We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent for gangtok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pub 25

Pub 25
MG Marg, Gangtok, India
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 67 Restaurants in Gangtok
Cuisines: British
Good for: Bar scene
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Bangkok
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“decent for gangtok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The place is really done up nicely though the food is rather mediocre. The staff ... well, they're abit here and there. One guy was good but the others annoyingly kept watching some tv soaps and discussing it rather than trying to take our order. But apart from that, nice place.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    16
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sikkim
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“OMG..."tom yum" soup ...amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

ambience , gentle music, good drinks and the amazing THAI dishes. You who ever you maybe.. reading this review... am ready to wager with you on the flavorsome tom yum soup and the garlic rice . this is also a warm cozy place to take your date or a family ..i did and i am really happy that i did... check it out.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“MUST VISIT!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Pib25 offers wide range of Thai and Chinese cusine ... Food quality has improved drastically ...I was impressed with the herbs they had used in Thai food... It's a must try!! Environment is great.. Good music too!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A nice pub with extremely callous manager and very bad service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We (two couples) went on a holiday afternoon and had a decent time sipping on a bear with some snacks. There was no music and we were advise we could visit it at 9 in the evening for music or opt for there another restaurant close by for live band.

Next evening , when we (4 couples) decided to visit its live band restaurant only to discover it was all empty and no band except on weekends. Despite great cocktails and good snacks we got bored and were advised to visit the original pub 25 again at around 10:30 in the night. When we got there, the manager was reluctant to provide decent service, there was no ice available for the drinks nor sodas. The manager was very high handed and we would strongly suggest tourists to avoid this place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“AVOID AT ALL COSTS”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I recently visited Pub 25 and it was the worst experience I had in India.
My friend and I both ordered Spaghetti Napolitana . I sent mine back as it didn't even resemble any thing to do with tomato and the garlic bread it was served with was stale so I am unsure why they bothered. My friend ordered a Pina Colada and it came with no alcohol in it....very poor performance.
They also calculated the bill incorrectly I am unsure if this was on purpose or an accident, it was hard to tell. It took the waiter 3 times to get it correct.
Also the 15.5% VAT was a bit much in comparison to other restaurants in the mall.
Even if you are starving to death avoid at all costs.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pub 25 also viewed

 

Been to Pub 25? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pub 25, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.