We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for visiting Phong Nha” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Hotel Quang Binh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sunshine Hotel Quang Binh to your Saves list
Sunshine Hotel Quang Binh
301 Ly Thuong Kiet Street,, Dong Hoi, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 25 Dong Hoi B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect for visiting Phong Nha”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Sunshine is a perfectly good, budget hotel.

Rooms are basic but pretty clean and big. There was some rising damp on the walls but I feel like this is a consequence of the climate and recent floods rather than anything else.

We asked for a "river view" as suggested by other reviews and we're not disappointed. The river view rooms are at the back of the hotel so are much quieter and the view is pretty nice!

I ran out of hot water half way through my late night shower then my partner had no hot water for his 6am shower (we wanted an early start to get to Phong Nha). Turns out there's a switch...make sure you check that it's on!

The reception staff are very helpful, we hired two motor bikes (one auto one manual) for the day directly from their garage for 200,000VND each (apparently this is expensive but it was worth it for the convenience) and they booked and purchased our onward train tickets to Hanoi while we were out for the day.

We had a brilliant day out at the caves and this was a perfect place to rest our head.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
828CindyN, Manager at Sunshine Hotel Quang Binh, responded to this review, January 24, 2015
Dear valued customer, we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in Sunshine Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the view from your room. Thanks to your helpful review we now inform our guests of the hot water switch upon check-in, in order to avoid any further unpleasant cold showers. It is great to hear you had a brilliant day at the caves as many of our customers do. We now also offer tours and English speaking tour guides. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and it would be our pleasure to welcome you to Sunshine Hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    17
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
3
34
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Si Chiang Mai, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This review is long overdue, sorry for the delay. We traveled to Vietnam in October and also got stuck in Dong Hoi because of Typhoon Nari. The receptionist (Cindy) was very kind and spoke great English. The train schedules were so unpredictable at the time and it was difficult to get an answer from anyone as to when a train headed south might be leaving. She phoned the station for us and arranged transport. After we got to the train station, the trains kept getting delayed. Nobody spoke English and couldn't tell us if it was going to be coming at all. We called Cindy and she came straightaway to the station and talked with them. She was the kindest person we met on the trip. The hotel is new, beds are clean and they even have HBO. I hope we can make it back someday and go to the caves as we had planned. Definitely stay here if you are doing a stopover in Dong Hoi.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
828CindyN, Owner at Sunshine Hotel Quang Binh, responded to this review, January 26, 2015
Dear valued customer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Sunshine Hotel. It was my pleasure to assist you during your stay and through the difficult time that was Typhoon Nari. I strive to provide the best customer service I possibly can so you comments are greatly appreciated. I am glad you were satisfied with the beds here and enjoyed HBO. I hope someday you get the chance to visit the caves as you had originally planed and I get the opportunity to welcome you to Sunshine Hotel once again.

Cindy Nguyen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights to do the caves and to break up the long trip to Hanoi. The hotel is great being virtually brand new, beds are awesome and gave me the best nights sleep I've had in 4 weeks of travelling Vietnam. Location is not brilliant but nowhere really is due to the lack of anything to do in the town.

The real beauty of this hotel is the manager who has the best customer service skills I've seen. She booked the cave trip, gave us advice on where to eat and booked the train ticket to Hanoi ensuring that the tickets were delivered to the hotel. Why does this matter? Well, if you are in a hotel/guesthouse where no-one speaks English it's very hard and frustrating to book onward travel, accommodation or even find a place to eat - and Dong Hoi is one of those places.


Dong Hoi itself is mainly a Vietnamese holiday town and because the caves are recent discoveries and the town itself doesn't cater for overseas tourists but it is worth it to visit the magnificent caves.

Room Tip: A room at the back will give you a view of the fields and river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
828CindyN, Manager at Sunshine Hotel Quang Binh, responded to this review, January 24, 2015
Dear valued customer, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Sunshine Hotel and that we helped in providing you with a good nights sleep. Thank you for your kind comments relating to our manager. We strive to provide the best customer service we possibly can for our guests. In order to achieve this goal, we now have two more full-time staff members who speak fluent English. We hope the rest of your journey was pleasant and safe. It would be our pleasure to welcome you to Sunshine Hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Lovely owner who gives you a very warm welcome, bending over backwards to help in anyway she can, great location to hire mopeds and go into the National Park as we did. Would definitely recommend Sunshine Hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
828CindyN, Manager at Sunshine Hotel Quang Binh, responded to this review, January 24, 2015
Dear valued customer, thank you for your kind review and your recommendation here on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eusserthal, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I have been travelling Vietnam for about 10 weeks now and staying in budget hotels a lot. The sunshine hotel offers very nice and clean rooms at a damn good price. All the rooms are equipped with A/C, flatsreen-Tv, nice furniture and wifi and the ones in the back face the river (very nice view)
The hotel is in the center of Dong Hoi and opened just five months ago, so everything is brandnew and in good shape. Close by you will find different restaurants and cafes and there is a bigger supermarket right across the street.
Cindy, the manager, speaks English fluently and does a wonderful job in helping where she can. Whether it is booking you on a tour to the caves, renting a motorbike to you or telling you about local customs - she is a sunshine :-)
If I should come back to Dong Hoi - and I hope I will - I am definitely going to stay here again!

