We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to enjoy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam

Save Saved
You added Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   My Canh, Bao Ninh, Dong Hoi, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Dong Hoi
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
“Wonderful place to enjoy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My family and friends stayed at Sun Spa about 5 days. That vacation was wonderful. Staffs was friendly and enthusiasm. They always smiled and helped the guest. The room view was nine and we could choose with garden view, pool view and ocean view. Expecially, the beach was very large and beautiful. It was suitable to my children for swimming. We also could swim in blue swimming pools. And I were very pleased and I felt safe with life guards of hotel. They always took care the guest well. We had many choice for services. I liked recreation services so much. Hotel had many recreation program for the guest both charge and free of charge. But it was not expensive. We enjoyed an interesting game such as: jet ski, parasaling, speed boat... And I felt very comfortable to relax at La Bella Spa. You can enjoy beauty packages there such as facial massage, foot massage, body massage..... Beaside that, we could book the tour at Sun Spa to visit beautiful destinations in Quang binh. It was convenient for visitors to have interesting with family nad friends. Paradise cave is the best choice if you come to Quang Binh. They was magnificent and mysterious.
Food was delicious. I liked them. Menu was rich and diversity. Exspecially, sea food was wonderful. They were fresh and safe for the health. Dong Hoi market is not far from Sun Spa. So we bought sea food in order to give our friends.
i will come back Sun Spa resort next time. Thank you for all of resort so that we enjoyed wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    32
    24
    12
    5
See reviews for
17
43
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Sun Spa is fairly new but most local know it as the best resort/hotel in Dong Hoi, Quang Binh. Íd give 5/5 for every aspect, but standing out would be its location - not far from town center, a clean private beach, extensive programs and activities for customers to join ranging from live entertainment, personal improvement to golf and water sports. All facilities are well maintained. All rooms have nice garden view, the villas section have ocean view. Where ever your room is, the most it takes is a half a minute to beach.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent 6 nights at the Sun Spa and over all we enjoyed it very much. The room was fine, big and clean (nearly all appliances in place), the staff was friendly, the beach was very good and the sea a joy to swim in. The breakfast buffet is also very good by Vietnamese standards.So definitely no mistake to go here.
However, you never forget that you are in Vietnam (which is fair enough). For the elevated price level, the staff was not well trained (room service only after calling them, old towels forgotten, no replenishing of the mini bar.) Al lower prices I would accept that in Vietnam, but not here.
The restaurants serve asian and european food that is quite Ok but overpriced. For the whole week they had no chicken, although at a restaurant in town it was readily available. The Sun Spa is along walk from town, and they rely on this fact, thinking that all guests have to eat here anyway. Better and less expensive restaurants exist in town! But of course dining on the seashore is a unique and wonderful experience at Sun Spa.
If it is available, that is. During our 6 days they had two conferences, one a really big event. That meant for us normal guests: The restaurant was not available for dinner, the service staff was preoccupied with the group guests, the garden was used for the gala dinner, there was a hardly bearable level of acoustic pollution (Vietnamese possibly thought it was music), luckily two simultaneously active bands not after 10.00 pm.
In addition, we found the pool water not well cared for and not clear. That could not deter the Vietnamese families, but we definitely stuck to the wonderful sea for swimming. Again: Ok in a lower price category but not at this level.

Room Tip: Don't take the cheapest category if you want to be sue that the room is nice and big and has a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Large room, well equiped and clean. Green garden. Pool and beach. This is all it is about. The design is not nice. The kids play room is poor and not clean. Not so well maintained. If you don't insist on resort style, there would be much better choice and value for money over the river-hotel luxe-which is reasonably priced, clean and well-equiped, take the best room on the top-but be aware of the towers-they are old and hard like knife.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I just spent 4 days in Sun Spa Resort with my family, overall we are happy with our stay there.


Positive: Almost of staff are friendly and helpful. The Beach is a one of most Beautiful beach in VN. We enjoy live music in the Ocean Bar every evening with Vietnamese and Filipinos Band. Their sea foods are very good and even chipper than other outside Restaurants. Their Spa is really excellent.

Negative: My room needs more attention on maintenance, the bathroom grout changing to black.

Room Tip: You should visit Paradise Cave when stay in Quang Binh, this is the most beautiful cave in the world
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Very disappointed in the service, staff and maintenance of this "04-Star" Resort.

Although the location and facilities are beautiful, I think management and staff are over their heads.

This is north-central Vietnam. The customer (as the old Vietnamese saying goes) is not God here. Don't expect friendly or helpful staff; they are the exception, not the rule. And don't expect much English ability.

Upon check-in I was sent to the wrong room by reception.

The lock to the door of my room was broken and needed to be jimmied every time I used it. Fix it? Nah, that would be the right thing to do. A faucet in my bathroom was broken. WiFi was intermittent.

My glass of wine at dinner took 15 minutes to deliver. The pizza was not done (my mistake was thinking that they knew how to make a pizza).

This was a 02-star hotel located on 05-star real estate. They need western-trained executive and middle management to pull this together.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vietnam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Only choice for resort in Dong Hoi now, nice, clean beach, staff is not very professional, services are expensive, have to pay for almost extra services such as bicycle, table tennis, even life board for children..must bring money on hand white swimming to pay for it, summer is spent for Vietnamese, so that it will be a big trouble for Westerners traveling in Summer and stay at this resort, it is noisy with many children
Buffet Breakfast is also terrible and very poor dishes, noisy and chaos
Restaurants outside are also terrible, we tried some, but no restaurant can make a standard meal

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms with sea view are most convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam

Address: My Canh, Bao Ninh, Dong Hoi, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Binh Province > Dong Hoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Dong Hoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Spa Resort is one of the most beautiful Vietnam beach resorts. It is nestled on a private beach facing the Nhat Le Sea. The stunning tropical Sun Spa Resort offers an unforgettably romantic experience. Sun Spa Resort also is the only 5 star beach-front resorts with private Villas in Dong Hoi, Quang Binh, and it is just 10 minutes by bus from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam Hotel Dong Hoi
Sun Hotel Dong Hoi
Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam Dong Hoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.