We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will come back again and again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gangtok - Delisso Abode, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Gangtok - Delisso Abode, A Sterling Holidays Resort to your Saves list
Gangtok - Delisso Abode, A Sterling Holidays Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   NH 31 A, Development Area | Near Secretariat, Gangtok 737101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 77 Hotels in Gangtok
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“I will come back again and again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were very tired on our drive up frm Bagdogra and were delayed by a couple of hrs due to traffic jam. The front desk called us and handed to the chef for us to let him know what would we want to have when we reached. I loved the gesture.
The stay was awesome...lovely lovely people! Great view from the room, has a decent enuf bar! The rooms are same as they are on the website:) which was awesome! I am posting some more too. The girls at the front desk are very friendly and sweet.
In all I had a wonderful stay in Delisso abode and I am very happy that Mr. Pallab Bhattacharya frm Nature beyond selected this for us!!

Room Tip: Room 204 and 203 will give you an astonishing view of the Kanchenjunga!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    25
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
28
24
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

The Delliso Abode was our first halt during our travel in Sikkim and Darjeeling.I was accompanied by my grandfather, sister,brother and my auntBy the end we realized that It was the best of all the hotels that we went to!
The hotel is new and comfortable but what makes it so pleasing is the warmth, care, courtesy and the love of the staff. The waiters,room-keepers and everyone else working there is well trained. I found the dining staff and the manager exceptionally thoughtful of us...they were also very friendly! So much so that we will always look forward to meet them again.

Room Tip: As the hotel is new...no doubt all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajkot, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We'd stayed at Hotel Delisso Abode, Gangtok during 24-28th May, 2012. After a tiring journey of 4 and half hours from Bagdogra to Gangtok, it was a nice relief through a warm welcome and seamless check in at Hotel. This hotel is located at a walking distance of 500 mts. from a happening place like M.G.Road. Though its away from a noice and crowd since its at a significantly isolated. In Particular Mr. Diwakar, GM of hotel is a gem of a person with an excellent carring nature and courtesy. Mr. Diwakar has helped us a lot in arranging local sight seeing and a hotel at Darjeeling and Bagdogra also (With a very sincere efforts as most of the hotel were booked due to heavy rush) Hotel offers a very nice restaurent with a variety of foods in best of its hygeine. Availability of hot water through out the day was another big plus. Again its located at very safe place with good localities around. I think this is the best available hotel at the heart of the city. Don't surf the web and travel portals just book it and have a peace of mind ! Mr. Divakar is an encyclopedia of Sikkim/Darjileeng and always on toe to help you out.

Room Tip: Try to book the hotel directly rather than getting into through travel portal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

This is one of the few places in India that could be called a true five star experience. The staff is beyond excellent, the rooms are large with real down comforters, flat screen tvs and the maid service is excellent. The restaurant is good and convenient although a little pricy for the area as to be expected. If you are going to this area of the country it is beautiful, but bring an umbrella as the weather is quite inclement!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehradun, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Though still a less known name in the hospitality industry Delisso Abode is sure to carve out a prized place for itself very soon; kudos to its well trained, pleasing and courteous staff.

The location itself is mind blowing and one can enjoy the majestic and beautiful view of Kanchanjanga right from the room or the dining hall; perfect breakfast with mighty Himalaya in front of you.

The rooms are cosy and well furnished.

Services are prompt and efficient. The food and breverages are delicious and well served.

Perfect place to stay in Gangtok.

Room Tip: Choose the mountain facing room; one can enjoy the Himalayas from the privacy of one's room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Late April 2011, we planned for the trip at north east India. It was too late to get the booking in best ranked hotel but fortunately we got referred to this hotel as newly opened hotel by another very famous hotel group in this region. Though there was no review available, we referred their website and with few enquiry interaction with booking staff & hotel manager, found it worth to take the risk. Mr. Gurung, General Manager was very generous and went out of the way and helped us to set overall trip itinerary. Thank you Mr. Gurung!

