me and my fiance stayed here may bank holiday for the weekend. We got a travelzoo cheapy which was b&b and evening meal on both nights.
The hotel is situated just off the motorway so there is nothing much around it. There is a pub across the road that sells your average pub food, they also do buffet evenings, which include chicken nights, fish and chip nights, etc..
The first evening meal at the hotel was average, i ordered a fish dish, which was bland, the only thing that made it nice was the tomato sauce it came with. However our waitress was great, nice, helpful and bubbly. I cant remember her name, she had an irish name and only worked weekends. she is an asset to the hotel as most of the other staff were nice but did not go that little bit extra.
The kettle in our room did not work. I called reception and another kettle was with us within 5 minutes, great.
On our first morning we went for a swim and sauna. It was alittle difficult swimming in the pool as it is a funny shape and you couldnt really swim lengths or widths without trying to avoid other people. The jacuzzi and sauna were great, however the steam room was out of order.
Breakfast was as you normally get at a hotel, buffet style with plenty to choose from.
Drinks at the bar are expensive, especially the wine. On the second night we went to the pub over the road.
On our second evening i was surprised to be handed the menu and it was more or less the same as the night before, with only two other options, however we had the pork in cider gravy and this was alot nicer than the night before.
Anyone staying here i would suggest to go to Matlock, its about a 10-15 minute drive away and is lovely. We went on the heights of abraham, this is great for kids and adults and cost about £18 each, but they do have a family discount.
Im not totally sure if i would stay here again, I would if i got another deal. If the manager reads this I hope he passes on my positive comments to the waitress, she truely made a difference to our evening meal.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May 20, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you for your recent review following your stay here at The Derbyshire Hotel.
I am pleased you found the hotel to be easily accessible as we are located just off Junction 28 of the M1. We are located close to a number of local attractions including East Midlands Designer Outlet and Matlock , and it's great you were able to visit the Heights of Abraham.
It is disappointing that your meal on the first night was not quite to your taste, however it is great to see your waitress was very helpful and went the extra mile for you. I will certainly pass on your feedback to her.
It's good to see you had chance to use our leisure facilities, and I apologise that on this day our Steam Room was out of order for maintenence.
Our chefs will be pleased you found plenty of choice on the breakfast buffet. We do regularly complete analysis of other 4* hotels in the area to ensure our beverage prices remain competitive, and so I am sorry that you found some drinks to be more expensive than you would have liked.
I hope you will choose to stay at The Derbyshire Hotel with us again,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.