We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should come with a warning........................you'll never want to leave” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Liquid Dumaguete

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Liquid Dumaguete to your Saves list
Liquid Dumaguete
Km 12.5, Bulak, Dauin, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6200 , Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Dauin B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Should come with a warning........................you'll never want to leave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I contacted Liquid to inquire about a divemaster internship, we were so bowled over by Zoe's informative and enthusiastic response that we signed up and arrived on 1st September for 6 weeks.

We were picked up from Dumaguete and and greeted on arrival by the resort manager Jim, who was to be our instructor. Jim has a great teaching style, he is very approachable, engaging and from day one he really made us feel like part of the team. He was a mind of information regarding the theory elements of the course and we had a great laugh with him during our practical skills.

The resort provides the option for the DM/IDC interns to stay in what they advertise as dorm style accommodation but you actually get your own room. The bathroom is shared and there is also the added bonus of a small kitchen with fridge so that you have the option to cook for yourselves.

Liquid are a very sociable lot, dinners here are served family style with a set menu every night and there is always at least 1 member of the team eating with the guests, This gives a great atmosphere and sets the tone for the next day of diving. We had some great meals and in particular loved the Mexican dishes that were served - Darlenes cakes and cookies also deserve a special mention.

Tim & Zoe are the owners and have worked in the dive industry for a long time so what they don't know about diving isn't worth knowing. They pride themselves on being an affordable
resort for the modern traveller, but I think they are much more than this. They are warm, friendly hosts who always go that extra mile to ensure that everyone is having
a great time and enjoying themselves. We personally experienced their genourosity on many occaissions and seeing the amount of customers that come back repeatedly we are not the only ones who think this.

We absolutley loved our time at Liquid, it was so hard to leave that we stayed for 8 weeks. Everybody made us feel so welcome and we know like so many other guests who have been before that we will definately be coming back.

If you love diving or are thinking of taking a course then you should eat, sleep, dive, live Liquid and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiquidDumaguete, Owner at Liquid Dumaguete, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Jason and Sarah, thank you both very much for your lovely review. We are so happy that you both enjoyed your DM with us, we really felt like you became part of the family here at Liquid, and we are holding to your word that you will be back in the new year for your instructor courses!! Come back soon, we miss you both!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    13
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
16
51
42
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This review is soooooo late.....(sorry Zoe)...but we had a magical time at Liquid back in April of this year. We had wanted to take a trip up to the Philippines to do some relaxing and scuba diving. Also, there was another life changing purpose - I had mentioned to Zoe that I was going to propose to my girlfriend while scuba diving at Apo Island.

I can't say enough about Zoe and her staff - they made our stay absolutely amazing - from giving us the secluded bungalow right on the beach, booking a day trip to go canyoning, to her staff helping me organize the underwater proposal. They helped choreograph and film the entire proposal!!!

Like other reviews, you first wonder where you are headed when you take the road to the resort, but once you get there you see how awesome it is. A true B&B, right on the beach with amazing sunrise views, friendly people and a total laid back culture.

The food was also great! - especially the great group dinners where you can get to know Zoe, Tim and family as well as the staff and other guests. Something you never get at big resorts or hotels. Every morning, my Fiancee and I would wake up and eagerly check the blackboard for the meals of the day - All the meals felt like your mom had cooked them! FYI - Darlene's baking should be on the food network!

Our room was nice and simple and any issues we had, were taken care of right away. There was nothing like hearing the waves crash at the shore while you started to fall asleep and then hearing the same thing when you woke up in the morning!

The 5 Star PADI resort is exactly that - truly professional and incredibly informative. All the dives were well organized and safety was always a top priority.

Zoe also set up a great day trip to visit the Kawasan River for canyoning! If this trip is available, we would highly recommend taking it. It is a full day trip of hiking, swimming, trekking and jumping through the Kawasan River canyon. It was a pleasant surprise that this trip was available - as it was something we did not even consider, but that is just how Liquid is - they really try to make your visit a memorable one in all aspects

Thanks again Zoe and Tim - we had a great time! Can't wait for our next visit!

Room Tip: Ask for the separate bunglalow - it is next to the others and right on the beach! if there are any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiquidDumaguete, Owner at Liquid Dumaguete, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thanks guys for such a lovely review! We are very happy that you both enjoyed your stay with us, and congratulations on your engagement!! We are glad that we could help make the day special for you both!! You have to promise to send us a photo of your wedding day! Darlene promises to make you lots of yummy cakes when you both return! Thank you once again and we look forward to your next holiday with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Liquid in October 2013. We had a thoroughly enjoyable few days.

The road to the resort from the main road was in shocking condition and we were wondering what kind of a place we would find at the end of the journey there. We were very pleasantly surprised!

I would highly recommend including Liquid on any itinerary in the Philippines. It is a resort for divers. They organise day trips on Negros too but if you don’t intend to dive I would stay elsewhere.

Some reviews say that this is a “budget resort and you get what you pay for” – Yes, I agree with the budget part. The room rate is a very good deal but the resort is not particularly basic is my view. The bar and restaurant area above the pool and dive centre is beautifully done and affords lovely views over the resort towards the sea. Sunsets are fantastic from this vantage point. The grounds are meticulously manicured and maintained. The cottages are lovely too…I was very impressed with the whole set up.

In particular I loved the personal aspect of the resort. The resort is small – only 8 cottages – and it is family run. This is the aspect that I loved. The owners, Zoe and Tim were extremely welcoming. The staff are quite simply, wonderful. After a few hours at the resort we felt like part of the furniture. It is so easy to get to know the staff and other guests. The family style evening dinner is well worth attending as it is a tasty and relaxing way to get to meet others. The owners and staff seemed to us to get on extremely well…happy staff lead to happy guests!

