We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place but pricey...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sunway GRT Grand Pondicherry

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Sunway GRT Grand Pondicherry to your Saves list
The Sunway GRT Grand Pondicherry
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   155/D,100 Feet Road,, Pondicherry 605004, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Pondicherry
Bangalore
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“nice place but pricey...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Stayed with family and friends. Booked the room through web. When I called up the hotel was told booking on the web would give me better discount but was never informed about the Monsoon package which would have saved me more money. Also, this was not available on the net at the time of my booking.

The GRT room reservation website is not very great and I had to submit my details 5 times and only the 5th time it went through successfully. The website definitely needs some improvement.

Hotel is located close the railway station and we could locate it easily. Please note that none of tourist attractions or the beach is walk able distance from the hotel.

Check-in was fast and smooth. The front desk was not aware of my booking tariff details. There was small confusion but a lady at the desk checked the email confirmation I carried along with me and explained the tariff.

Though check-in time was 12 noon I was allowed to check-in more than an hour early. J

We booked 2 superior rooms and the rooms were of decent size with all the amenities though the AC was not very effective. Rooms are very clean and well maintained. Complimentary Buffet breakfast is served at 'Open House' the 24 Hrs Coffee shop with a live counter. The spread is good but the taste of some of the south Indian items is average.

The hotel also has a Ala carte restaurant ‘Gardenia’. Food is good but expensive. In general the service at the restaurants varies from excellent to average based on the number of guests in the restaurant.

Other Facilities:
- Average room service. Though I have specified for hot coffee it was still served warm
- Free wifi connectivity with decent speed
- Number of non-tamil TV channels was very less and also the cable TV reception was poor for the non-tamil channels.
- The swimming pool is just awesome. Well maintained and very clean. The attendant at the pool was very friendly and very helpful
- There is a nice and small play area for kids in front of the hotel which the kids enjoyed thoroughly. There is ample car parking space behind the hotel
- Hotel doesn’t have their own travel desk but have a tie up with Fast Track cabs. Though Fast Track is expensive they provided good service
- The person at the swimming pool was friendly and helpful though I don’t remember his name

Front desk and check-in : 3 / 5
Room size and comfort : 3 /5
Housekeeping: 4/5
Restaurant ambiance : 3/5
Food quality : 3.5/5
Restaurant Prices: Expensive
Restaurant Service : 2.5 – 3.5/5
Choice of beverages at the restaurant : 4/5
Swimming pool : 5/5

Room Tip: When you book room please check for any discounts or packages. You never know you may get deeper dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Sunway GRT Grand Pondicherry, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thank you for your feedback on your stay experience with us.

I have taken your feedback and shared it with our team to fine tune our operations.Your review was very helpful for us to bring in some process changes that would better our standards.

I am confident that we would be able to exceed your expectations during your next visit.

Warm Regards

CN Arun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    169
    48
    11
    0
See reviews for
172
86
9
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We utilized the monsoon offer at the Sunway GRT Grand between Pctober 21 and 23. From booking the room over the phone two days before the travel to being received at the reception, everything was very well executed. The service, food, ambience, pool, and room service was excellent. The pricing was just about perfect as the package covered two major meals over and above the complimentary breakfast - a true value add! I enjoyed my stay there with my family and will definitely recommend this place to my contacts. And personally, I will choose to stay at the Sunway GRT Grand on my next visit to Pondy as well.

- Ananth Premkumar

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Sunway GRT Grand Pondicherry, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear Mr. Premkumar,

We are delighted to hear that you had a great time at our hotel.

Thank you for taking your time to share your stay experience on TripAdvisor. We look forward to your future visits.

Best Regards

CN Arun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We had a very comfortable and memorable stay at Sunway GRT Grand this weekend. I took their monsoon package of 3D/2N and it was true value for money experience. The staff in particular was very friendly and helping. Buffet had a lot of variety and food was good. Rooms were clean and comfortable. We didn't face any issue while in the hotel. Will definately recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Sunway GRT Grand Pondicherry, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Thank you for taking your time to share your stay experience.

We are delighted to hear that we met your expectations and I hope to welcome you back with us on your future stays.

