We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Road Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Mansfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Premier Inn Mansfield to your Saves list
Premier Inn Mansfield
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carter Lane East | Alfreton, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rooms from £53
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in South Normanton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Holiday Road Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at the Mansfield Premier Inn on 17th and 18th July and must report that the staff there are excellent and made our stay a very pleasurable one. Our room was what we have come to expect. We can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna H, Manager at Premier Inn Mansfield, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at The Mansfield Premier Inn. Myself and team work hard to ensure we provide the high level of standards that guests staying at Premier Inn expect. The reception and house keeping team maintain this level of service for all of our guests and it is nice to hear that you had a pleasurable stay. We would like to be able to welcome you back to our Premier Inn in the future if you are in the area again and are requiring accommodation. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    122
    34
    4
    7
See reviews for
81
94
21
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Too hot, weak shower, noisy rooms and very average food cooked and served badly - need any more? Now told it needs 104 more characters before it will let me finish this review - what a waste of time.

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaargh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna H, Manager at Premier Inn Mansfield, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at The Mansfield Premier Inn. I am sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet the standards we strive to achieve at Premier Inn. Myself and team have been working hard to try to keep our rooms cooler in the current heatwave that we are experiencing by providing extra fans and sheets. I have looked into your comments and the issues you raised will be addressed and any re-training required will be conducted. I have passed your comments onto the General Manager of our adjoining Brewers Fayre Restaurant for them to investigate and address the issues you have raised. Once again thank you for your comments regarding you stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our night here came at the end of our trip to Northumbria. On the way up we stayed at the fantastically sited Ashington branch. The room here in Mansfield was up to the usual high standard for Premier Inns in terms of cleanliness and we were pleased to find the furnishings
from the older set ups. Re-furbished Premier Inns now have less and less space beside the beds and shelving to store / put things on which are important for a longer visit.
Staff as usual couldn't be better as they were helpful, friendly and cheerful despite the dreadful humid weather we have been having of late which wasn't the case further north. Therefore well done to the staff for coping with these conditions and still maintaining their standards and cheerfulness.
It looked as if landscaping on this site may be on the agenda at the back at some point which would be nicer. What let this Premier Inn down we felt was the catering. Whereas most Premier Inns in terms of rooms are identical, the restaurant which was one of a chain we had visited recently was not. Although the main menu was available, there was an alternative pre-cooked choice of chicken dishes as a buffet. We have seen this elsewhere but it seems to cater for quantity rather than quality. We opted for the scampi and chips but the chips seemed soggy and the scampi didn't resemble anything inside the batter. My Belgian waffle was tasteless although my husband's profiteroles were slightly better. Our Italian wine had no flavour and was insipid - not a great meal unfortunately. The restaurant was crowded and noisy but it was a Friday night and the staff were doing their best to cope. We were glad to escape to the peace of our room. Breakfast here was also a buffet service and we hope this is not a sign of things to come in a roll out across this chain. It simply becomes a production line instead of a pleasurable and relaxed stay. Wouldn't stay here again our of choice because of the food or surroundings although the room was fine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna H, Manager at Premier Inn Mansfield, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your stay with us at The Mansfield Premier Inn. I am pleased to hear that you found our Premier Inn provided the usual high standards that Premier Inn strive to achieve. My House Keeping team work hard to maintain the very high standards that our guests expect when staying in Premier Inn expecially during the current heat wave we are experiencing. I am sorry to hear that you didn't have the same level of service and quality of food in our adjoining Brewers Fayre Restaurant I will pass your comments on to the General Manager of the Brewers Fayre for them to investigate and address the issues you have raised. I would like to again thank you for your feedback as we appreciate our guests taking the time to tell us about their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Me and my partner decided to book a night in the Premier Inn after a hard week at work. The room was absolutely boiling with no air-con. We opened the window and switched the in room fan on yet this made no difference. The wi-fi in the hotel kept crashing and freezing our new tablet. We paid £3 for 24 hours wi-fi yet the connection was rubbish. We then went to the pub next door for some dinner. We entered via the interconnecting door and was not greeted by any staff and was left to our own devices, We had to find our own table and then had to search the packed and rowdy pub to find the buffet area as this was not very clear, and the pub was so packed you could not see. No staff members asked if we was ok. Surprise surprise the pub had no air-con either and it was so hot it was uncomfortable (like the room at Premier Inn) it was so hot the heat was attracting flies to mine and my partners food and drink. The food is lovely yet this just spoils it. Nearly knocked my buffet plate over as had to fight my way through the bar crowd to actually even get to the buffet.
Did not sleep at all - room was far too hot and was disturbed very late at night by other guests screaming and shouting and slamming doors in the corridor. Not what I expected from a Premier Inn. Avoid at all costs in the summer!
The rooms are lovely and clean, just a shame about the temperature of the rooms.
Could do with updating the TV's to flat screen TV's and not old ones.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Mansfield, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a clean and comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

One thing sets this Premier Inn apart from the MANY others I have used, utterly pathetic water pressure in the bedroom. Another reviewer mentioned it in May, no manager's comment, no improvement. Turn it up PLEASE.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna H, Manager at Premier Inn Mansfield, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Mansfield Premier Inn. I am disappointed to hear that you have experienced issues with the amount of water pressure from the shower in your bathroom whilst you were staying with us, but would like to thank you for bringing the issue to my attention. I have arranged for the water pressure in the bathrooms to be tested by our Engineers and I am confident that this issue will be rectified in the very near future. Once again thank you for brining this issue to my attention. Premier Inn pride themselves on ensuring that every guest has an enjoyable stay and again I am sorry that this did not happen on this occassion. I hope that this has not put you off staying with us at The Mansfield Premeir Inn again in the future if you are in the area and require accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Need a hotel that has easy access (plenty of parking), close to motorway (M1 j28), decent restaurant (Brewers Fayre, a good one too), meeting room facilities (right next door), in the Mansfield area...
Look no further, this IS the place to go :-)
Very friendly and welcoming staff, efficient checking in, clean and quiet rooms (even though the motorway is 100m away).
I will most certainly come back again :-)

Room Tip: Book well in advance, as several chain tend to increase the prices closer to the date.. This hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna H, Manager at Premier Inn Mansfield, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at The Mansfield Premier Inn. Myself and team pride ourselves on providing excellent Customer Service to all of our guests. I am very pleased to hear that your experience whilst staying with us met your expectations of Premier Inn. I will pass your positive comments on to the General Manager of our adjoining Brewers Fayre Restaurant. We look forward to being able to welcome you back to our Premier Inn if you are in the area again and are requiring accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Good facilities for 1 or 2 night stay. Chose hotel because of ease of location. Friendly welcome, clean & comfortable room even though I slept on sofa bed. Variety of options for breakfast. Nice poached egg cooked to order.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna H, Manager at Premier Inn Mansfield, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at The Mansfield Premier Inn. Myself and team pride ourselves on the excellent Customer Services we provide to all of our guests. Our rooms are maintanied to the highest of standards and I am pleased to hear that these met your expectations during your stay. I have passed your comments on to the Manager of the adjoining Brewers Fayre Restaurant regarding the high quality of the breakfast you were served during your stay. If you are in the area again and require accommodation we look forward to being able to welcome you back to our Premier Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Mansfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Mansfield

Address: Carter Lane East | Alfreton, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > South Normanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in South Normanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Mansfield 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Mansfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel South Normanton
Premier Inn Mansfield Derbyshire/South Normanton, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Mansfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.