We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service, intimate atmosphere and fantastic Rehrücken” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schloss Brandis

Schloss Brandis
Maienfeld CH-7304, Switzerland
081 302 24 23
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Maienfeld
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
MILANO
Top Contributor
318 reviews 318 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Wonderful service, intimate atmosphere and fantastic Rehrücken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Been there for Friday dinner (26 October 2012). Schloss Brandis is a fabulous restaurant in Maienfeld. It features an amazing menu as well as a great range of wines. Wonderful service, intimate atmosphere and fantastic food. Menu was absolutely fantastic, far exceeded expectations and we enjoyed every dish, exquisite flavours and textures. Try the Rehrücken „Schloss Brandis“ mit Pizokel mit Steinpilzfüllung (Rehrücken means venison tenderloin, served with freshly made noodles such as pizokel and very nice gravy based on a dry red wine). Enjoy it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    11
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A lovely lunch, a beautiful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Maienfeld is a small town in the wine triangle near Landquart, so it was not surprising to find a varied and excellent wine card. The varied menu was a surprise, including excellent choices for vegetarians. The "Ritteraal" is a charming room, (even though n the display of orchids is plastic!). Everything else was classy and fine. Goos service, excellent meals, the ambiance - it all added up to a great lunch. My one tiny, niggly criticism was that the red cabbage was sooo salty, but perhaps that is just a matter of taste. I loved my dessert too: prune parfait with vielle prune liquer. A fine end to a delicious meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Dining at "Brandis Castle" in Swiss Wine-country”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Dinner at the Swiss vineyards 20 minutes from Vaduz Liechtenstein in a castle restaurant at a place called "Schloss Brandis". The clientele were generally well-dressed - more like "people in the know" (as the venue is "off the beaten track" as it were) and also bosses treating their staff, or business diners.

The food was excellent and done with French influences (read this as smaller but more delicately prepared portions than what you have been eating generally in Switzerland).

The menu was varied and also had a special focus on seasonal fare - I went for the asparagus and a pork dish, with a berry fruit salad and local wine. My colleague opted for the veal in a creamy sauce, another signature dish. The dining room was mediaeval with 4 metre high ceilings, stonewalls, and oak wood rafters. Perfect!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Magical Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

10 of us traveled to Switzerland and spent 2 nights in Maienfeld. Overall, we were somewhat dissapointed in Maienfeld, but the one thing we were NOT disappointed in was our dinner at Schloss Brandis! On a whim we decided we needed a nice meal all together and made reservations here. The place is beautiful, the food is wonderful, and the staff is fantastic. The meal was pricey for our standards, but reasonable for Switzerland, and a deal for a place of this quality in Switzerland. Our tab for 10 came to 1000 francs - but that did include considerable wine.

I would reccomend that anyone who wants something different enjoy a meal here. The setting is an old castle - the lighting was gorgeous. Most guests were dressed up a bit, however, we were not and no one blinked an eye when we showed up in capris and t-shirts.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schloss Brandis also viewed

Maienfeld, Canton of Graubunden
Jenins, Canton of Graubunden
 
Maienfeld, Canton of Graubunden
Bad Ragaz, Canton of St. Gallen
 

Been to Schloss Brandis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schloss Brandis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.