We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sunway GRT Grand Pondicherry

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Sunway GRT Grand Pondicherry to your Saves list
The Sunway GRT Grand Pondicherry
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   155/D,100 Feet Road,, Pondicherry 605004, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Pondicherry
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 days and nights....
A big thanks to trip advisor as well...the reason why i choose to stay at this hotel.
Mr.Rajoo's reply for the below comment aided me in booking this hotel in their website for 2 nights at a price of one night-- for the executive room... believe me that deal is really wonderful and was real value for money..

Pro's
1) Rooms are in excellent condition - infrastructure great
2) Attitude of the staff is really wonderful ..must say...this is the one point missing in most of the other Indian hotels... i was very impressed at courteous attitude of the FO people.restaurant staff and also the house keeping staff.. FO staff were very helpful..i wish i could mention the name of the staff who did my check in formalities..he was very helpful in few occasions of my stay...sorry couldn't ask his name...
3) Complimentary WIFI and it had a great speed as well.
4) Cleanliness of the hotel was very impressive...a word of praise for the house keeping staff
5) Buffet breakfast was excellent.. and was very happy with all the in room dining i did..
6) Overall i shall rate this hotel excellent

Cons - areas to improve
1) The regular room charges are pretty heavy.. not affordable to stay unless you have some reduction or offer as i got... in case you want to stay for one night only...then it is not affordable..even i am not aware whether they have any corporate rates as well...
2) Cable connection for the TV is old and slow..now a days all the hotels have moved on to DTH set top boxes..
3) I was perplexed as they charged for 2 pages of print out... which i felt a let down from the standard they have raised..

But overall i was really impressed with this hotel..
I would love to stay here again during my visit to Pondy..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRTHotels, General Manager at The Sunway GRT Grand Pondicherry, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Mr Anoop,

Greetings from the Sunway GRT Grand!

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel to stay. All your positive sentiments are really helpful to boost my team and they will be enthused as well. We at GRT always strive hard to satisfy every guest who visits as per our slogan "Promise of More". As per your suggestions we have floated some more packages for one night as well. We do have corporate discounts for regular companies as well. As mentioned by you, your feedback will be useful for all tripadvisor users. Please do visit our GRT hotels to enjoy the GRT hospitality.

Warm regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 90030 10137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    171
    49
    11
    0
See reviews for
172
86
9
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
1,207 reviews 1,207 reviews
153 hotel reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
609 helpful votes 609 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Although the location is not the best (being away from the historical French part of Pondicherry), the standard of the hotel is very decent for the price charged.

Clean room, functional breakfast, relatively quiet.

Swimming pool was fairly small but then you're not in Pondicherry to go swimming at the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRTHotels, General Manager at The Sunway GRT Grand Pondicherry, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel to stay. Shall pass on your positive sentiments to our who will be enthused to work more to satisfy more guest as per our slogan "The Promise of More". Please do visit all our hotel to enjoy the GRT hospitality.

Warm Regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 90030 10137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOSUR
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We two families booked to rooms in GRT pondicherry, their hospitality and rooms are too good, we have asked for interconected room, The one Mr.J.Vijay has told that he will try his level best, to our surprise at the time of check in we are alloted the interconnecting room in the ground floor,
The only point the hotel has to be improved is their variety in the morning buffet there are so many repeated items, due to this point iam giving very good and not excellent but the hotel is a value for money,
My childrens had enjoyed the pool also within two days a coach in the GRT (the person with white dress) taught the swimming and they also enjoyed it the coach is very soft spoken ad very nice guy
GO STAY ENJOY

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRTHotels, General Manager at The Sunway GRT Grand Pondicherry, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Mr Rajesh Pandian,

Greetings from the Sunway GRT Grand !

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel to stay. It was a great pleasure indeed reading your positive feedback. I shall pass on your positive sentiments to our entire team who will be enthused. Your feed back will be used to trip advisor users and also motivation to our team to do more as per slogan "The Promise of More". We at GRT always strive hard to delight every guest who visits properties. Please do visit our GRT properties to enjoy the GRT hospitality.

Warm regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 90030 10137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My elderly mother, her friend and I had to stop over in Pondy, but we didn't have a booking. We had previously stayed in GRT Kanchipuram and had been impressed by the property, amenities and service. In spite of the fact that we didn't have a booking, The Sunway GRT in Pondicherry welcomed us most graciously. The front desk manager noticed that I had a sore throat when I arrived, and within minutes one of the staff offered me a glass of hot water. It is this sort of thoughtful, considerate service that we experienced throughout. The room was spacious, with every possible facility one could expect in a 5 star. The Wi Fi in the room was fast, easy to set up and hassle free. Room service was prompt and the food was terrific! We had asked to woken up early the next morning, with coffee, and this was served promptly. All in all, a wonderful experience. This is the place to stay in Pondy! We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRTHotels, General Manager at The Sunway GRT Grand Pondicherry, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Mr Tashisho,

Greetings from the Sunway GRT Grand !

