We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Dream Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sea Dream Resorts to your Saves list
Sea Dream Resorts
Sea Dream Drive | Masaplod Sur, Dauin, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6217, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Dauin B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed at Sea Dream Resort to relax and it felt like being at home but in paradise. The resort is small boasting a great personal service. Stocked with BMW motorcycles to hit the mountain roads and a marine sanctuary right on the doorstep it is a real dream. For real dive enthusiasts the famous APO Island is only 15 minutes away and can been seen from the resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

To add to the previous reviews, we had such a great time here! Our balcony was overlooking the beautifully manicured pool area and the sea with the waves rolling in. The staff and one of the owners were exceptional, nothing was too much to ask. The food prepared by the Austrian chef was first class, I especially liked his version of the Thai Beef Salad with crisp lettuce and his Chicken Biccol Express. Breakfast is huuuge. Very impressed with the super clean rooms and the furniture. The wooden floor is so beautiful that I almost felt bad to walk on it! Value for money is very good, can't wait to return.

If you want to do a trip to Apo island, you can just go to the nearby harbour and hire an outrigger boat - you can really do this by yourself easily. The 4 person boats are however very small and it is adventurous with the waves crashing in, a tiny sunshade and sometimes no ladder. You will pay 2000 pesos at the harbour (3000 for 8 pax?) and the trip is return, but with only one stop on Apo main beach. For more stops you have to negotiate with the captain. More expensive but also more comfortable would be to join a diveboat. Apo island marine life was very worthwhile, the resident turtles are curious and used to people. You can find them even around the main beach where you pay the marine park fee.

We rented a motorbike and did a trip to Tambobo bay, stopped at the charming KooKoo's Nest for drinks and some snorkeling (flat sea and enjoyable but not much to see beyond the occasional clownfish). The further away Monarch Sand Resort was closed for renovations. Also went to Antulang Resort to enquire about the horseriding, but stepped back because you only get to ride around the resort. There is a lake in the area which is nice to explore, we heard. Dumaguete was busy with lots of traffic. Stopped at Pasta King for an enjoyable italian lunch and bought some cheap DVDs in front of Unitop Store one block to the west in the same street.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I spent four fabulous nights at Sea Dreams. Everything was perfect and went exactly to plan. Airport pickup was prompt. Our room exceeded expectations. The lush grounds looked exactly like the pictures. The other guests we met (from Germany and Singapore) were charming and fun loving. Even Sea Dreams' Apo Island dive trip referral was professional and fun.

The owner has invested a lot of time and treasure into this intimate oasis on a coral reef. Sea Dreams' rooms are spotless and spacious. The food was so terrific it was hard to imagine dining anywhere but on their lovely terrace. The service was so great it was as if the staff read our minds. In fact, after snorkeling one rainy morning, we were met on our patio with additional fluffy towels and a pot of hot coffee!

If we wanted, the owner would have taken us on small side trips which we declined, not because they didn't sound interesting, but we didn't want to leave this beautiful beach cocoon.

The only down side to Sea Dreams is you have to use beach shoes. The resort is right on the water, but isn't on a sandy beach. This means you have to take a few rocky steps to snorkel or swim. For us it was a small sacrifice for the level of quality and care we were shown, especially at the price!

If you want an oasis get-away that is attentive and elegant, but not stuffy or outrageously expensive, remember Sea Dreams.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We were very surprised at just how perfect this place was. From the staff, to the grounds, to the room, to the food, everything was wonderful. The Resort really put a lot of thought into every element of the resort. It is a small resort which meant it was not too busy. As regular travellers to the Philippines we are already planning our next visit to Sea Dream.

Room Tip: The rooms are all great (as I asked to tour the empty ones to be informed for future bookings) but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The hotel (owned by germans) ist just perfect. The Stuff is very nice and they try to read the wishes from your eyes!
The chef of the kitchen is an Austrian and the dishes are just delicious. Especially the breakfast is just stunning. As the whole team understood what is it about service, they also ask you at the end what to change and how they can improve.

The hotel is about 10 minutes away from Dauin by bus and it is just a 100 meters walk to the main street where you can stop one of the big number of buses.

The rooms are very spacious and modern furnished, and provide everything you need. There is no beach but a great riff in front of the hotel.

JUST BOOK A ROOM AND ENJOY A FEW DAYS IN PARADISE WITH PERFECT SERVICE!

Room Tip: actually all rooms a good as all of them provide a view to the sea. never the less i wouldn't ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Dream Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Dream Resorts

Address: Sea Dream Drive | Masaplod Sur, Dauin, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6217, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City > Dauin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Dauin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is a private sanctuary where your dream of a relaxing holiday becomes reality. This extraordinary place, apparent at a single glance from any vantage point, is carefully designed and combines with the owner's philosophical principles, so that every guest can settle, even the most restless of souls, and even the most staid and seasoned travellers can find excitement here. If anything truly defines Sea Dream Resorts, it is the value we attach to the treasured memories of our guests in their unparalleled journeys. Building upon our own deeply etched sultan-like experiences as travellers has endowed us with a rich tradition of hospitality and sharing in the capturing and transforming of moments with us into luxury memories for our guests. We believe in expressing a "one team" attitude, with a sharp focus on winning and achieving results, meaning satisfied guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sea Dream Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Dream Resorts Dauin, Dumaguete City, Philippines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Dream Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.