We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Comfort!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Khangchendzonga Tourist Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Khangchendzonga Tourist Villa to your Saves list
Khangchendzonga Tourist Villa
Barbing, Ranka, Gangtok 737101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 76 Hotels in Gangtok
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Comfort!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I visited Khangchendzonga Tourist Villa sometime back with my friends! I was on a project nearby and decided to stay in an offbeat location. Choosing this resort was the right decision! It's HUGE and we got ourselves their Duplex Cottages.

The food in Cave Cafe was delicious (The restaurant even has a water fall!)

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Choose Duplex Cottage! They are best (and private!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurindam, Public Relations Manager at Khangchendzonga Tourist Villa, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Sir,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our resort! Hope to have you with us again!

Regards
KTC Ranka Family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    6
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
16
2
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolimbia, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

It was an experience of a lifetime at this resort. Though the road from Gangtok to Ranka isn’t in good shape, it is still motorable. And thank God for small mercies, or else we would have missed out on this amazing place and hospitality. The food was awesome and the staff made us feel at home. I would say that anybody who wishes to keep away from the hustle-bustle of crowded Gangtok, this is the place to be. What I loved the most were the evenings when we would sit on the exclusive lawns of our cottage and sink in the surrounding beauty of this valley.

Room Tip: Try the split-level cottages. The spacious, has a mini bar and offers a fantastic view. You also get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurindam, Public Relations Manager at Khangchendzonga Tourist Villa, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Sir,

We are absolutely glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to have you with us again in the future!

Happy holidays!

Thanks and warm regards
KTC Ranka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We are so glad to have found these gem in the mountains. Khangchendzonga Tourist Villa has this village ambiance that really floored me and my family. The cave cafe, even though it's located a bit far from our rooms, we loved it as we had a lot of space to walk.

Where would you find such a huge property in Gangtok.

Advice - Take the route via Ranipool and NOT Gangtok as that route is bad. The road via Ranipool is in perfect condition as it's on the highway.

Room Tip: Try and get the E1 and E14 deluxe rooms in case you are a budget traveler. All the cottages are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurindam, Public Relations Manager at Khangchendzonga Tourist Villa, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Sir,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to have you with us again in the future!!

Regards
Team KTC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed there on 18th and 19th May. Fantastic infrastructure especially amusement park , laser Show etc. kids will love it.
Wonderful cottage. Bar and restaurant built on wildlife theme. unique and interesting.
Only negative that service is pathetic as no manpower. Only one or two attendants in whole resort. However the manager mr maitra is very friendly and accommodating . So 4 **

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurindam, Public Relations Manager at Khangchendzonga Tourist Villa, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Sir,

We are absolutely delighted to have received your review! We are so glad that your kids loved their stay! We hope to have you with us with an even-larger group on your next vacation!

Thanks and warm regards
KTC Ranka Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, Rajasthan, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed here for 2 days and found the hotel to be excellent in terms of value.The service was also excellent.The manager Mr. Aurindham is very nice man,he phoned us many times and asked if we had any problem and also located us the way to the hotel.He is a gem for the hotel.The only problem was that there was no room service.The restaurant the cave cafe was very nice.The views were great from the resort.The downside is the location far away from gangtok and not nice way to it.We also enjoyed lots of rides.

Overall i recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurindam, Public Relations Manager at Khangchendzonga Tourist Villa, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Sir,

You are just too kind with your compliments! We are absolutely delighted to have you with us and hope to bank on such wonderful reviews! Service has taken a hit owing to short staffing and we are trying to hire new people as we speak.

We originally wanted the resort to be nearer to the the main city but there wasn't any land available. That's when Sikkim govt advised us to take up the amusement park-cum-resort project. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us in the serenity of Mother Nature and believe to have you with us again!

Regards
KTC Ranka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howrah, West Bengal, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The location of the KTC was superb along with an amazing view of Gangtok city at night, but rooms are very small with very poor room service. In our room, there was no space to move. Distance of the restaurant from the room was too far. Food was good and the ambiance of the restaurant was also very attractive. The road journey from Gangtok to the resort was horrible.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurindam, Public Relations Manager at Khangchendzonga Tourist Villa, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Ma'am,

Thank you so much for the kind words! We apologize for the inconvenience caused to your family. Our deluxe rooms are 550sqft and are fully furnished, thereby reducing the space for you to move. We are currently running low on staff and are in the process of hiring more people.

We are so glad that you liked the restaurant ambiance and food. The road from Gangtok to Ranka is in a bad state owing to the mountain-carpeting that the Sikkim govt is carrying out to prevent landslides due to frequent earthquakes. Road condition can get better only when the carpeting is completed. We are in touch with the govt 7 days a week to get any update.

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We value customers like you who give an honest opinion! We hope you liked our Amusement park and would like to visit again!

Thanks
KTC Ranka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

No doubt, location is very beautiful but there are lack of professional service. There was no room service even we struggle for water bottle. Quality of food is not good even charges were very high. After covering long distance one reach restaurant and wait for more than one hour for service but there are no other option as this is only place for fooding.

Room was clean but not spacious. Mr Maitra is friendly and cooperative but at last service required. Children enjoy the stay.

Room Tip: "All rooms are neat and clean"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurindam, Public Relations Manager at Khangchendzonga Tourist Villa, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Mr. Bubna,

We apologize for the inconvenience caused to your wonderful group.

Our eco-village resort is located 40 minutes away from the main city of Gangtok. Hence, our staff have to leave early, thereby reducing the number of people present at the resort after 8.

As for the distance, well, our resort is built out of 3 sides of a mountain. The 16-acre property had a serious landscaping problem, thereby resulting in the placement of our restaurant a bit further down.

As for the problem with the water-bottles, there was a miss-communication between you and the Stewart who was assigned to you. You, apparently, didn't ask for the bottles upon being asked. The delay didn't last long for more than 15 minutes. Again, we deeply regret the inconvenience caused to you, Sir.

Regarding Deluxe rooms, we advised you long before you made the reservation that the rooms are just 550sqft and can only accommodate 2 adults and a child below 7. We, hence, gave you a complimentary deluxe room to ensure that your limited-budget stay was as comfortable as possible.

We are so glad that your children enjoyed their stay! Thank you so much for the kind words! We hope to see you again with us!

Regards
KTC Ranka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Khangchendzonga Tourist Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khangchendzonga Tourist Villa

Address: Barbing, Ranka, Gangtok 737101, India
Location: India > Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 76 Hotels in Gangtok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 15 kms from Gangtok spreading over sprawling 16 acres of land, our Tourist Villa at Ranka is ready to welcome you. Here is what is waiting for you at Kanchendzonga Tourist Complex --)10 luxurious tourist villas of traditional Sikkimese architecture-) In-resort amusement park with multiple rides, simulators, water chutes-) Musical fountain and laser shows-) Children's park-) Forest themed Restaurant and bar facilities-) Villa Club including bowling alley, indoor swimming pool, multi-gym-) Open-air theater for cultural programs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Khangchendzonga Tourist Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khangchendzonga Tourist Villa Gangtok, Sikkim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khangchendzonga Tourist Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.