We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please don't go here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kailash Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kailash Beach Resort to your Saves list
Kailash Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Poornankuppam Village | Ariankuppam Commune, Pondicherry 605 007, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 60 Hotels in Pondicherry
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Please don't go here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We went on a 3 day long weekend to Pondicherry. The first day we stayed inside the City at a place called Ananda Inn which was an absolute super hotel to stay. The next day we checked in at Kailash Beach Resort. We checked in by around 4pm. We had booked 3 rooms and we got 2 rooms on ground floor and one room in first floor. So we asked if we could get all 3 rooms on the same level, the manager said only these are the available rooms, take it if u want or u can leave. Since we had booked it online through travelguru, we had no choice but to take the available rooms. Then we went into the rooms, we were in for as shock, the Beds were so hard, it was like stone bench. The bathroom had 50 year old fittings which could break any moment. There was no Health faucet and had to use tissues. The water flow in the bathroom was so slow that we had to wait for ages for the water to come, such low pressure. The Comode was in a pathetic state, some age old one with broken seat. Then the biggest of them all, the A/C is not working. It was not at all cooling the room. Only hot air was coming. Also there is no TV in the room, and the only thing u can do is Swim. The food is also damn expensive, for a dinner buffet the charge 600/= and that too not too many varities.
So we had go to the city which is 12km have food and come back to sleep in this dungeon.
Also for the price we paid, around 5600/- it was an absolute waste. Also the rating given I think it deserves only 0.5 star or no star rating.

So please stay away from this place if you want to enjoy a stay at Pondi. You can check other good hotels.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    65
    25
    11
    15
See reviews for
56
40
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Kailash Beach is an underrated property. Not hard to see why. it is in a unique space and cannot be compared to other flashy beach resorts (case in point - nearby Le Pondy!!). But it has an unmistakeable warmth about it. Very laid back,unhurried, sans a lot of creature comforts you would expect in a resort these days. Loved the open gardens,great pool and proximity to the beach. A bit pricey for what is on offer, but maybe so because we went during peak Diwali rush. Would recommend for family groups and people looking to get away from the city.

Room Tip: Go for the Villa if you are 6 or more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The resort website does not do justice to the place. It is much better than it looks like in the photos on the site. It is calm quiet and relaxing.
We where a group of 10 and had taken the private villa for a night.

Few points to note:
* Well maintained gardens and the villa is a separate compound within the resort with its own garden
* There are no TVs or fridges in the rooms, There is a common TV room.
* There are lots of hammocks around the resort if you want to just lie down and read.
* Service is a bit slow
* The food quality is good.
* Breakfast spread is not impressive.
* The pool in the private villa does not have any depth markers be a bit careful there.

Over all we felt that it was value for money compared to the charges for the other resorts in the area.

Room Tip: If you are going as a group of about 8 or more, book the private villa. It is like a private house w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We spent 2 days in the resort. In total maybe 5 clients in hotel !!!
the room was very nice, natural light, beautiful view on garden and pool.
Room cleaning was perfect.
Garden is well maintain.
the pool is big, clean, deep and also secure for children.
Staff concerning hotel part is friendly and effective (taxi reservation, advise etc..)

Staff at the restaurant is nice, friendly and absolutely none qualify. They are slow ( very very slow!) Have to repeat order again and again because they forgot, or they don't have this, that etc..
Food price is expensive, wine was out of date (but they still serve it), their champagne (new bottle) was also out of date.
The place itself is nice BUT NEED SIMPLY A GOOD TEAM.

The massage center is simply a joke....
The place is a mess, not cosy at all, staff not welcoming. Ayuverda massage must be done from male to male and female to female normally. We book for us at same timing (1h massage).
The guy want to do it on my wife and then to me, we refuse and then he called the lady massage....Oh and both are working in kitchen, restaurant... they are not massage therapist at all.
So we refused it and left the place.
Great mess when they are charging 2000 inr without tax..

Concerning the beach....like usual in indian's beach, they are used as a toilet. A 2 minutes walking was enough to see 1 guy defecate, to smell something... so come back to hotel

Definition of resort for me is : a nice place where you want to stay for relaxing and food.
Only relaxation was OK.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madurai, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Resorts is good and very clean. Room service to improve more, No one attend us to fullfill our requirement. There is seperated gate for beach with stipulated time, when cross the gate very worst enviroment, its seems like burial ground poojas area. Good swiming pool cleanly maintained. Inside the resorts campus maintance was good.

Room Tip: Room service can improve
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

To start with resort was good... out of city congestion.. beach was nice , private and clean compared to other beaches.. less curious onlookers... and the pool was fab... actually the pool was the best part of the resort... rooms are decent...

Now the grudges ,

Food is damn costly , gives a feel of foreigner in you.
Only buffet at night and that cost 600 without tax. Thanks for treating.
Food doesn't taste such good compared to the price. One piece fulka cost 25/= (Are we on Mars ?)
There is no nearby walkaway restaurant to avoid the hotel food.
Although mentioned , except one stone-age ill measured TT table , there are no other playing amenities.
There service reminds some scenes from the Laagan movie. 3-4 stuffs in the restaurant and all folding their hand and surrounding the foreigner table.

And Treatment..
We were served 3 complimentary chapathis right after our dinner was over.Their kindness and gratefulness almost brought tear in our eyes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This well placed beach resort is really the place to head to to just simply unwind! Their food is really good most of it is continental so if you like Indian food you might be disappointed. The beach is just a stone's throw from the resort and is a super place to take morning and evening strolls. stayed here for 3 days enjoyed every single day of the stay! And they have an Amazing pool as well for all day long dipping and chilling out!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kailash Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kailash Beach Resort

Address: Poornankuppam Village | Ariankuppam Commune, Pondicherry 605 007, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Pondicherry
#8 Spa Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kailash Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ancient fishermen hamlet of Pudukkupam established during the Chola period (IX-XII century) is located 10 kms south of Pondicherry city, in the Coromandel coast of the Bay of Bengal. Being near to the estuary of the Chunambar river and the Indian ocean it has a privileged ecological position, not far from the roman ruins of Arikkamedu, a port established in the first century of our era. It is between this hamlet and Pooranankuppam, the rice bowl of this region, that Kailash Beach Resort came up as the first establishment of this class in Pondicherry state. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Kailash Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kailash Beach Hotel Pondicherry

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kailash Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.