We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Derbyshire Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Derbyshire Hotel to your Saves list
The Derbyshire Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carter Lane East, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Normanton
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We booked an 'all in' couple of days and were surprised that we got such good value for money.The hotel although situated right by the M1 was quiet, very clean, offered lovely quality food for breakfast and dinner and we got a bottle of wine thrown in at each dinner.Bedrooms were a good size. beds really comfy and you could control the room temperature, so a wonderfull nights sleep without beeing the usual hot, stuffy rooms so many hotels are.The hotel is ideal for a base to explore the lovely countryside and pretty towns and villages.We even found time to pop to the small pool in the spa to relax after a busy day climbing up the ruined Peveral Castle.The staff were friendly and efficient.No charge to deliver your morning paper.,We picked up the brochure showing the other hotels in their chain and can't wait to see if any offers pop up there for some more nice Autumn/Winter breaks

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    269
    162
    59
    39
See reviews for
71
360
25
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our stay at the hotel was great. We went thanks to a fantastic offer the hotel had on. DBB and a bottle of wine for £77 per room, via travelzoo, The staff were really friendly, the food was lovely and the rooms were nice and clean. The facilities in the spa were great. The jacuzzi was lovely. The only thing i would say was that the drinks at the hotel bar were quite expensive but the choice of draught beers was good. A good base.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback

It was pleasing to read your positive review of our hotel, the staff will be very pleased with your comments, I am glad you found the Jacuzzi to be lovely

We regularly complete competitor analysis with other hotels in the local area and our drinks prices are very similar to those of other hotels.

I do hope you will visit us again in the not too distant future and make good use of the Jacuzzi again during your visit.

Kind Regards

Glynn Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The facilities were adequate despite not getting the bedsize we asked for and had confirmed by phone/email in advance! Never mind, the staff were very good and the food was good value for money. The location is great for the M1 (dont open the bedroom windows though) but a 40 min drive to get to the best of the Peak District.

Room Tip: Even though we didnt get what was promised, ask for the larger double beds and a room facing away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review

I am sorry you did not get the bed size you asked for, the Reception Team are usually very good at ensuring our guests acquire what they ask for

I am pleased to read the staff were very good and food was good, the Chef and his team will take great heart from your kind words

The hotel is set in a delightful location with easy transport links to all the local attractions and within easy reach of the wonderful peak district.

I do hope you visit again when we will ensure you receive the correct bed size

Kind Regards

Glynn Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Have stayed here a couple of time on business, the hotel is situated right of the motorway so is an ideal location when in the area on business. Rooms are slightly dated but clean and of a decent size. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We booked a Travel Zoo deal and then read the hotel reviews which were very mixed. However, as it turned out, we were very happy with our choice.
The warm welcome we received from Mark at check in was a good start - lovely attitude and a good sense of humour.
We had booked a deluxe room which was well appointed with everything needed including robes, slippers, toiletries, tea, coffee, biscuits etc. The bed was huge and super comfy with crisp sparkling white linens and lots of pillows - heaven! The only let down in the room was a rather antiquated TV with limited channel choices.
I bad problems connecting to Wifi but a nice young man in the bar (another Mark) really tried to help but sadly the hotel was having a problem with access.
Obviously new to the area my husband asked where he could buy that nights lottery tickets. Customer service beyond the call of duty when lovely Tracy offered to get them for him and pop them back to the hotel (she was then off duty)! Wow what a lovely gesture.
Our two course meal with a free bottle of wine which was included in our deal was excellent and the service good.
My husband used the pool, sauna, steam room and gym which he said were all clean and well kept.
Yes some of the carpets could do with renewing and the TV's need updating but for the deal prices this is amazing value with wonderful staff and customer service thrown in!
When I read reviews in TripAdvisor that moan about staff and customer service can I just say that having spent our life in that industry, generally, if you treat people the way you like to be treated, smile and are pleasant, you, as a consumer, will usually reap the benefits ten fold!!
We would certainly stay here again if we are back in that area. Give it a try, I don't think you will be disappointed!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you taking the time to post your most pleasing review, and to hear you would certainly stay again

It was great to hear your kind comments about Mark, Mark and Tracy they will take great heart from your kind words, we do pride ourselves on the warm Derbyshire welcome we offer to all our guests, my staff will go out of their way to go above and beyond to ensure you have a stay to remember.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel sometime soon, when hopefully the new flat screen TV’s will have arrived


Kind Regards

Glynn Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, England.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here for a friend's wedding. Very good value with excellent breakfasts. We didn't use the pool on this occasion, but it looked lovely. Ideally located next to junction 28 of the M1, but rooms nice and quiet. Excellent value for money and better then expected.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review

It was pleasing to read your comments, and you got value for money with an excellent breakfast, we receive many positive comments regarding our breakfast offering how much choice and variety there is.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Derbyshire sometime soon when you can enjoy another excellent value stay

Kind Regards

Glynn Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Not the most attractive building, inside or out, but more than adequate for business travel.

Competent and helpful staff, and a comfortable bar area.

I didn't eat in the restaurant but the bar menu was varied and what I had was of good quality.

Rooms clean, well appointed and of a reasonable size.

Unexciting, but then which business hotel does set the heart racing!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments of our hotel

I am sorry you found the hotel to be unexciting we are one of the preferred business hotels in the area, we do pride ourselves on the efficiency and good service we provide for our conference clients

I am pleased you found it to be adequate for business travel, rooms clean and well appointed and a good size, we also offer some very good value deals for our Leisure guests.

I do hope you choose our hotel for a leisure stay when you next have occasion to return to the area we are close to some wonderful local attractions

Kind Regards

Glynn Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Derbyshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derbyshire Hotel

Address: Carter Lane East, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > South Normanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Normanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Derbyshire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-friendly and very comfortable, you'll feel relaxed from the moment you arrive. Near the heart of the Peak district where you will find delightful walks and spectacular views. Chatsworth House, fun-packed thrills of Alton Towers, and extensive shopping at East Midlands Outlet are all nearby. Enjoy our modern gym, indoor pool, spa bath and optional health & beauty treatments. Beautiful suites available for meetings and events, from conferences to weddings. If you are planning a trip abroad, the hotel is just 30 minutes from East Midlands Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Derbyshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derbyshire Hotel South Normanton
Derbyshire South Normanton
The Derbyshire Hotel South Normanton, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Derbyshire Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.