Warm Regards

CN Arun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stay one night at Sunway GRT Grand, food at the hotel was too good. Room was neat and clean. Swimming pool at the hotel is the best one. If we visit Pondicherry the first option will be Sunway GRT Grand only.....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Sunway GRT Grand Pondicherry, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Thank you for your recommendation based on your stay with us.

We are delighted to know that we meet your expectations and I do look forward to your future stays with us.

Warm Regards

CN Arun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Stayed with family and friends for two nights under their monsoon package between October 1st and 3rd. Booking was through telephone and was quick and easy.

Comfortable and clean rooms along with friendly staff made the stay a pleasant one. Nice swimming pool. Quality of food and the spread was good. The small play area at the entrance was adequate for toddlers and kids. Service in the restaurant however needs improvement. Seems to follow "Early bird gets all the food policy". Most of the food (breakfast and dinner) that was consumed at the counter were not getting replenished, service at the table needed repeated reminders (forks, spoons, drinking water, etc). Would definitely recommend the place for family for a weekend break.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Sunway GRT Grand Pondicherry, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Thank you for your review and feedback given.

We shall ensure that we fine tune our restaurant operations to meet your expectations each time you stay with us.

I look forward to your future visits to us.

Warm Regards

CN Arun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

I'm glad I stayed there. For the price, it is good value. It's clean. The breakfast buffet is adequate and good quality. The pool is also very nice, with great lounge chairs around it. But the morning we left my driver told me that he had slept in the car, because although the hotel has drivers' quarters, they were so dirty that he could not use them. So, if you are bringing a car and driver, I would take pity on your driver and avoid this place. Otherwise, it's good - but do be aware that it's not in the "French" section of town, so if that is what you are looking to see in Pondy, you'll have to travel to get to the French section.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Sunway GRT Grand Pondicherry, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

I have noted the feedback given to you by your Driver. Though we do have one of the best driver's rest room in town, it would have helped us if he had informed us of his inconvenience and we would be in a position to resolve the same.

All the same ,we shall ensure that we fine tune our operations to meet the expectations of each one who utilize our facilities.

Warm Regards

CN Arun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Rooms: Rooms are clean and well maintained. Overall cleanliness of hotel is really good. King size bed can accommodate 2 adult and a child comfortably. Rooms are well ventilated. At times, AC was little low.
Staff: Staff was very courteous and helpful. All the requests were promptly handled. Special treatment for kids was a pleasing surprise.
Food: Levish breakfast options gives a good start of day. Good mix of Indian and continental breakfast. Restaurant serves excellent food. Did not try room service.
Amenities: Swimming pool was very clean and well maintained. Pool side recliners was cherry on top. Life guard at swimming pool helped kids and maintained required discipline.
Location: Well connected to all tourist attractions and centrally located.

Overall, excellent family holiday.

Room Tip: Take a ground floor room for easy access to all amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Sunway GRT Grand Pondicherry, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We do look forward to having you back with us soon.

Warm Regards

CN Arun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sunway GRT Grand Pondicherry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunway GRT Grand Pondicherry

Address: 155/D,100 Feet Road,, Pondicherry 605004, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Pondicherry
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pondicherry
#7 Family Hotel in Pondicherry
#9 Business Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sunway GRT Grand Pondicherry 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is part of the GRT Hotels & Resorts who are leaders in the hospitality business in South India.The hotel is strategically located on the 100 feet road and just 02 kms away from the railway and bus stations. The convenience of its location is further enhanced with the facilities offered at the hotel that include: RA - Biggest shape outdoor swimming pool in town, Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel, Round the clock coffee shop - Open House that serves Buffet meals for all 03 sessions, a Multi specialty restaurant - Gardenia, Round the clock In room Dining, Asta Bar – Spirited Lounge, Business centre with meeting and board rooms and an elaborate convention facilities with halls from 1300 sqft to 4400 sq ft. In addition, the hotel can host outdoor functions in its lawn and pool side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Sunway GRT Grand Pondicherry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunway Grt Grand Pondicherry Hotel Pondicherry

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sunway GRT Grand Pondicherry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.