We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent property a home away from home.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suhim Portico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Suhim Portico to your Saves list
Suhim Portico
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Helipad Road | Near District Administrative Centre, Gangtok, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #6 of 77 Hotels in Gangtok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
mumbai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“excellent property a home away from home.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

at the outset would like to thank the management for picking up excellent and experienced staff to manage the hotel.

the front office, food and beverage , room service left nothing to be desired.

the staff is very attentive and food cooked and served as per our choice.

we were highly impressed during our stay.

wishing the hotel all the best and success.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    82
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
95
91
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

Hotel offered personalised treatement and had excellent hospitality. New hotel on the block offered clean , large rooms with good facilities.
They also arranged for a personalised vehicle and a good driver to ensure our 9 day trip was completely comfortable.
The entire trip was planned by them and the itineary was planned in sucha way that we could cover maximum of Sikkim and visited right places at right time. Since we didnt plan with any travel agents and directly aligning with them gave us a real good deal.
The entire staff was very cordial and helpful.
One thing if asked what they can improve further would be a difficult question but with some thought i would suggest they can better the food quality.
Overall one of the best and memorable stays.
Strongly recommended
Rachna Chaitanya Seth.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

we were extremely glad to have chosen Suhim Portico for our stay in gangtok
there were few parameters about the place that makes them special and different
- very friendly staff / manager and the owners
- great and quick services
- cooperative with one's needs and queries
- extremely hygienic
- located a little away from center still very connected
- the arrangements made by them for traveling and sight seeing were perfect
- being a relatively new hotel - its extremely well equipped with an interesting boutique and spa coming up
we cant wait to go there again very soon!
thank u for making our honeymoon so special in your own sweet way!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panipat, India
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

Vinay Dhamija,Panipat:
I was offered this property by travel agent when I told him my requirements of stay and I found it worth to stay.you don't feel you are away from home.Excellant hygine,clean and well maintanied property,well behaved staff,excellent food.What else you want?The rooms are very well maintained and clean.Room service excellent.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

Great room with lots of space. Maintained very well. The food and beverage in charge, Mr Thapa takes excellent care. The personnel are friendly and takes good care of you. The food was good. Could be made excellent.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

The hotel is the second best in Gangtok.

Good service, location and food.

Interesting shopping. Even a couple of pubs!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

The first room we got just thrilled us as we got in. It was spacious, smartly decorated. I liked the wooden wall kind of thing in the middle of the room on which the LCD TV was installed. The corner table for work came in quite handy since I had a couple of office work related phone calls chasing me on vacation. The sitting area was also well appointed.

We also had the second room, for children. It was smaller, but was also tastefully done. So overall, I would rate the rooms very good. Bathrooms were good. Hot water always available - you have to be sure to turn on the geyser!

Restaurant was good, and the food enjoyable. However, for three days getting almost the same menu at breakfast was a bit tiring.

The hotel is located slightly away from the center (MG Rd/Mall) of the city, on the way to the private helipad. So, one has to depend on the taxis for to & fro. This can lead some interesting experiences, especially for returning back to hotel after a dinner on the Mall - be sure to carry the business card of the hotel!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suhim Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suhim Portico

Address: Helipad Road | Near District Administrative Centre, Gangtok, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gangtok
#4 Business Hotel in Gangtok
#7 Family Hotel in Gangtok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Suhim Portico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suhim Portico is ideally located, a new landmark in the hospitality sector in Sikkim. A three star classified luxury hotel. Besides the aesthetic architectural structure, the hotel edifice is indeed a fusion of Sikkimese & modern craftsmanship a rarity in the hills. Suhim Portico is known for its simple Sikkimese hospitality. We have different categories of luxury rooms to cater to different tastes and blends. The rooms have been divided into superior deluxe rooms, premier deluxe rooms, portico suites & presidential suite. We have also Honeymoon Suites to regale the newlyweds. A multi-cuisine restaurant, conference hall with all its gadgetry has a seating capacity of 100 people. It has been ornately created with a vision to host business symposium, seminars, weddings and all other activities of human interest. The property has a boutique with well stocked Sikkimese handmade material on sale. The approach road is free of bottlenecks & open to free vehicular movements at all times. Helipad is only two kms away from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Suhim Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suhim Portico Gangtok, Sikkim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suhim Portico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.