We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very attentive, accommodating staff. (Be sure to advise them of your food preferences)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bamboo Retreat Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bamboo Retreat Hotel to your Saves list
Bamboo Retreat Hotel
Rumtek Block - Sajong, Gangtok 737101, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 77 Hotels in Gangtok
Vermont
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Very attentive, accommodating staff. (Be sure to advise them of your food preferences)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

(Note: Bamboo Retreat and is located in Rumtek not Gangtok as address above might imply)

Since other reviews have fully discussed the rooms and other amenities and the numerous photos give sufficient information, we thought we’d shed some light on the food here at Bamboo Resort. Our reservation included both breakfast and dinner.

Breakfast was made up of the usual suspects but with additional few nice touches - excellent muesli, Nutella and homemade peanut butter for the toast and very hot porridge, which we requested the night before. Our second breakfast included home baked muffins but no porridge because we forgot to order it in advance.

Dinner is served usually at 7:30, but the manager would have accommodated other timings if requested. Only one other couple was at the hotel during our two night stay, so there was no buffet as described on their website; rather we had a very nice sit-down set meal. Our first dinner included a stupendous amount of food. We were provided with a tasty soup of dried spinach, then a pork in gravy (this the manager, mysteriously identified as chicken), a “squash root” with peas that was virtually identical to aloo mattar, some sort of subzi concoction, and a thin dal, plus more rice than a human could contemplate and also chapati. We ordered beer which was not part of our included meal. For dessert we were given rice pudding, which we identified to the manager’s delight as kheer. We had already impressed him by asking the difference between aloo and squash root, and he said he’d try to show us a squash root the next day.

The manager had been most interested in our reaction to the food and was sad to hear we found it too mild. He explained, as usual, that they have to dumb down all their food for Westerners, and the next day he would try to have it be spicier. After dessert, we ordered a masala chai and a filter coffee (which was better than the powdered stuff but still pretty weak).

All during dinner the chief woman who had served as desk clerk and porter had been racing around getting bits and pieces for the room heater, which we had reminded them they had promised. After dinner we all traipsed up to the room for the installation. They tried to get it into one outlet, but there was not enough power there. They found a sufficient outlet, but there was some scary problem with the wiring that could only be solved when the male porter is called in to slide a thick coaster under the center of the machine. Finally the heater was alight. Problem was, we were left with one of those glow bar heaters that make a very bright light in the room, worse because this is shrieking white rather than the usual lurid red.

For breakfast the next day, the chef made an effort to spice up the masala omelet we ordered with green peppers taking heed of our comment that dinner was too mild. Our second dinner began with
with spicy tamater soup, then a very nice and zingy local chicken dish with no name, then rather bland bindi, interesting fern with fermented paneer, black dal, and rice. There was also quite a pleasant dish of fresh black mushrooms with cellophane noodles. We had a bottle of beer, but no coffee/tea afterwards. We finished the meal with some rather lame pieces of a frosted sheet cake – the cake was dry, the icing insipid, but it was pretty enough at the start.

Our room, by the way, was quite fine with a view towards Gangtok from our balcony. The only problem was that we were clouded in most of the time we were there and only had a clear view for a very brief moment in the early evening as the lights came on in the city across the way. There are only ten rooms in all, ours was Mandarin one flight up. The large hallway had several common rooms off of it including a TV room with DVDs, which we did not bother with, and a meditation room. We did take advantage of the filtered water and tea/coffee provided on a large table at the end of the hall. I recall there was a bowl of fresh fruit in the room - apples and oranges and a package or two of bikkies.

There were some electricity issues here besides finding an adequate outlet for the room heater: the lights flickered, enough to drive one mad, when the generator was running and the generator seemed to be running a lot, but thank heaven they did have a generator.

When we left the manager, and the entire staff from the chef and cook, to the woman who hauled our luggage, and the waiter, they all walked down the stairs with us and stayed in the parking area until we drove away, waving goodbye as we leave. It was a very sweet touch. Other reviewers mention the owners, who unfortunately were not in residence during our stay, but the manager and his staff were quite attentive to all our needs. It should be noted that because the weather was damp during much of our stay, the stone stairs from the hotel to parking area below were quite slippery to the point of being dangerous. The road from Gangtok to the hotel, however, has been upgraded and it was surprisingly short, mostly uphill through pretty country.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
16
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nagpur, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Bamboo Retreat for 3 nights in November'12 and fell in love with the place. We stayed in the Blue Poppy Room and the Bamboo Room. Each of the rooms in this retreat is based on a theme which is carried to the last detail.
The caretakers are warm, sweet, sincere, enthusiastic and generous. They make it difficult for you to leave the place....you just want to stay and enjoy the experience. The fireplace is lit in the evening and you can just be there with soup, or a drink, a book, or be by yourself.
We were treated to delicious sikkimese vegetarian cuisine on special request. Herbal bath felt like heaven.....
The place is beautiful, clean, well maintained. We loved walking in their organic farm and garden. There is love and peace in the atmosphere.
We also used their meditation room extensively.
Our best wishes to them ....and hats off to Helen for having created this wonderful place. We will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bambooretreat, Owner at Bamboo Retreat Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you very much for your feed-back! To us at Bamboo Retreat we regard our guest's positive feed-back as the highest reward! Thank you and we look forward to hosting you again!
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, null, Nepal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