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel. It was great indeed to read your feedback in Tripadvisor. This is great motivation to my team and they will be enthused with your positive feedback. Your feedback will be useful to all the tripadvisor users as well. We at GRT always strive hard to satisfy every guest who comes to stay with us as per slogan "The Promise of More". We will be delighted to serve you in all our GRT properties. Please do let us know your schedule.

Warm regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 90030 10137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We took two rooms 201 and 202 as we had my old mom with us. 202, in particular, was elderly friendly and the toilet area had a 'grab rail' to help the elderly people take their shower without the fear of slipping or losing balance. The staff were A-rate, very courteous and always eager to please. The swimming pool is very very clean. I would say, go to this hotel if you have elderly people, ask for 202 and the 201 as these rooms have an interconnecting door. Four outstanding features - extremely helpful staff, very very clean rooms and swimming pool, world-class spa facility (i have been to most spas in India and elsewhere and Bodhi spa is comparable to the best) - if you are not sure of the western type of spa treatment, ask for Tridosha or Mohini which are based on ayurvedic style of spa and you will surely like it. Fourth and the most striking feature was upon arrival at the foyer when the hotel doorman helped my very old mother step on to a battery operated open lift (construction lift types) near the stairs to enter the reception. Wow! Thank you Sunway GRT Grand.

Room Tip: if you are travelling with elderly, then go for the rooms near the lobby. ask for swimming pool faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRTHotels, General Manager at The Sunway GRT Grand Pondicherry, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Mr Sundar,

Greetings from the Sunway GRT Grand !

Thank you very much for staying with us. It is really great indeed to read your feedback. We at GRT always strive hard to delight every guest as per our slogan "The Promise of More". We are really happy that we will be able to meet up to your expectation. Your positive sentiments will be shared to my team who will be enthused and it is a great motivation to my team to do more. Please do visit our GRT properties to enjoy the GRT hospitality.

Warm Regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 90030 10137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed for a night in November last year. Got a good deal being off season. The kids loved the pool, the staff were very courteous too. The comp. breakfast had an excellent spread. Though the hotel is a little away from the beach, it didnt really matter. It was better than booking a place which didnt provide safe car parking like the ashram guest houses on the beach road.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRTHotels, General Manager at The Sunway GRT Grand Pondicherry, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Greetings from the Sunway GRT Grand !

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel to stay. Your valuable feedback will be very useful to all trip advisor users and also a big motivation to our team. I shall pass on your positive sentiments to our entire team who will be enthused. We at GRT always strive hard to satisfy every guest as per our slogan "The Promise of More". Please do visit our GRT properties to enjoy the GRT hospitality.

Warm Regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 90030 10137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Me and my brother stayed in the hotel with our family for two days. It is one of the best hotel stays we had. The food was very good and service was also excellent. Kids enjoyed the swimming pool. The staff were very kids friendly.

If anyone is planning for a family visit, this is the best option.

Room Tip: We were two families and we liked the room connected by an internal door. This is in the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRTHotels, General Manager at The Sunway GRT Grand Pondicherry, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Mr Subhash,

Greetings from the Sunway GRT Grand !

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel to stay. Your feedback is very important to us to upgrade ourselves. Your positive sentiments will be passed on to our team who will be enthused. We at GRT always strive hard to satisfy every guest as per our slogan "The Promise of More". Please do visit our GRT hotels to enjoy the GRT hospitality.

Warm regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 90030 10137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sunway GRT Grand Pondicherry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunway GRT Grand Pondicherry

Address: 155/D,100 Feet Road,, Pondicherry 605004, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Pondicherry
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pondicherry
#7 Family Hotel in Pondicherry
#9 Business Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sunway GRT Grand Pondicherry 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is part of the GRT Hotels & Resorts who are leaders in the hospitality business in South India.The hotel is strategically located on the 100 feet road and just 02 kms away from the railway and bus stations. The convenience of its location is further enhanced with the facilities offered at the hotel that include: RA - Biggest shape outdoor swimming pool in town, Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel, Round the clock coffee shop - Open House that serves Buffet meals for all 03 sessions, a Multi specialty restaurant - Gardenia, Round the clock In room Dining, Asta Bar – Spirited Lounge, Business centre with meeting and board rooms and an elaborate convention facilities with halls from 1300 sqft to 4400 sq ft. In addition, the hotel can host outdoor functions in its lawn and pool side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Sunway GRT Grand Pondicherry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunway Grt Grand Pondicherry Hotel Pondicherry

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sunway GRT Grand Pondicherry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.