assume that the equipment was in order when we handed it out to the reviewer.
2. The reviewer rented the equipment and signed that the equipment was in good order when he received it. So at the point in time the reviewer took over responsibility for the equipment, the mouthpiece was still in good order, otherwise the reviewer should have reported the damage and not have signed that the equipment was in order. The damage the reviewer refers to must therefore have happened after the reviewer had taken over the responsibility for the equipment and any damages are therefore his own responsibility
3. The reviewer had used the equipment for a week before the incident happened. During this week the rental equipment was in his possession and he was responsible for due care. If any piece of the equipment was not in order, he had ample time to report this and receive new equipment. Since he used the equipment everyday it is obvious that the equipment was either OK or the reviewer ignored the problem and thereby was grossly negligent, in which case the dive shop cannot be made responsible afterwards
4. According to PADI regulations for dive safety (the reviewer is a certified PADI diver) the reviewer has to check his equipment for faults before every dive. In case any equipment is faulty, he is not allowed to dive, since this might potentially endanger his life. The fact that the reviewer dived anyway, confirms that the equipment was either OK or the reviewer was again grossly negligent, in which case the dive shop cannot be made responsible afterwards
5. Moreover, according to PADI regulations the reviewer’s dive buddy (in this case his girl friend) also has to check the reviewer’s equipment for faults before every dive. In case any equipment is faulty, he is not allowed to dive, since this might potentially endanger his life. The fact that the reviewer dived anyway, confirms that the equipment was either OK or the reviewer and/or his girl friend was grossly negligent, in which case the dive shop cannot be made responsible afterwards
It is therefore safe to assume that the reviewer himself caused the damage and that the dive shop therefore cannot be made responsible, since the alternative truth would be that the reviewer and his girl friend on four accounts (see point 2-5 above) ignored a defect over 7 days and thereby would have been grossly negligent! Also in this second case the dive shop cannot be made responsible and the reviewers statement is an unfounded accusation.
The reviewer furthermore claims that 3 other regulators had the same problem. This is not correct; all equipment was and is in order and there is no proof supplied by the reviewer of the opposite and it is therefore an unfounded accusation. Moreover all rental equipment that is not being used is locked away in a separate room and access to this room is only allowed to our own personnel. The reviewer would therefore not even have had access to any other regulators.
We have already pointed out in writing to the reviewer that his review and his reasoning is incorrect and that he gives the readers a completely false image of the reality, thereby damaging our reputation. We asked him therefore to change his review. The reviewer however has ignored our letter. We therefore were obliged to give our management response as it is stated here and hope that the reader can see the matter more objectively now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

Great place run by great people, with a good eye for detail. The place is decorated and provides the service the owners themseves would like to receive when away. The food is excellent, best we had in the Philippines. We had a seaview room, very comfortable and enjoyed the view every morning with a (good!) cooffee on the patio. The staff is friendly and competent and it shows they are treated well.
Great diving, don't miss out on the pier if you go there.
Not the cheapest in the area, but worth every cent.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

We stayed for four days and will happily return. Compared to some over-hyped venues in the region the locale of Dauin, Apo, Siguejor and Malatapay is both beautiful and real. Below water the topography and fauna are enchanting and above the water line all of life is here and the people are friendly. As to the resort itself the gardens are manicured and the rooms are well maintained. Staff are friendly and aim to please and while the owners have no pretension to five star cuisine the food is wholesome. Recent typhoons have denuded the beach somewhat but, luckily, the vibrancy of the nearby fishing villages has survived. If you have the option to fly through Cebue or Dumaguete, choose the latter.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed for 5 (?) days in this nice resort. Main purpose of the stay was to dive Apo Island. However, as we soon found out, there is also a lot of excellent diving around Dumaguete so we spent most days here. We enjoyed our stay and had some amazing diving experiences here. This is among some of the best diving we've done.

It's easy to get to town; take a collective taxi from the main road. If you want to go out for dinner, just go down the beach and you will meet all the local fishermen on your way until you reach a couple of resorts with restaurants. The resort is rather quiet and perfect for relaxing after diving. It seems as Dumaguete is one of the spots that has developed tourism but is not yet overrun by tourists. We highly recommend Amontillado resort to other divers.

Rooms: Nice and clean. Has all the necessary.
Pool: Nice and clean. Set in a beautiful garden.
Food: Good and FILLING. Expensive, though, but good.
Staff: Friendly and helpful.
Owners: Kind and helpful. Speak English, Danish, German, Dutch and maybe other languages.
Divemaster: Excellent. Slowly showing us the reefs leaving plenty of time to take photos. Very good to point out all the cool stuff underwater.

  • Liked — Good food, comfortable bed.
  • Disliked — Price. It's always price...
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amontillado Beach and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amontillado Beach and Dive Resort

Address: Dauin, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6217, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City > Dauin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dauin
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Dauin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amontillado Beach & Dive Resort is peacefully situated straight on the beach. 8 compfortable rooms are located in the spacious tropical garden while 4 rooms are situated on the beach. All rooms are decorated with local art and have electronic A/C, bathroom en-suite, minibar, safe, good beds, ample storage room and a private terasse. The resort has 2 fresh water pools, spa, lounge and an excellent restaurant. We furthermore offer diving tours to more than 40 top dive sites and tours into the national park "Cuernos de Negros" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Amontillado Beach and Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amontillado Beach And Dive Resort Dauin, Dumaguete City, Philippines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amontillado Beach and Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.