When we arrived at the hotel, we were pleased with the warm welcome. From outside it looks two story small hotel, however it has got six floor as the hotel is built on the hill. It has got beautiful neatly maintained rooms with the view of kanchenjunga, but we decided to stay in non view rooms as it was spacious and with cozy interiors.

Hotel is conveniently located at 5 minute walking distance from the M.G. market.

We were four families in a group and stayed there for 1+3 nights. Food was excellent; staff very polite & caring, attention to every little detail was noticed. Hotel also provided concierge facility for the extra luggage which we did not wanted to carry for our visit to Lachung.

It was amazing experience and we strongly recommend it to everyone!

KS

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDelissoabode, General Manager at Gangtok - Delisso Abode, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2011
Dear Mr Ketur Shah,


Thank you for your extremely valuable feedback. It has been a pleasure to have you stay with us along with your family.
We take pride in looking after not only couples as guests but also families especially with young children. It’s such a pleasure to make our little guests happy and see them smile. We hope to see you very soon staying with us again.
As you have rightly mentioned the hotel being only 5 minutes away from the main city MG marg, and relaxing atmosphere provide an idyllic retreat from the hustle and bustle of the tourist trail is more than welcoming.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back so you can once again enjoy our extra mile services, beautiful view along with the dining experience in our Fine dining multi cuisine restaurant.

One again thank you from all of us for taking time to write about our humble abode. Your feedback indeed is a complement for our entire team as we work together hand in hand to anticipate guest needs and ensure guest satisfaction at all times.

Thank you and regards

Diwakar Gurung

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Holland
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Just a few months old, we were the second group visiting here. The staff goes out of its way to be helpful, and their hands show in every aspect of the hotel. The warm welcome on arrival was a nice surprise. The rooms look renovated, and it is clear much thought was given to each detail. The beds soft and cosy, all very clean. The shower had the ability to get cold the minute I got soaped and shampooed, but this happened in all India. As the water was hot in the sink, I managed somehow.
Dinner was new for the staff too, and it took a very long time before we got our orders. But it was all very tasty, and the service as personal as possible.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDelissoabode, Manager at Gangtok - Delisso Abode, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting this review and sharing your feedback regarding your stay at the Delisso Abode Gangtok.
Your compliments will definitely be shared with our team, as such flattering remarks continuously inspire us to do our utmost in everything that we do. As mentioned by you our rooms look renovated, which is not. we are newly open hotel in gangtok. at the moment everything is fresh and look rich as per our requirement to fulfill and satisfy to our valued guest.
Your recommendation of our property to other travelers is greatly appreciated.

With best regards,
Diwakar Gurung
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gangtok - Delisso Abode, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gangtok - Delisso Abode, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Address: NH 31 A, Development Area | Near Secretariat, Gangtok 737101, India
Location: India > Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 77 Hotels in Gangtok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gangtok - Delisso Abode, A Sterling Holidays Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Delisso Abode Hotel" emerged as prestigious and one and only tallest 3 star property in the heart of the most rapidly growing cities in Sikkim, its convenient location in the hub of the flourishing business district Gangtok and its timeless elegance makes it an Ideal destination for discerning travelers from across the world. A combination of professionalism and exclusively ensures that every individual is a treasured guest. The Delisso Abode, located above Sikkim Nationalized Transport office, established in 20th January 2011, The Delisso Abode means beautiful home away from home under the beautiful sky. The word has been derived from Latino version. Hotel is 124 kms away from Bagdogra airport, 124 km away from New Jalpaiguri railway station and bus stand (SNT) just nearby. The hotel is 8 kms away from Tashi View Point, 24 kms from Rumtek Monastry, 42 kms from Tsongo Lake, 56 kms from Nathula and 130 kms from Yumthang Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Gangtok - Delisso Abode, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gangtok - Delisso Abode, A Sterling Holidays Resort Sikkim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gangtok - Delisso Abode, A Sterling Holidays Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.