We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to Atmosphere - return to splendour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atmosphere Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Atmosphere Resort to your Saves list
Atmosphere Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Maayong Tubig | Dumaguete, Dauin, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6217, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Dauin
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Return to Atmosphere - return to splendour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I was lucky enough to lead a group of 36 divers and snorkellers to Atmosphere last July. This was to be our third expedition to Atmosphere Resort, in the Central Visayan Islands of The Philippines, and after the success of 2011’s July and September trips, we knew what to expect – superb diving with great biodiversity and gourmet cuisine at one of the best dive resorts in Asia. We were welcomed warmly by Matt, Gabby and the staff and soon settled into our luxurious home on the beach, looking across to Apo Island glistening in the warm sunshine. Open Water Course candidates soon found themselves in the pool, while more experienced divers checked their gear in readiness for the first dive at the resort house reef. Snorkellers acquainted themselves with the thriving fish life off the beach, playing with Clown Fish, pointing at Snowflake Moray Eels or being buzzed by a territorial Titan Triggerfish with a bad attitude and a mean set of teeth! Less energetic expeditioners relaxed by the superb infinity pool or organised tours of local lakes and waterfalls, while photographers charged batteries and checked o-rings, anticipating the dives to come out at Apo Island, home to Green Turtles and spiralling schools of Trevally.

We soon got used to glassy calm seas and hot sunshine day after day – the perfect escape from Melbourne’s dreary winter weather. This is a brilliant resort. Highlights of the trip were many – the Filipino people themselves who were universally friendly, kind and generous with their smiles. Often we remarked how they could just not do enough to help us! The diving at Apo was again, wonderful and the house reef despite some coral damage (from Typhoon Sendong) still hums with fish life.

But one of the most amazing experiences of this trip (and any trip) was to be found at the nearby fishing village of Oslob, on the island of Cebu. Since last October, local fishermen have developed an amazing relationship with a number of harmless Whale Sharks (or “Butanding” in the local dialect). The Whale Sharks feed on krill over the local reefs, and had started to follow the fishermen catching juvenile shrimp during the evenings. A few handfuls of shrimp offered to the Whale sharks established a pattern of behaviour which has continued since and we had the pleasure of watching these huge but gentle giants trailing after dugout canoes only one hundred metres off the beach. Our group enjoyed this experience over four mornings, as we had broken into small groups of nine. Snorkelling only is permitted (which suited me fine as I was restricted by a broken arm in cast). Each group found at least three Whale sharks up close and personal. A five metre distance rule was mandatory, but the Whale Sharks often came in closer and one risked backing into the path of one whilst moving away from another. It was inspiring. Beautiful. Unique. Athough we were only allowed 30 minutes in the water, this was thirty minutes immersed in their presence, closer than I had expected with the Whale Sharks coming to us rather than we to them.
It must be recognised that this is a fairly artificial experience, as the Whale Sharks are ‘held’ in the area by the intermittent feeding from the local fishermen. But, there are now some good management controls in place, and the feeding of a few handfuls only supplements rather than replaces their natural feeding patterns. The biggest step forward has been controlling the number of visitors and directing their behaviour. While this may not be a perfect relationship, it certainly is preferable to what happened only a few years ago, when these Whale Sharks would have been captured and butchered for village consumption. Once known as the “Tofu Shark” this is certainly a more sustainable approach, though the impacts on their migrations needs to be considered.

We returned to a freezing cold three degree Melbourne winter morning amazed by what we had witnessed. In short - Atmosphere is a sure bet. Just a wonderful resort, well trained sincere staff and a great location.

Room Tip: The penthouses are amazing - 200 square metres.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    46
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
53
108
20
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
watford
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

On arrival at this hotel is was dark so we couldn't really see it's proximity to the beach. However next morning we realised that we only had to walk a few yards from our room and we were on the beach! The grounds were wonderful, great trees and flowers. The hotel staff were very good and the hotel itself was the best we stayed in during our trip to the Philippines. The room was huge and although we had to have a double bed we could have slept 6 in it, it was so large! The restaurant was delightful,amazing food, well priced and outside so nice and airy. The staff bent over backwards to please and we were even given 15mins free head and neck massage. We had booked for a day trip to Apo Island for snorkelling and the dive master was extremely professional. The equipment was extremely good with well-fitting masks. Unfortunately we only had 2 nights here, if we ever go back we'll book 5 at least

Room Tip: All the rooms seem good here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We had chosen Philippines for our honeymoon, and we chose to go to Dauin because we really liked the resort from its website and the various review. Though we did not go for diving, which is what most guests at the resort come for, we were definitely not disappointed. It was an absolutely amazing experience, and everything met our expectations. The resort has a great location. We wanted a place which did not have too many rooms and guests and Atmosphere fitted in perfectly. We were welcomed by a complementary bottle of wine, which was a sweet gesture.

The rooms were quite private, a good size and comfortable with a day bed inside, and hammock and seating area outside. The outdoor shower and bath were a beautiful addition. In the evenings it was just perfect to sit by the infinity pool with a cocktail, or just take a swim. Simply relaxing.

You can take a walk on the beach, but it has lots of pebbles and you can't swim in the sea. But that didn't take away from our experience.

We did go for a day trip of snorkeling to the close by Apo Island, which is very famous for its reef. And it was a day well spent in the resort's own boat and snorkeling at three points. The proixmity to Dumaguete city meant, we could make a day trip and the picturesque port city.

