We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Derbyshire Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Derbyshire Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Derbyshire Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carter Lane East, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in South Normanton
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good Value Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed hear on a deal. Just situated off exit 28 of M1. All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful, the reception areas were clean and tidy.The bedroom was a tipical style hotel room, but had everything required that included en suite shower over bath. Tea/coffee making facilities, trouser press, iron & ironing board, TV (not flat screen). Some of the furniture in the room was a bit tired but clean. The food in the restaurant was of a good standard and well presented with good sized portions. It is very busy in the evenings,so best to book. The breakfast is a hot buffet style as well as cereals and fruit. There is a small gym and nice clean leisure pool with adjacent jacuzzi. There are also a sauna and steam rooms. The drinks in the bar are very expensive and this was noted by several persons staying. (£4.95 pint of Perroni). The Wi Fi is free but lasts for only 30 mins a time, so you have to keep logging in. There is a very large car park. Overall it was a good value break and would return and recommend.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Steve16588,

I am pleased that you had a good stay at the hotel and that you recommend us. I am pleased that you found the hotel to be clean and the staff friendly and helpful. Our restaurant does get busy so it is always best to book to get the time desired.
We hope you do return and look forward to seeing you in the future.

KInd Regards
Glynn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    223
    136
    57
    34
See reviews for
59
311
20
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are clean and tidy which is the most important element of the hotel as in a nutshell it's a okay hotel for travellers/workers going up and down the M1.

Prices at the bar are extortionate! Has to be mentioned.

Staff all pleasant and will make sure you have a comfortable staff.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear robert_coello,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at The Derbyshire Hotel. I am pleased that you found your room clean and tidy. The hotel is conveniently situated just off the M1 which is ideal for business comuters and leisure guests exploring the local Derbyshire countryside and attractions.
Our bar prices are regularly reviewed and are competitive to similar full service hotels in the area.

Kind Regards
Glynn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We have just stayed at this hotel on the Travelzoo offer. It was such good value. The hotel was excellent, the staff were very friendly, chatty and helpful. The food was also really good, we had breakfast and dinner included in the deal. On arrival the person on reception asked if we'd like to book a table for dinner, which we did. The second night we thought we probably didn't need to book a table but when we arrived at the restaurant it was very busy. They were very apologetic, even though it wasn't their fault, fitted us in 45 minutes later and when we'd finished our meal as we were leaving asked if we were staying another night (unfortunately we weren't) because if we were they would book us into the restaurant. The customer service was excellent, a rare thing a lot of the time these days! The packed lunch provided for the day out at Chatsworth House (tickets also included in the deal and such a wonderful day out) was also very good. We would definitely stay at this hotel again, it was a good base for exploring the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Lesly B,

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, the hotel is a great base to explore the many attractions that Derbyshire has to offer.
Its good to hear that you found the staff friendly and chatty and that you found the food really good.
Our restaurant does get very busy so its always best to book in advance to get the desired time.
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Glyn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have just stayed at this hotel on the Travelzoo offer which was amazing value.We had a great time visiting Chatsworth House and the surrounding area.
The thing that stood out about the hotel was the genuine helpfulness of ALL the staff. There were no empty sounding platitudes that are clearly the result of staff training, ( 'Have a good day' or 'enjoy'), just friendly people who were trying to do their job in hospitality to the best of their ability. All staff from housekeeping to reception and dining smiled warmly, looked at you when they spoke and dealt with visitors in a professional manner.
The hotel was otherwise a fairly standard corporate hotel, clean, reasonable facilities and good food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Yorktravelking,

I am glad you had a great stay and enjoyed your visit to Chatsworth House.
Thankyou for your comments about the staff, they will be delighted by your feedback.
We do have a robust training plan at the hotel where we encourage staff to bring their personalities to the front and create a friendly enviorement for all our guests.

Kind Regards
Glynn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I really cant understand how people have slated this hotel and it's staff, they must be so hard to please!!! I booked this deal through Travelzoo and it was excellent value for money. The hotel staff were so friendly and helpful. I arranged for a bottle of champagne to be in our room on arrival and as an extra nice touch the hotel gave him a card too. The room was really comfortable, clean and a nice size. The food was delicous and the service was very good too. Definately would come back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Nicky C,

Thankyou for your recent review
I hope your husband had a great birthday and that you both enjoyed your stay.
I am glad that you found the service very good and the food to be delicous.
We would be most pleased to welcome you back to The Derbyshire in the future.

Kind Regards
Glynn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My partner and I have just spent 2 nights at this hotel on a special offer with Travelzoo. The offer included bed, breakfast and evening meal. It also included packed lunch and free entrance to Chatsworth House which was the main reason for taking up the offer.

The hotel was extremely comfortable and the service excellent. We were made very welcome and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

The packed lunch was also excellent and probably the best I have ever received from a hotel.

We would certainly use this hotel again as there is so much to see in the area and it is very conveniently placed alongside the M1.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Eileenthatway,

Thankyou for your review after your recent stay.
Its most pleasing that you feel you were made welcome and that you found the staff friendly and helpful.
I am glad you found your packed lunch to exceed expectations and I hope you enjoyed your day out to Chatsworth House.
We look forward to you returning to the hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards
Glynn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

A basic but clean friendly and value for money hotel. Location is ideal just off M1 if you are looking to break up a long journey. Gym is basic but ok for use and small pool although I did not use it looked inviting. The restaurant was fine and the breakfast good for the value. Only slight point is over road from hotel you can get a pint and glass of wine at the pub for circa £8 at the hotel the same round will set you back around £15. You expect to pay more at hotels for drinks, it would be better business I would think to reduce the drinks charges and encourage more people to stay in the hotel bar.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Simpson123,
Thankyou for your review after your stay.
I am pleased that you found the hotel clean and friendly and that you found breakfast to good value.
We do review our bar prices on a regular basis and they are competitive to other full service hotels in the local area.
Kind Regards
Glynn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Derbyshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derbyshire Hotel

Address: Carter Lane East, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > South Normanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in South Normanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Derbyshire Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-friendly and very comfortable, you'll feel relaxed from the moment you arrive. Near the heart of the Peak district where you will find delightful walks and spectacular views. Chatsworth House, fun-packed thrills of Alton Towers, and extensive shopping at East Midlands Outlet are all nearby. Enjoy our modern gym, indoor pool, spa bath and optional health & beauty treatments. Beautiful suites available for meetings and events, from conferences to weddings. If you are planning a trip abroad, the hotel is just 30 minutes from East Midlands Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Derbyshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derbyshire Hotel South Normanton
Derbyshire South Normanton
The Derbyshire Hotel South Normanton, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Derbyshire Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.