We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotel in Gangtok for a reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Central

Save Saved
You added Hotel Central to your Saves list
Hotel Central
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Opp. Super Market | 31-A, National Highway, Gangtok 737101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 74 hotels in Gangtok
kolkata
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best hotel in Gangtok for a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

I have stayed in the hotel earlier also when i went on business trip . But this time it was a leisure trip fo rme. Clean and spacious rooms with freshly cooked food in the dining was the main attraction for me and also Kunchenjungha view , it was great. Location was also very advantageous . I would recommend this hotel strongly even this is a quite old property but cleanliness really attracted me.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    2
    6
    5
See reviews for
12
4
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

All the facility are below average,only plus point was its loacation.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

The staff did not care if we needed anything. No drinking water avilable. Only good thing was the view.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

We had made our bookings online at the last moment, and were in for a really pleasant surprise when we found that the hotel delivered all that it had promised, which is something to be really appreciated.
We got real value for money, the service and staff were excellent and they made our stay in Gangtok enjoyable.
The view from the room wasn't too good but it didn't actually matter though, as we were out the whole day, enjoying the bounteous views sikkim has to offer.
But location was central and good and easily accessible . Maybe that's why it's called Hotel Central!
All in all we had a wonderful and satisfying experience.

  • Liked — cleanliness, courteous and efficient staff
  • Disliked — Not very spacious, manageable though
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2007

i was on honey moon trip of north east india, though this hotel claims to have three star facility but its no where 2 star, location of this hotel is central, but no parking space, loom was spacious, window of my room opens in the backside of hotel with a view of filthy drainage. my wife gave her dress for ironing & it was burnt. food was not so good. over all very bad experience.

  • Liked — room was spacious & bathroom was clean
  • Disliked — poor tv transmission
  • Stayed January 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Address: Opp. Super Market | 31-A, National Highway, Gangtok 737101, India
Location: India > Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 74 hotels in Gangtok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Gangtok. The capital of Sikkim, 120 kms from Bagdogra Airport, 114 kms from New Jalpaiguri Railway Station. Near places of Tourist Interest and Shopping Malls.The hotel provides superior hospitality and is suitable for both the business travelers & tourists, promising an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Central Gangtok, Sikkim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.