We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HAZZAH HAZZAH HVAR!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hvar Island

Hvar Island
Adriatic Sea, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
916-983-8651
Improve this listing
Visit Hvar Island like an insider
Special Offer
$501*
and up
7-Night Independent Adriatic Cruise from Split...
Ranked #1 of 52 things to do in Hvar Island
Attraction details
Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“HAZZAH HAZZAH HVAR!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Spent 2 days on Hvar. So beautiful and pristine. Great restaurants in Hvar Town. Make sure you visit the Falco Bar and have a drink with Davar and his dog Chika and watch the amazing sunset over the Adriatic!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    593
    214
    50
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Poshest island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We enjoyed Hvar although we only went for a short day trip. Well worth a visit although we found it a bit too posh for our liking which meant it wasn't quite as authentic as some of the other islands.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“A wonderful picturesque vacation island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stari Grad at Hvar is full of quaint walkways, beautiful restaurants, and gorgeous ancient architecture.that is perfect for snapping that stunning holiday photograph.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Loved everything about HVAR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We were sailing and stopped a couple of days in Hvar. Great markets, churches, fort, etc. Wonderful place to buy corals and dalmatian silver jewellery. Good place to stock up for the next part of your sailing, like water, vegetables, bread, wine, etc.

It does get noisy at night. But hey, it is a tourist destination with great bars and great food that goes on well into the wee hours of the morning. Otherwise, do stop and enjoy

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Expensive..but good holiday destination”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I think Hvar was most expensive place during my 2 weeks holiday in Croatia. It was good, but not the most great. I don't think I will go back. I'd just go to small beaches or islands over Hvar as it was expensive.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hvar Island also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Hvar Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hvar Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.