Everyone at the resort was smiling, very friendly and extremely helpful. You just feel so comfortable and relaxed there. While leaving we almost felt sad leaving all the people behind with whom we had so many interesting conversations.

If you want a private time, with few people around, and a beautiful place to stay in the Philippines, we would recommend Atmosphere anytime. We would also like to thank everyone at Atmosphere for making it such a memorable experience for us.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Did not regret that i spend my birthday here. We spend 2 nyts in their penthouse it was a memorable relaxing experience. The penthouse is HUGE its like were on vacation on your own rest house :) penthouse comes with a kitchen, dining room,spaceous living room, 1guest room, 1 superb master bedroom and a big balcony with a good view of the garden :)
The pillows and bed are very comfortable you can spend the whole day in bed w/o getting bedsores. ( proven n tested )
The food is 5 star for me we love it!! (pricey) but its all worth it for me :$
Facilities are good especially their spa,haven't tried their diving its kinda expensive for my budget :$
Staff are well trained and friendly :)
Overall we had a great @ atmosphere :)
We'll be back soon atmosphere :)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Rooms they gave us were really spacious. The resort thought of everything and breakfast was wonderful! Resort food is also better than average, pasta was big serving! Bread was yummy. 40 min. Away from the airport. Pass by the city before you head to Atmosphere. Sans rival bistro at Rizal blvd. is worth visiting! Cheap food and great dessert! Divers paradise.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

As a frequent traveler to South East Asia who is always seeking a luxury dive resort I have to give the Atmosphere Resort 5 Stars. It is very rare to find excellent diving, great ala carte cuisine, comfortable and well appointed accommodations all in one destination, but this lovely boutique resort has it all. To start with we were very impressed with the dive operation, with 14 staff to take care of the dive shop, you never had to touch your gear once, the wash down area was kept spotlessly clean, the briefing area had couches to lounge on and the gear we rented to keep our bags light was top notch. The Filipino dive instructors were all professional, personable, well spoken, funny, and the best at finding the most tiny rare critters that you would have passed by with out them. The diving was exceptional, from Muck with rare critters, to Apo Island with clear water and healthy coral. Even on the boat they made sure there was plenty of clean beach towels, hot and cold drinks, and a classy extra touch hot wash clothes to wipe your face off after every dive. The boat staff very helpful and right there when you returned from the dive to take your gear off of you. The rooms were very nicely appointed, tasteful, clean, loved the outdoor shower, feather pillows, kettle for making coffee and tea, great patio with a couch and hammock, and every thoughtful extra touch for guest comfort. Hats off to housekeeping right down to the turn down service every night and ample clean towels piled high after every shower. The biggest surprise was the restaurant, we were expecting the usual boring buffet but instead it was great food, with lots of choices on the menu in addition to two daily specials on the dinner menu. We counted eight staff in the kitchen with real chefs and two very lovely ladies for wait staff. The restaurant is right on the water, with candlelight and soft cushioned seats. The staff never missed anything, service was impeccable every-time, and always with a sincere charming smile. Once we figured out they had fresh excellent quality Ahi tuna we custom ordered Sashimi with every meal and it was top grade. Other guests also noticed that you could ask the staff to customize entrees and we all raved about the great food. They also had a big spa with good facilites, Yoga classes and a infinity pool. The owners were always on property overseeing the operation and when we checked out insured that they were there to see us off and say goodbye. As owner/operators in a tourist related business in a island location we know just how hard it is to give guests this kind of upscale and personal experience. After Atmosphere we went to several other islands and dive resorts in the Philippines, and nothing else came even close. We will be back and highly recommend this resort as an outstanding luxury dive resort.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We walked in off the beach after finding our accommodation at a nearby resort somewhat... lacking. Once we walked in, we never looked back. The family-run approach was perfect, the available nanny service and best of all, the kindergarten, made it a fantastic stay. What other resort has a kindergarten where you can put you 3-4 year old for the day?? Other kids to play with.. Swimming lessons.. Amazing!

Dive shop maybe a bit pricy, but top notch service and equipment. Restaurant serves great food with a glass-window kitchen, but it did run out of interest on about day 5... But no points off for this.

It is a rip-off to get a van into Dumaguete.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtmosphereManager, Manager at Atmosphere Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Thank you for your review. At Atmosphere, we do our best to listen to our guests and take aboard comments and ideas. We have now adjusted the transfer rates for guests who wish to use one of our vans/cars to go and visit Dumaguete City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atmosphere Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atmosphere Resort

Address: Maayong Tubig | Dumaguete, Dauin, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6217, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City > Dauin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dauin
#2 Spa Hotel in Dauin
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Dauin
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Dauin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Atmosphere Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated within an old coconut plantation on Negros Island, Atmosphere enjoys a spectacular beach front location alongside the warm waters of the Philippine Sea.Our welcoming staff, infinity pool, fine dining restaurant and tasteful, well equipped accommodation provides a melting pot of delightful experiences, making your stay with us unforgettable.Step into our breathtaking underwater world, surrender to the Spa, appreciate your mind and body by joining a yoga class - or simply relax by the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Atmosphere Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atmosphere Hotel Dauin
Atmosphere Hotel Negros
Atmosphere Resort Negros
Atmosphere Resort Dauin, Dumaguete City, Philippines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atmosphere Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.