"It was a great experience during our 3 nights stay @ Bamboo Retreat between 15th Sep to 18th Sep 2012 . It is located in a serene environment surrounded by paddy fields and garden ; with fantastic panoramic views of Gangtok across the valley.Massage therapy by trained ayurvedic doctor and his assistants , yoga- & meditation classes and cultural programs or village walks can also be booked.Fresh herbs from the garden are used for the herbal bath .We were very luck enough to experience a unique sikkim-style hot-stone bath which was a life time experience to us. But for enjoying and experimenting this Sikkim hot stone bath a prior notice to the Hotel is required,as the people over there has to do some preparation for the same. Great Food, good quality, nice ambiance, great people.Highly recommendable place for those searching for a place to relax, away from the hustle and bustle of the city.”

Sumit K. Arora & friends

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had a great time in Rumtek / Gangtok. The hotel is very well designed and the rooms
were nice with the balcony facing mountains greenery all around, well furnished and clean.
The food, service and behaviour of staff is excellent.

This is the place you are at heaven of north east india.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

I went to Sikkim last June for a week... I have been welcomed at the Resort like in a family. Eccellent food, impressive location...a corner of Paradise...with a very well kept hotel.

Dhould anyone require some time off to rest, recharge the inner batteries and give their soul some time to enjoy in a peaceful place, this hotel is worth every cent spent. Actually, you will leave it, and think that you left with something extra offered: inner peace, harmony, and light.

Sikkim is magical per se, but to add to the experience...it takes the right hotel.

If you can, if you have time, if you are ready to relax like you never did before...book your Sikkim vacation at the Bamboo Retriet Hotel. You will love this!

Best, Carlotta Colombi
From Lugano, Ticino, Switzerland

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bambooretreat, Owner at Bamboo Retreat Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Bamboo Retreat's wellness- & workshop offers are now fully available. Try massage therapy (60 - -90 min / ayurvedic / thai or classic) or go for a private workshop on Yoga, Meditaion or Buddhist Philosophy. In collaboration with aneighbouring Lepcha-.village we also offer unique cultural experiences to our guests: take a guided village-tour, learn about the history and traditions of the indigenous people of Sikkim, meet the village-shaman and lamas and enjoy folk dance and music performed by the village-youth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

A delightful very clean and well run hotel situated at the top of a hill with surroundng countryside views. Pretty, but basic, bedrooms and good food - served outside, weather permitting.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

Bamboo retreat is build like a Tibetan Monastery. It is beautiful and on a beautiful location. All rooms are different and I was very lucky to get the Bamboo room in light greens. Each front room has a balcony with stunning view over Gangtok, the valley and mountains. Service was excellent and great food! This resort is not in Gangtok, but in Rumtek, one hour drive from Gangtok. On walking distance from the Rumtek monasteries (2 hours hike) and Bobbita, a nice lady working in the resort walked with us to show us the way through the fields.
If you like some time off from the heat of the rest of India, this is the perfect place to go.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rumtek, Guest Relations Manager at Bamboo Retreat Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2011
Respected Madam
" Greetings from Bamboo Retreat. Thank you so much for your nice comments which we honestly appreciate and take the privilege and oportunity to write a response. It is our great pleasure to let you know that the Government has sanctioned the finance,to repair the road, which has already started with full swing. Now the distance from Gangtok to Bamboo Retreat will be only 30 minutes drive which we are very proud to let you know. We are really glad and proud to know that you had a wonderful stay with us and we look forward to hosting you in coming days."
With Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bamboo Retreat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Retreat Hotel

Address: Rumtek Block - Sajong, Gangtok 737101, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 77 Hotels in Gangtok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! Set in three acres of paddy fields and bamboo groves with wonderful views of the Himalayan mountains bordering Tibet, Bamboo Retreat is a quiet and interesting place to base yourself on your Sikkim explorations. We offers special and quiet accommodations in the midst of nature. Facilities: 15 individually decorated rooms with attached western-style bathrooms, diverse international and ethnic cuisines, workshops, meditation, herbal soaks and, upon prior notice, Ayurvedic massages on offer. The star of the house is a wonderfully authentic top floor meditation room, complete with traditional Buddhist altar and glass windows looking out to mountains. A perfect place for your own yoga or meditation practice, or an introduction to meditation can be arranged. Herbal Soaks: There's also a special room for herbal baths - soak in one infused with lemongrass from the garden, lit by candle light and with a relaxing herbal tea. Day Trips can be arranged to visit nearby Lepcha-villages, monasteries, lakes or view-points. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Bamboo Retreat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Retreat Hotel Gangtok, Sikkim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bamboo Retreat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.