R.Gene, Germany

Room Tip: I'd take the rooms ending on '1' and facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
828CindyN, Manager at Sunshine Hotel Quang Binh, responded to this review, January 24, 2015
Dear Mr Gene, thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Sunshine Hotel here on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear that you were pleased with your stay, as we strive to create a pleasant and comfortable atmosphere for all of our guests. Thank you for the kind comments about Cindy as providing excellent customer service is of the highest importance to us here in Sunshine Hotel. We hope you enjoyed to rest of your journey and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aschaffenburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The Sunshine Hotel is basic but not bad. We have gotten similar rooms for less money (paid 250.000 dong/night) elsewhere in Vietnam. In Dong Hoi we spend quite a long time looking for a room and they all asked for between 200.000 and 350.000 while most of the rooms were a little less than basic.

The rooms at the Sunshine Hotel are pretty new. The bathroom looked very new and was super clean.

However, there are a few points to improve on.
- the room was not cleaned so well, there was some garbage on the floor and a lot of dead insects on the walls and window blinds
-we only had sheets, no actual blankets even though it was pretty cold while we were in Dong Hoi
-the water in the bathroom did not drain off properly so every time we showered, we basically flooded the bathroom and had a lot of water on the bathroom floor for a very long time (several hours) before it went off
-the scooter rental is of course convenient, but also pretty expensive for Vietnamese standards. However, I read elsewhere that the price is higher in Dong Hoi than in other cities

Other than that, the manager Cindy is very friendly and helpful. The location is not so convenient because it is pretty far away from the actual heart of town.
The Sunshine Hotel has the capacity to develop into something pretty nice and if it doesn't, it probably still wins by lack of better alternative options in town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
828CindyN, General Manager at Sunshine Hotel Quang Binh, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Hi Klaus,

How are you? Are you still in Vietnam or move to other country now? I hope you have great time in Vietnam.

Thanks for your time to write a review for us. Again, I want to apologize for all inconvenience last time. It's too bad that our service couldn't make you comfortable. As last conversation between us, I already explain but now I would like to list down one more time to make sure you will understand for us.

- For the room with dead insect and garbage on the floor, I did ask you to move to the other room then you refused to move. Somehow I don't understand why you are not happy with current room but did not want to switch. Even I offer for you to walk in all the room and check before you move in.

- We just put summer blanket in the room for foreigner as I realize that many guests feel our autumn blanket is too thick and hot so they don't like it. That's why I told you the 1st minute you enter to the room that if you need any thing, just do not hesitate to let me know. Different people with different type, so sometime it's nice if you just express what you want, so we could give you the best service as we can.

- The water in bathroom went off too long because it was full of your hair and it make the water stuck back

- Motorbike - again as I already explain to you, our city is very new to tourist. There are not much infrastructure yet. So, service will be more expensive than other cities that you have been before. I also asked you to go around and check the price then you will know that is average price in the city.

In the end, you arrived 2 days after the typhoon passed to our city so there were a lot of things not as good as you expect. I hope to see you again so we could bring you the best service. Thanks again for your time and efford.

Good luck and enjoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and were planning to go to the caves. Unfortunately it was too flooded to see them... None of the staff can speak English other than Cindy. She tried to help in every way she could and when we went to pay gave us $7 off the total price because we were unable to visit the caves. This was extremely generous of her especially because we were probably some of the only guests to stay there that week due to the typhoons. She is totally up for any recommendations on how to improve anything in the hotel (although the room and bathroom are both lovely). Would stay here again if I returned to Dong Hoi. - Just a warning, there are few restaurants to chose from here...and goodluck finding many people that speak english. BUT there is a large mini mart virtually across the rd from Sunshine Hotel :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
828CindyN, Manager at Sunshine Hotel Quang Binh, responded to this review, January 26, 2015
Dear valued customer,

We are very pleased to hear you were satisfied with the room and bathroom during your stay. Currently we have two full time staff members who speak fluent English so hopefully this will make our future guests stay more pleasant. We have now found some local restaurants within walking distance that are proving to be popular with our guests and offer free bicycles to those who wish to venture a little further from the hotel. We regret that you could not visit the caves during your trip and hop you get the opportunity to do so in the future. Thank you for your helpful review we hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you to Sunshine Hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunshine Hotel Quang Binh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Hotel Quang Binh

Address: 301 Ly Thuong Kiet Street,, Dong Hoi, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Binh Province > Dong Hoi
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Dong Hoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sunshine Hotel Quang Binh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Quang Binh Dong Hoi, Vietnam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Hotel Quang Binh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.