We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Millrace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Millrace Hotel to your Saves list
The Millrace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Off the N80, Bunclody, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bunclody
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good for a break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2008

We stayed here in March 08 for a weekend.
Hotel is very nice. Only faults would be that it needs a good snag list completed (torn wallpaper, mould in bathroom etc) which is a odd for such a new hotel. That said, staff are very good, bar is good (food nice also) and the restuarant on the top floor is very nice!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    129
    109
    60
    43
See reviews for
116
207
8
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2008

My boyfriend booked this hotel as a surprise for my birthday, two nights with spa treatments.....i stayed there for 3 hours!!!
Corridors to room had wires with light bulbs hanging from them, room had cigarette burns, bathroom smelt like a public toilet, black mould around the bath, two rips about 8inches long on the quilt cover, dreadful sound insulation in the walls, i felt like i was sharing my room with the couple next door! The list is endless......when my boyfriend complained they didnt even object or come to see the room....it looks like they are used to getting these type of complaints. we were offered a new room but i just wanted out of there, for what they were charging and the condition of the place it was just a disgrace!! They admitted that they were having "house keeping" problems but i think they have a lot more serious issues than just house keeping. Please avoid if you are looking for a relaxing spa hotel as this is not the place for you.

  • Liked — leaving!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2008

We stayed at the Millrace in March this year, and the one thing that stood out was the wonderful staff!! From the receptionist to the waitresses to the barpersons, they all went out of their way to be nice and appeared to take pride in their job. Something that is all to rare these days.
The one negative i might have is that this hotel is nearer a 3 star than a 4........

But overall a really enjoyable experience!!!

  • Liked — Friendly service
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2008

We had decided to go on a little getaway post christmas to relax. We had had a previous fabulous stay in a different Carlton hotel (kinsale) and managed to find another midweek special. It was quiet dark and rainy when we drove to Bunclody and although my boyfriend is from Ireland, we had quite a difficult time finding the town and the hotel for that matter. The hotel did not have the best situated parking lot and we did have to walk some distance in the rain.

The hotel was lit up for christmas and it was beautifully decorated and festive. The front desk staff was nice but nothing special as we checked in. I have to say I was rather disappointed in the quality of the room. Of course it was clean and more than suitable however, it was not up to the 4 star standard by any means. In fact, the bed was terrible and had a slope in the middle and the linens were not big enough for the bed so we were cold both nights. Also there was a blanket and not a duvet so it wasnt very cozy. There was virtually no channels on the tv and no movies also.

The pool area was nice enough but we were told when we arrived that they had no towels left but we could knock on the glass when we were ready to get out and they would provide us with some. We enjoyed the pool and jacuzzi however you were only allowed to stay in the jacuzzi for 5 or 6 min at a time which is fairly unreasonable when that is the sole purpose of going down for a soak. When it was time to get out, we approached the glass and knocked as previously instructed and were told it was going to be a few more minutes. We stood there wet and cold for about 10 minutes before we were given robes in lieu of towels and we were told we had to hand them in before going back to our room. The change rooms were completely disgusting and the floors didnt look as though they had been cleaned recently and a few of the shower stalls were missing any soap, shampoo or conditioner.

We ate in the hotel bar and again in the restaurant during our stay and the food was absolutely fabulous in both. They have a great kind of sports bar/lounge with big screen tvs and couches. The restaurant had nice ambience and our waiter was very personable and professional.

Overall, I would not go back and would not recommend this hotel due to the state of the room. I would have another meal there though.

  • Liked — the food
  • Disliked — the room, the pool area
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celbridge, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2008

I stayed here for Valentines weekend with my Boyfriend. The hotel is lovely, the staff are very frendly and very helpfull. The restruant is out of this world. It is on the top floor of the hotel with floor to celing windows. The food in the Restruant & the bar was very tastey and orginial. Cant wait to go again. (this was my econd time there)

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2008

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend special (2 night's B&B plus 1 dinner) in late January.

Overall, there's nothing I can specifically say was wrong with the hotel, but for a premises that's no more than 4 years old, they need to take a bit more care with it. Our room had two big rips taken out of the wallpaper and the TV looked as though they bought it in a liquidation sale from a 30 year old hotel. The bathroom was fine, but nothing more than that.

We ate in the "bistro" (the bar, really) and it was exactly as you would expect. Dinner on the second night in their restaurant was very nice, although the staff are not the world's greatest. Breakfast was again what you would expect.

There is a nice leisure centre, but the pool was for the most part overrun with kids. The spa is nice, but a little pricey.

On the whole, the hotel is nice, but it's claiming to be a bit more than it is with it's 4 star rating. If they were audited today, they would get (and deserve) no more than 3.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2008

We had a very enjoyable experience at this hotel. The setting is nice at the edge of the village and the reception desk was very pleasant. There is a definate feeling of a personalised service which seems to have disappeared in most other places in Ireland. The room is comfortable and clean if not as big as some other 4* hotels. The leisure centre also is nice but the jacuzzi and swimming pool arent huge. Make sure to go for dinner in the 4th floor Restaurant which has great views, service and food. Will definatley be back again.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Millrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Millrace Hotel

Address: Off the N80, Bunclody, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Bunclody
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bunclody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Millrace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Millrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Millrace Wexford
Hotel Carlton Millrace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Millrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.