We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Himalayan Retreat

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gangtok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Himalayan Retreat
Save
You added Himalayan Retreat to your Saves list
Dr. Ambedkar Road | Near Tamang Gumpa, Gangtok 737101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 77 Hotels in Gangtok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

I had been to this Hotel in November, 2011. I had selected this hotel by reading a review on TA. I found it very good value for Money. It is ideal for budget travellers. It is little away from the main Bazar area but the view of the valley from the room is breathtaking. When I reached Gangtok, I telephoned Mr. Bishnu and he immediately sent a hotel staff to receive me at the taxi stand.The staff was good and cooperative and smiling. The manager Mr. Bishnu too was good. He allowed us to use computer and internet absolutely free.

Room Tip: Last rooms on first and second floors overlooking the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    20
    7
    7
    2
See reviews for
28
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed in this hotel earlier this month when we were in Gangtok for 3 nights. The only low side of this hotel is that it is away from the main market area otherwise we cannot think of any complaints at all. The room we had was very spacious, had amazing views from the rooms, there was 24 hours hot water facility and the staff is so accommodating. The prices for this hotel are very reasonable as well. The food they cook is very delicious. They can also arrange for a vehicle which is very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: The executive room is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veraval, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

we stayed at this hotel for 2night during 28 to 30 october 2011,the hotel is located at district court road, it is having open space with garden in front.Rooms are spacious, with hot water 24 hr and big size bed in double bed room.Specially the manager Mr. BISHNU RAUL(m----------------) is good and helping hand. He managed our whole tour of NATHULA, LOCAL SIGHT SEEING and WEST SIKKIM- PELLING at very affordable rate with good quality. The food is so homely.Linen is neat and clean.bath rooms is clean.

Room Tip: all rooms are good , you may select rooms on 2nd floor for good arieal view.Also ask the manager for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asansol, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

We had planned a Sikkim trip and was in search of a hotel when we came across this one. The Manager of the hotel (Mr.Bishnu Raul) has a pleasing personality and is helpful in all respects. Located in the Upper Sichey area of Sikkim this hotel really provides a tremendous view of the entire Gangtok. The double executive rooms are spacious and would easily fit into everyone's budget. The hotel atmosphere as well as the food is extremely homely and one would feel at home. The rooms are cleaned daily and the toilets are extremely neat and tidy. The peaceful surroundings of the hotel and the warm response of the hotel staff makes it the most preferred choice. No advance money is required for making bookings. A word of mouth by Mr. Bishnu is sufficient. The transportation from Bagdogra airport to hotel is arranged by hotel's manager provided you inform them about your flight details. All local sightseeings including North Sikkim visit, Darjeeling tour along with accommodation are all arranged by Mr. Bishnu. Just reading reviews won't be sufficient until one experiences the visit to the Hotel. We would definitely come back here next year.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Himalayan Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Himalayan Retreat

Address: Dr. Ambedkar Road | Near Tamang Gumpa, Gangtok 737101, India
Location: India > Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gangtok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Himalayan Retreat and Resort is located in the lush green hilly surroundings, one the most picturesque spots in Gangtok. The Resort offers the best in comfort with extra large bed & large view rooms.The Resort has a private garden in front. From guest room you can view the peaks of Himalayan Mountain to breathtaking view of snow peaked mountains. It’s away from hustle bustle of the crowd. But still near the main town.Along with free WIFI & desktopp Internet access,car parking, hot water, and delicious dishes available round the clock. we offer all kind of support for transfer, tour & sightseeing to our valued customers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Himalayan Retreat Gangtok, Sikkim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Himalayan Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.