We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much potential - so little attention” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua-Landia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Aqua-Landia to your Saves list
Aqua-Landia
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Masaplod Norte, Dauin, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6217, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
North Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“So much potential - so little attention”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We booked with this resort in Dauin as the photos showed have large rooms with kitchenette (kettle, bar fridge & sink), hot water showers, included breakfast, private verandas and wireless internet in addition to having an outdoor pool with a swim-up bar.

The first down-side to this "resort" we discovered was that it was slightly out of Dauin and further to the west, away from Dumaguette, so the local taxis did not know it or how to get us there (and charge extra) and nothing is accessible by walking, and it is difficult to flag down a trike or a taxi, unlike many of the other resorts. They advertise "roundtrip airport shuttle" but we could not communicate with them until we arrived in the Philippines and when we called them to request the shuttle, they told us to take a taxi.

They offered us a scooter to rent for 300 pesos (about $10) per day but it was not a licensed rental, so we were likely not covered under their insurance as they told us to tell the police that we were friends of the owner of the scooter (we had no idea who that was) if we were stopped and provided us with two skateboard helmets.

The rooms are large in comparison to the average rooms at the resorts in this area, but the shower and hot water did not work so we were bathing from a bucket of cold water. The room towels were not changed for the week we were there but when you go to the pool you can ask for fresh towels at the bar. The bed is pretty standard to most places in the area - thin foam mattress on bamboo frame, however the sheets were thread-bare, stained with holes.

Although we were promised housekeeping service everyday, we did not receive this service and by the third day, had to request it. We were taking our own rubbish out to avoid insects and rank odours (and since they request that we do not deposit toilet paper into the toilet but into a rubbish bin - it was a problem not to have that emptied everyday).

Apparently the regular staff (ie: chef and housekeeping) staff was dismissed after our first night as we were the only guests and were left with a rude, and lazy young girl (17-yrs old sister of the manger we discovered) to look after us most of the time. So we were left paying fancy resort prices with backpacker services. Not really the ideal romantic spot we had hoped for on our honeymoon.

The "free wireless internet" did not work work in our rooms, only at the bar, and it went down, but no one knows where/what the/a router is never mind how to reset it, so we had no internet access.

The kitchenette is really only to provide you with cold drinks as the bar shuts early - it is not equipped to make any meals or anything more complicated than a cup a tea. Breakfast is good, Filipino-style (eggs, sausage/bacon and rice) or English-style (eggs, sausage/bacon and toast) and served at the bar, and the mango or banana smoothies are divine. However, you must order before 09:30 to get breakfast - so if you are wanting to relax on your vacation or very jet lagged you may miss it and have to pay for lunch instead. There is an excellent chef on staff but only shows up for the dinner menu and only if there are more than two guests.

The girls tending the bar are excellent at opening beers, or providing bottles of water, but are not skilled with mixed drinks or cocktails and do not admit if they do not understand your order. The brewed coffee would remove the paint off the walls, but the tea was nice. It was nice to be able to sit in the pool, in the shade with a cool drink on a scorching hot day, but since it is so far out, they rarely get visitors from the other resorts unlike Mike's Dauin Resort or the Pura Vida Resort so there was no one else to chat with or interact with. It was very quiet - which in some ways was nice as it was quite but resulted in a lack of services for us.

Laundry service is available and take 24-48 hours and each piece has to be itemized and paid for instead of the usual flat fee for a small bag.

If they charged back-packer rates we would not complain but we were charged top rates (USD$72/nt) for this area for no service, no shower, no housekeeping, no dinner service, no transportation, etc. We felt it was fair to ask for a discount on our room rate but they refused and since we booked and paid in advance they would not allow us to cancel our reservation and refund any payment to go elsewhere. We ended up paying 20% of the remaining two nights to go elsewhere after an uncomfortable discussion with the American fellow who ran the place (but was not onsite everyday) because when he questioned his staff about the lack of services they blatantly lied about fixing the shower or providing housekeeping.

Room Tip: Ensure you confirm that you are getting a double or single bed(s)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonCoselman, Manager at Aqua-Landia, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We apologize that you did not find your stay at our resort to be 100% satisfactory. We were also surprised when at check out, you brought up numerous problems. We realize that you left early in the morning to work on your sailboat and returned late at night and that did not always allow you to interact with the management and any other guests. However, we did have an amicable chat the night before you checked out. At which time, no problems or complaints were brought up. We were indeed surprised in the morning to be informed that you were checking out and had issues. The first being the shower, which I immediately checked with your husband and we both found it to be working perfectly. While it is hard to determine if the shower had failed during your stay. We appreciate the heads up on the matter and have not found it to malfunction since. While we were inspecting the shower, we also checked the cleanliness of the room and found everything tidy and proper. While it is possible that housekeeping missed a day that I am unaware of, we would have immediately sent them if we had been informed.

Yes we do charge a penalty for early check outs and cancellations. This policy is provided to you at the time of bookings and agreed to at that time. We did however reduce this penalty by 75%.

Our investigation when you were present showed possible miscommunications between you and our staff. However, allegations by you, that all the staff were lieing is unfounded. If your stay was effected by these miscommunications, we apologize and appreciate your concerns now as we did then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    10
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
14
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Went here with my husband recently and was satisfied with our stay here. The room is well-furbished, very spacious and most importantly, very clean. I very much like the huge daybed in the patio of our room (room 1). The pool is also clean and we spend hours swimming there. Also the grounds are well-kept. The free breakfast is quite plentiful.

Room Tip: Choose Room 1 for a nice day bed and mor privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This was one of the highest price hotel we have paid and was not our best hotel. It's just an OK hotel, so don' pay this money to go there. We have manage to find way better hotel for a lot less in this region.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonCoselman, General Manager at Aqua-Landia, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear sir, Thank you for taking time and writing a review of our resort. We are disappointed that you found our prices high. Our rates are on average with the other local resorts and our cottages are larger and offer more amenities. Our cottages are not small cubicles used only for place to lay at night. But, are kitchenette's with amenities that are designed to make every travelers holiday a pleasant one. Our breakfast which is included with the rate is one of the finest of all the resorts, using the freshest ingredients and offering the widest selection of choices. We hope that your travels will find you again in our area and that you give us a second try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dumaguete
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My wife and I took a getaway weekend and discovered Aqua Landia, a superb resort. The friendly, smiling staff was more than happy to help and serve us at all times. The food and drinks were outstanding and the menu consisted of American, European and Filipino dishes. Much of our time was spent in the resort pool but the ocean is just a short walk away for those who like the salt water. While we were sea gazing, several local fishermen passed by and while their English was limited and my Filipino non-existent, we exchanged smiles, waves and greetings. This behavior is common and the norm when meeting Filipinos who must be the friendliest people in Asia. The weather was beautiful with blue skys and cooling breezes that danced through the resort. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone and I know we will be back soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqua-Landia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua-Landia

Address: Masaplod Norte, Dauin, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6217, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City > Dauin
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Dauin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua-Landia 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Aqua-Landia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua-Landia Dauin, Dumaguete City, Philippines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua-Landia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.