Special mention must go to Tim's Mum, Darlene who is not only a great baker (the cookies are yumm!) but also great fun to chat to. ;-)

Room Tip: All are well located
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiquidDumaguete, Owner at Liquid Dumaguete, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thanks Steve for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are very happy that you both enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt like one of the Liquid family! This is exactly how we want our guests to feel. We are still working on getting the access road improved, we were informed it would be done in October - but no one gave us a year! and so far it is still a little bumpy! Darlene is still baking up a storm in the kitchen. You will have to come back to try out some of her new cookies! Thank you once again and hope to see you back at Liquid one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I did my PADI DM course here and all I can say it was superb. Very professional way of teaching and the DM dorm where I stayed which is actually a own room with a bed exceeded my expectations. Very good value for money. The owners and instructors made me feel like home and the food was fantastic thanks to the unbeatable skills of the grandparents of the owners. Of course the entire staff was smiling constantly and this brings you in a good mood all day long. Can highly recommend that place and I have seen a lot of diving schools and can honestly say it was one of the best. I will come back. For sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiquidDumaguete, Owner at Liquid Dumaguete, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hi Henrik, thank you for your lovely review. Very happy you enjoyed your DM course with us here, we certainly enjoyed having you stay and are looking forward to your return! Remember you promised to come back for either a long holiday or your IDC!!! Enjoy the rest of your travels and we will see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Really nothing bad about the spot! Great owners who love to interact with their clients! Really homey atmosphere! Diving gear for rental is really nice. Cottages are roomy and nicely built. Really built this spot great, put some money into it! Food is also really killer to top it off!

Thank you guys for a great experience!

Sean & Christian
9/27-10/1-2013

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiquidDumaguete, Owner at Liquid Dumaguete, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hey Sean & Christian, thanks for the lovely review. We had a blast with you guys and are very happy that your enjoyed your stay with us. Canasta is waiting when you come back! Hope to see you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Really, best staff ever, from the bartender to the dive master. Everyone was great!

Check in and check out was quick, the rooms were simple but adequate, warm water directly from a warm water spring (kind of cool when you think about it), good diving, right at the sea, close to the city and the list goes on.

But there is room for one improvement. At Liquid you can drink as much coffee as you please for breakfast. It is just that the coffee is crap, sorry but it is. So please, charge for the coffee and make it decent.

Apart from the coffee, five star.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiquidDumaguete, Owner at Liquid Dumaguete, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hi Sasan, thank you for your lovely review. We are very happy that your enjoyed your stay with us. We are extremely proud of all our staff and hearing that our customers think they are great makes us and them feel very good. As for the coffee - we do agree!!! It is hard to find a decent local coffee but we are searching everywhere and we do have plans for a full coffee bar to open at some point next year! Hopefully when you come for your next visit our coffee will be much better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed with Liquid in February 2012. Brought my niece with with me. This is my idea of how a dive resort should look and feel. The design of the resort is trendy yet still very local, and the place is very tidy. There are enough people, but not crowded, with a good mix from around the planet. Tim and Zoe Latimer and their staff (Elund, Juvi, etc) were excellent hosts. They have a professionally run PADI dive program. I totally enjoyed their eating-dinner-together house rule. It gives all the people at the resort, staff and guests, a chance to interact and share experiences. I really enjoyed the company at dinner, and I think, it is one of the main reasons why I would like to come back to Liquid.

The beach is, well, not the greatest, but you can swim in the water and walk on the sand (this is cross referencing Mabini and Anilao where there is no beach, just rocks). Zoe the bath towels you had back then had little bits clinging to my skin after wiping down, I hope they have been replaced :)

Divers, this is the dive operator to be with in Dumaguete (Dauin).

-Mark

** A warm hello to one of the guests at Liquid...Tora of Shanghai - a musiclal genius in her own right!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiquidDumaguete, Owner at Liquid Dumaguete, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hi Capt Mark, thank you for your lovely review. We are happy that you enjoyed our dining style, we know this is not to the taste of everyone, but we like to interact with all our guests. Keeping the feel of the resort small and about family is our main priority. The beach, yup totally agree not the best in the Philippines, but this is the same all along the Dauin Coast. We are sending a petition to the local mayor to allow us to make some beach improvements! Hopefully this will be approved soon. As for the towels, you will be please to know that we now have new beach and room towels! I hope to see you and your niece back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Liquid Dumaguete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liquid Dumaguete

Address: Km 12.5, Bulak, Dauin, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6200 , Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City > Dauin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Dauin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liquid caters to the modern day traveler that can do without air con, TV or mini bar. A budget PADI 5* IDC dive resort based in a remote beach location 30 minutes from Dumaguete city. Scuba diving in the Philippines is amazing, explore it with our PADI 5 Star IDC Dive Resort. Liquid Dive Dumaguete is your home away from home where you are part of the family. Affordable, comfortable modern facilities with a native twist set on a large beach front property with views of Apo and Siquijor Islands. Whether you are a flashpacker, backpacker or holidaymaker Liquid is the place for you. Talk to like minded travelers over family style dinners after a day of world class dives. Our team understand the need for comfort on a budget in a friendly relaxing atmosphere and that’s exactly what we offer, after all we live here!! - eat, sleep, dive...live - it's that simple ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Liquid Dumaguete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liquid Dumaguete Dauin, Dumaguete City, Philippines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liquid Dumaguete, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.