We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and dive resort - minus for bar and excursions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atmosphere Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Atmosphere Resort to your Saves list
Atmosphere Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Maayong Tubig | Dumaguete, Dauin, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6217, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Dauin
Düsseldorf
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great hotel and dive resort - minus for bar and excursions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We like the hotel very much, the suites are fantastic, the service is very good and very friendly, the dive center is fantastic: only very new equipment, very friendly dive instructors and dive masters, very flexible in organizing the tours, I would higly recommend to go to Apo and siquijor island, I do not like the spots close to hotel very much. Food is okay. Minus point for the bar, never had so bad cocktails before, not sure if they use cheap ingredients or the bar keeper needs some training, even the classic cocktails like Mai Thai or Mojito tasted very strange. I big minus for the offered excursions: the are incredible expensive and they have a very complex pricing scheme, when you decide to go (putting your name on a board) you do not know what it costs, the price is dependent on the total participants, the more go the cheaper it is, if you go only with two people it is very expensive. You get the information the evening before the tour is planned, so very hard to plan.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    50
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
67
125
23
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We are professional travel agents and loved every aspect of Atmosphere Resort. The owner is an architect and it shows in the design and presentation of everything from the rooms to the meals. The rooms are airy, spacious and nicely appointed. The dive area is very large and comfortable. The main bar area and pool are ideally situated looking out over the beach and ocean. The property was luxurious without being pretentious. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: rooms farther back from the beach and bar are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This resort is exquisite. From high threadcount bed linen and beautifully thought out rooms to unbelievably high quality meals, to a dive operation that was a joy to behold. What a treasure.
We stayed eight nights in a beautiful room with a massive superking bed and an outdoor shower. The toiletries are high quality, and reflect the products used in the spa. The mini bar was incredibly well equipped, and the extension of a small selection of all the things you might forget, from a lipsalve to a nail file, to a huge packet of crisps showed amazing attention to detail.
The restaurant served breakfast from 06.30 and the fresh fruits, the cooked breakfast, everything was high quality. Oh, and the dinners. Whilst there was a menu, there was also a selection of specials that could have come from a London michelin starred restaurant. No chance of losing weight at Atmosphere!
And the diving was so well run. The dive set up was seriously well organised, the big dive boat is the largest I have ever dived from, and the dive masters ability to put us onto the most bizarre creatures was almost mystical.
This resort is just perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed two weeks in this fantastic resort. The landscape is beautifully planned and very well kept. We had an appartment which was very spacious with kitchen, huge living room, bed room and terrace with hammock. All very clean and modern. The service was all over excellent and very friendly. You felt like belonging to a big family. The spa was something you should never miss. We had the best massages there in our more then 30 years travelling around the world.
The dive centre is outstanding, only the latest equipment and you are treated like a VIP. You do not have to carry your bottles or equipment, it will all be ready for you on the diveboat. Different to other dive centers they also go out with you if you are the only diver registered for the dive. Boat, captain, seaman and dive guide for you alone. This is really service at its best. Diving around Apo island is a must, simply fantastic. So if you are looking for a beautiful place to relax with a friendly and excellent service, fantastic diving, this is the place to go!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We recently had a wonderful five day stay at Atmosphere Resort and can't recommend it enough. We met up there with friends from England who have stayed before and shared an amazing penthouse apartment, brilliant for two couples with spacious rooms and a fabulous balcony.
The ambience of the place is friendly and relaxing but with a great choice of things to do.
So......in our short 5 day stay we swam with whale sharks, sailed to other islands for diving and snorkelling, made full use of the wonderful spa (recommend the signature massage!), had the best surprise birthday dinner ever with our friends in the tree house room overlooking the sea, visited the local town, finished the books we were reading (at last!) and made good use of the book exchange, relaxing next to the stunning infinity pool.
Whilst the resort is predominantly for those wishing to dive (all levels are catered for from beginners to really experienced) it is a wonderful place to chill out and be pampered.
The restaurant is superb and the bar, just next to the pool, friendly and informal. The prices are not over the top, given the quality.
The attention to detail that Matt and Gabby have given their boutique resort is amazing. Walking down from our apartment to the bar and pool you could be forgiven for thinking you were in Paradise.

However as well as running this wonderful resort, Matt and Gabby work with the local community too. We visited the Soup Kitchen that they have set up to get children who used to spend their days scavenging on the local rubbish dump for cans, rice bags etc. into school. The deal is that if they go to school they will get a hot meal every day at lunchtime. The food is provided by Atmosphere, with mothers preparing, cooking and cleaning up as part of the arrangement. This is an exciting project that is still developing with mothers learning new skills, sewing school uniforms and making lovely jewellery. Don't miss the opportunity to visit the Soup Kitchen if you have the chance.
Five days was just not long enough and we look forward to going again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosarito, Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This place is a beautiful resort for relaxing. The other reviewers are spot on in describing what a lovely and well run place it is, so no need to repeat other than to say swinging in a private patio hammock chair is what a vacation is supposed to be all about. So to be helpful, if you book a unit with kitchen, pre-plan and use it. Its got all necessary utensils and dinnerware.The oven actually has a rotisserie. Also, the pool has a large deep end. Unusual to find these days.

