We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“changing times!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Derbyshire Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Derbyshire Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Derbyshire Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carter Lane East, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in South Normanton
Broadstairs, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“changing times!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

we have used the derbyshire for 4 years now,the staff work hard and really do need maor staff to keep it running smoothly,brilliant hotel,but over the passed year it has gone down with menu very expensive and samey,the hotel is getting very tied needs money spending on it.beds need a upgrade,we have found the pool etc ok,but on very busy days just does not have the capicity for the amount of people.neverless hotel comfortable and clean.HOTEL OWNERS NEED TO SPEND MONEY ON HOTEL AND MORE STAFF.

Room Tip: over looking car park,big ,quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    224
    136
    57
    34
See reviews for
59
311
20
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

booked via travelzoo 2 nights B&B plus evening meal with bottle of wine on first night £150. Very good value breakfast all you can eat but had to wait on both occasions for fried eggs. otherwise great. Dinner on first evening was very minimal so on second day we nipped to local beef eater and filled up at lunch time only to be met with monster dinner on second night!! Beer was expensive tho boddingtons at £4.20 pint and on the last evening we took 1 pint and a double brandy to room and that cost £10.+... so this is where they made their money. have lovely pool and sauna though so we really did relax. Plus on the first night there was a small fire in the hotel and this was handled very well with little disruption ....apart from having to get out of bed and assemble elsewhere! reception warm welcoming and professional all in all a good hotel and would defo go again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed at his hotel for one night due to a business trip to Mansfield, unfortunately the experience wasnt the best.
A nice looking hotel, the bedroom was clean and comfortable but only basic channels on TV.
The price of the drinks was totally over the top, it was cheaper for three of us to get a cab to the nearest Wetherspoons bar, even with the price of the cab we actually saved money rather than drink at the hotel.
On our return to hotel rather than eat in the restaurant we ordered pizzas in the bar and they were the worst pizzas I have ever tasted or seen, they came in cardboard boxes (trying to be retro I Suppose!) and were like a splodge stuck to the bottom of the box, totally uncooked.
I did complain to the waiter who was really put out by my actions and stated quite bruskly "that he would get someone to come and see us", which never happened!
In my view the hotel is trying to be a four star London venue, but failing badly

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

£30 it cost for a Christmas party night.What an absolute waste of money.First of all the food was terrible.A choice of 3 starters,3 mains and 3 puddings.Well i could of fell of my chair when they bought the main out.Think they had been to Asda down the road and bought 200 microwave meals.Absolutely disgusting!!!secondly the price of the drinks,I know it's a hotel and they are normally a little more expensive ,£4 a pint not too bad ,but £6.60 for 2 glasss of coke???A total rip off.and thirdly the disco,well don't really know what to say apart from sack the D.j!!The only plus side was the friendly staff. NEVER AGAIN!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I recently went to this hotel. I went with my niece to celebrate her 18th. We went because it was advertised as a SPA hotel. We arrived Saturday afternoon to be informed we could not book any treatments as the therapists go home at 5pm and the SPA is not open Sundays. We then decided to use the pool area. The reception we got from the staff was very bad. They appeared cross we interrupted their conversation. When we arrived in the pool the Jacuzzi was not working. We were not informed abut this. So really i could have gone to my local swimming pool for less money.
When i went to bed that evening i realised i had left my sleep apnoea machine in the bar so called to see if it had been handed in. I was informed they had checked the bar and it was not there. I asked again in the morning and was told they had checked again. It was not until i had met with someone and passed over the machine not being worth any value it was then found behind the bar that had been checked on two previous occasions.
I did fill in a survey and they asked to call me back but they never did. This is the only consistent thing with this hotel incompetance

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed here in June 2012 with our young daughter.

Arrival
The hotel car park is large with plenty of parking.

As you approach the hotel entrance you have a sense of ease which is totally dispelled on entering.

The reception desk is not clearly marked although soon becomes obvious as the peculiar angled desk tucked to the right in a somewhat dated reception area.

