We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Plaza

Save Saved
You added The Royal Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Royal Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Upper Syari, Deorali, Gangtok 737102, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 74 hotels in Gangtok
Shillong, India
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is a nice hotel to stay. It was highly rated when it was new. The rooms are good and warm. The breakfast buffet is well spread with a lot of variety. The Ropeway to the mall is also nearby. The staff are very courteous and soft spoken. Unfortunately I had caught a fever during my stay, hence was not able to check out the property throughly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    47
    19
    13
    12
See reviews for
44
30
6
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I was on a personal trip and stayed for 3 nights with my family. The overall experience was good. Nice variety of items at breakfast and dinner. The rooms are big but no valley view from there. This hotel is away from M G Road. Room servive was prompt. There is a casino also where you may spend time in the evening.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

I was on a business trip and stayed here for 3 nights. This was supposed to be one of the best hotel and considering the rates, we were expecting much but were hugely disappointed. The hotel is away from the mall road and claims to have valley facing rooms but there is hardly any good view from the room. It was very difficult for the receptionist to understand our requirement. The room is big, but quite old and dull. Hotel looks very old with smelly carpets. Service is very slow. Restaurant is small and food is very average. Very limited spread in breakfast. Overall a very average stay.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

There are two wings to the hotel, perhaps the one where the hotel reception, restaurant, and casino(!) are located would have better rooms, but we were consigned to the other wing, the moment we stepped into the elevator we were overcome by the intense fumes of toxic mould mingled with bleach they have applied in a futile attempt to cover it up, the carpet in that elevator should just be removed and incinerated at once. The rooms were also mouldy - the bedding and all closets and cabinets emit those foul toxic fumes. The room otherwise looks quite nice in appearance and is well appointed. Hot water in the showers is available only between the hours of 6 to 9am and 6 to 9pm, the water pressure was actually quite good. The view from the windows of the restaurant is fantastic. Breakfast is ok, this is one of the few hotels I've found anywhere in India where real coffee is available, rather than nescafe, however they will not include the real coffee with the complimentary breakfast, only nescafe, if you want the real coffee it is "chargeable" and at about twice the rate as a cup of coffee at Cafe Coffee Day et al. (I'd encountered this same situation at another Sarovar brand hotel I'd stayed at before, in Siliguri). Finally, wifi was not available during our stay, the server was down or something, and they said we can use internet on their computer in the business centre, but only for 15 minutes, after which that too is "chargeable" (and it takes nearly the whole 15 minutes just to get online on their computer)

Room Tip: I don't know, but suspect that the rooms in the wing where reception, etc. are may be better. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The overall experience was good with good and prompt service , nice platter of food variety at breakfast and dinner........would have been better had the rooms had balcony and the hotel had activities
Best Experience: The service was good as they remembered all that was asked at time of reservation like extra bed, package of sight seeing etc..We had all variety of food but sikkim local food including local sweet dishes were also available at the buffet spread..and the chefs could make what was asked for...

Its little down from the main road and hence walking is little steep but you would enjoy as you get a taste of local living and the small shops ..the culture..enjoy

Room Tip: Rooms with a valley view...but little purpose as no balcony and there is wire mesh in front of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I am currently staying at this hotel. Though it calls itself a five star property, it keeps cutting corners by switching off air-conditioning at all times. For example, air conditioning was switched off during breakfast, during evening and even during the middle of night. You have to call them up again and again to get it switched back on. The club valley view room that I am staying in, is nice and spacious and the staff is also courteous. Overall, it doesn't deserve top billing as it is more focused on cutting corners than the comfort of its guests.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rameshwar J, General Manager at The Royal Plaza, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Mr. Agarwal,

Greetings from the Royal Plaza, Gangtok!

Many thanks for choosing to stay at the Royal Plaza - Gangtok!
At the onset, please accept my sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations on your recent visit to our hotel. Let me assure you that we have taken your feedback very sincerely and will not leave anything to better our services and live up to the esteemed expectations of our most valued patrons such as you, on your future visits. It is our endeavour at The Royal Plaza to provide our patrons seamless, convenient and the best of services.
However, at this occasion we have fallen short of your expectations. I urge you to give my team and me another opportunity to serve you.
We look forward to welcoming you at The Royal plaza Gangtok once again in not too distant future.

Warm Regards
Rameshwar Singh Jamwal
General Manager


gmtrp@sarovarhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

A very badly managed property. Although booked a month in advance we got a room facing a local building so very morning (even noon and evening) we would get to see their undergarments taking sun bath.
Service was absolutely terrible, and we complained we were told they are busy since hotel is fully booked.
Games room, activity room were all closed due to renovation. Food was horrible. This hotel was a big disappointment to our otherwise perfect trip to Sikkim-Darjeeling.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rameshwar J, General Manager at The Royal Plaza, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Greetings from the Royal Plaza, Gangtok!

Many thanks for choosing to stay at the Royal Plaza - Gangtok!

At the onset, please accept my sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations on your recent visit to our hotel. Let me assure you that we have taken your feedback very sincerely and will not leave anything to better our services and live up to the esteemed expectations of our most valued patrons such as you, on your future visits. It is our endeavour at The Royal Plaza to provide our patrons seamless, convenient and the best of services.
However, at this occasion we have fallen short of your expectations. I urge you to give my team and me another opportunity to serve you.
We look forward to welcoming you at The Royal plaza Gangtok once again in not too distant future.

Warm Regards
Rameshwar Singh Jamwal
General Manager


gmtrp@sarovarhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Royal Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Plaza

Address: Upper Syari, Deorali, Gangtok 737102, India
Location: India > Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gangtok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Plaza 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amidst such lush green hilly terrains, a breathtaking topography and misty mountains, emerges The Royal Plaza [A Sarovar Hotel] at Gangtok, the Capital of Sikkim. This luxury hotel is ideally located and one of its kind in all of Sikkim and the North East. The Royal Plaza aptly complements the exotic locale. It provides a magnificent view of a valley with a tributary of the Teesta River and an extension of the Khanchendzonga Range from the guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelBookers and Despegar.com so you can book your The Royal Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Plaza Hotel Gangtok
The Royal Plaza Gangtok, Sikkim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.