Now the cons. The beach is not good. Forget taking a stroll along the sand. It's small and there's no place to go. So then tried a walk outside the resort. Looked left. Looked right. Saw the cow, nothing else. Came back inside. Not into scuba and not excited about the resort's single choice each day for an excursion, I got bored in even such a pretty place after the second day. Hiking a hill one day, helping out at the soup kitchen another, going to the local open air market another are the choices. There's not even a game room to wile away a couple of hours. That left me watching the 27 inch flat screen TV a lot, which was way too small for the big living room and distance from the couch. I did see other units, family size I think, had large screens. Also, the wifi bandwidth is practically non existent, so don't even try to download anything. I could barely check to see emails.

The place is quiet, and beautiful. A perfect place to zone out, but only zone out. Finally, do not even try to get transportation from downtown Dumaguete except the hotel van service. There isn't any.

Room Tip: Pay for the kitchen unit only if you need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I went to Atmosphere on our honeymoon from 31st Jan until 7th Feb 2013, and this is the perfect place for couple who want somewhere beautiful, calm, sall and private to be. This is not a resport for major drinking sessions, and partying. You can get into Dumagete town for more resteraunts and bars.

This is a diving and spa restort, and it is owned by a british couple (a dive shop ower and an architect) and you can tell. From the moment you step into the resort, you feel relaxed. It's pretty small and sleeps around 20 ish people we think (but not 100% sure), and you have little huts for rooms (two rooms to one hut but with their own entrance way. The resort is beautifully well designed, with a gorgeous infinity pool overlooking a private beach so you can sit pool side or down on the little beach stretch. The detail of the resort is pretty impressive with a really nice ambiance in each location. The restaraunt and tree house (where you can have private dinners at no extra cost) are really well finished with comfortable furniture (material seats not leather which can be really sticky in warm weather). The pool bar is equally attractive and high end quality and really nice to sit round day or night.
The bedrooms are pretty massive and one big open room, with an outdoor bathroom which is really nice, the bed was massive and the pillows were really comfy. You also have a day bed in your room (and a complimentary vine leaf bag) and a hammock and sofa outside on your patio.

The spa was incredible, of all the massages and spa's I have been to in the world, this is the best. I was very impressed. I won't ruin it for you with the detail ;-) but you must have a signature massage if you go, the whole experience is great and they give you a complementary sarong which was a nice surprise!

The staff were first class the whole time we were there, from the drivers, to reception, diving staff, waitresses/cooks. Their English was excellent, really helpful, they booked our ferry trips for us to Bohol and just added it to our bill. We asked the cooks to make us a beef rendang when we had a tree house dinner and it was excellent - definitely ask for something off the menu if you fancy it. They were very flexible re meals. The food portions are all massive so you won't go hungry, and breakfast was particularly good - we recommend the banana and raisin waffles! We didn't have a dodgy tummy the whole time we were in atmosphere - testament as the rest of the honey moon we were travelling and we were not quite right the whole time!

We went diving over to Apo island and swam ith turtles which was pretty great, it was a bit choppy due to time of year but otherwise really worth a trip. They were also really great about refunding our diving as I change my mind about trying diving due to the choppy sea which was really great.

Overally, it really was the attention to details that won us over:
Comfy pool loungers,
Good quality fresh towels every day
Clean sheets
Discrete staff
Cleaned room every day
Various netive sweets on your bed each night
Happy hour complementary snacks

etc etc I literally could go on and on! Make sure you chat to Matt and Gabby the owners - they are really nice and can be seen around the resort and are really lovely, they went out of their way to say hi to us and welcome us.

We decided the banana milkshake was the best.... :-)

Room Tip: We went for a standard room which was perfect for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atmosphere Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atmosphere Resort

Address: Maayong Tubig | Dumaguete, Dauin, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6217, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City > Dauin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dauin
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Dauin
#2 Spa Hotel in Dauin
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Dauin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Atmosphere Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated within an old coconut plantation on Negros Island, Atmosphere enjoys a spectacular beach front location alongside the warm waters of the Philippine Sea.Our welcoming staff, infinity pool, fine dining restaurant and tasteful, well equipped accommodation provides a melting pot of delightful experiences, making your stay with us unforgettable.Step into our breathtaking underwater world, surrender to the Spa, appreciate your mind and body by joining a yoga class - or simply relax by the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Atmosphere Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atmosphere Hotel Dauin
Atmosphere Hotel Negros
Atmosphere Resort Negros
Atmosphere Resort Dauin, Dumaguete City, Philippines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atmosphere Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.