The reception area as a whole does have toilets, phones, a leaflet stand of local points of interest and the restaurant/bar off to the left.

Check in was painless and we were allocated our room pretty quickly and given directions.

Room
So off we went in search of our room which was on the 2nd floor. We struggled with 2 suitcases and a small child up the stairs (there did not appear to be any lifts). We then walked down a very long, dimly lit and extremely hot corridor.

On entering the room it was even hotter than the corridor. There was no air con in the room, but a fan was available and turned on immediately.

The window was opened but had to be closed again. This was for two reasons, 1) Low level sliding window without safety locks on the 2nd floor with a young child. 2) As we were at the far end of the hotel, we were right on top of the M1 and the noise was at an unacceptable level.

I approached reception and asked to be moved. This was done without fuss and so the window and noise issues were resolved, although the heat issue was still the same. The new room was closer to reception and on the same level. The room looked the same as the previous although it was classed as a disabled room. The only difference we could see was the vinyl sheeting and pull cords as you entered.

The rooms themselves are worn and in need of refurbishment. They are small and rather gloomy.

The double bed dipped in the middle so one of us slept in that while the other shared with our daughter whose bed was very comfortable.

There is far too much unnecessary furniture which adds to making the room smaller.

The main issue with the room was the heat. It was not hot outside but the room was almost unbearable. We had to have the fan pointed at us at night to get to sleep. After showering in the morning you had to get out of the room quickly or you would be sweating and have to start over.

Pool
Although the pool area was small, my daughter loved it. The gym had several pieces of equipment along with a steam room, Jacuzzi and sauna.

Restaurant
This is too small for the number of guests, hence you are held in a queue for a considerable amount of time to be seated.

The layout is bad which means other guests are queuing alongside your table. The waiter was a bit stroppy when I refused to sit at one such table. There were other tables available so I didn’t feel my request was unreasonable.

The food choice is limited and very expensive. The evening meal took a while to be presented and then was only passable.

It was far too hot in the restaurant which made eating a meal very uncomfortable. There were a lot of guests going across the road to the Brewers Fayre restaurant.

Breakfast was not great for all of the above reasons.

Overall

Although our stay was for 3 nights, after the 2nd night we had had enough. We did try getting a room at the Premier Inn across the road but they were fully booked. So we packed our things and left.

If it were not for the reception staff, I would have rated this hotel lower.

Our stay here was not a good one.

Room Tip: If you do stay, ask for a room facing away from the M1, close and on the same level as reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We have now stayed at the Derbyshire four or five times, and it is pretty consistent. Knowing that there is some variety in the standard of the rooms, we always request one we have stayed in before and know to be good. We never get it, but it has become something of a tradition. Some rooms are good, with flat screen TVs and non-misting bathroom mirrors, others are rather tired, with old CRT TVs, erratic heating and no A/C. On this occasion we had one of the latter, but for a single night it was OK. Check-in is never straightforward, with requests not noted but others recorded which had not been made!

For all that, there is something endearing about the Derbyshire. The welcome is always warm, the staff friendly and helpful, and I have never had a stay I did not enjoy.

The bar is expensive and the food unexceptional, but you can eat and drink at the Brewer's Fayre across the road for a fraction of the price. The pool and spa area is great.

We paid £67.15 for B&B, which I thought was very good value. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Don't bother, it doesn't seem to make any difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Derbyshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derbyshire Hotel

Address: Carter Lane East, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > South Normanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in South Normanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Derbyshire Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-friendly and very comfortable, you'll feel relaxed from the moment you arrive. Near the heart of the Peak district where you will find delightful walks and spectacular views. Chatsworth House, fun-packed thrills of Alton Towers, and extensive shopping at East Midlands Outlet are all nearby. Enjoy our modern gym, indoor pool, spa bath and optional health & beauty treatments. Beautiful suites available for meetings and events, from conferences to weddings. If you are planning a trip abroad, the hotel is just 30 minutes from East Midlands Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Derbyshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derbyshire Hotel South Normanton
Derbyshire South Normanton
The Derbyshire Hotel South Normanton, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Derbyshire Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.