We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Great Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Du Parc

Save Saved
You added Hotel Du Parc to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Du Parc
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Jawaharlal Nehru Street, Pondicherry 605001, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
special summer offer
Ranked #13 of 57 hotels in Pondicherry
New York City
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“What a Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

Four friends and I spent four relaxing days at the Hôtel du Parc. The hotel staff, especially Ravi, Robert and Loganathan, were very kind and warm and made our stay most enjoyable. We felt more like we were visiting friends or family rather than staying in a hotel in a foreign land. And while friendly, the staff were always most discreet and aware of the needs of guests' privacy.

This restored 17th century colonial villa is small and has only ten rooms. It has a restaurant with tons of windows overlooking the small courtyard where you there is also an open-air balcony. The restaurant staff were kind, pleasant and accommodating, especially serving us past the normal hours on our arrival day. I appreciated the gentle and professional service of the manager of the restaurant (the fellow with the goatee).

The hotel’s central location is probably one of the best in the French Quarter. Hôtel du Parc is located one block from the Elephant Temple with a real live elephant, two blocks from the Sri Aurobindo Ashram, two blocks from an international ATM, three blocks from Bharathi Park and about four blocks from the beach. Nehru Street, where the hotel is located, has many shops, book stores, sweet shops etc. There is even a health food store about four blocks away. Although it is close to all points of interest, it remains a quiet and calm place. The manager pointed out to me that the windows have double-pane glass, which helps keeps out noise. The calm and tranquility of both the hotel and Pondicherry were a welcome relief from the hectic lifestyle of Kolkata, our previous stop. Pondicherry’s fresh sea air was incredibly refreshing!

The hotel has wired Internet access available at a dedicated terminal and has a wire available for laptops in its courtyard. I hooked up my laptop to the wire in the courtyard on several occasion and was never charged. In fact, the manager always came by to ask if I needed an extension cord for a power hook up.

One area I would recommend for improvement is the breakfast. It consists of either and Indian selection or an egg, toast and muffin offering. Fresh juice, coffee and tea are also included. On at least one day they ran out of muffins and on more than one occasion the service was a bit slow.

Overall, a highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    104
    27
    4
    5
See reviews for
58
101
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2008

Hotel Du Parc, Old French Building converted into an Heritage Hotel in heart of Pondicherry City, has all the flavours of great holiday.

Its just a few mtrs from the Ashram, very close to the main business streets of city yet is far from rush traffic. Also its just an walk away from the city beach and old light house. Really an Amazing Hertiage Hotel with all good things to say.

I have had a great time of my stay and enjoyed evry moment in the hotel. It has some great and yummy food at their resturant, the buffet dinner and open air sit out for dinner adds new zeal for an romtatic dinner.

It was a great service and amazing hotel recommending more of my freinds on the web to visit this place.

  • Liked — Hotel Ambeince and Service
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INDIA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2008

Incredible hospitality. This the second time in three months that we decided that we would like to spend our long weekend at Du parc. We did not want to even have a meal anywhere outside as the continental food there is something we did not want to miss. The Captain and the Chef were extremely careful to remember our menu that we enjoyed the previous time and though it was not on their list this time, they still made it a point to serve us what we had enjoyed. Though the property is in the middle of town, its amazing how quite and comfortable the place is.The staff at the hotel from the reception to the back end need to be credited. Above all, the Director of the hotel made time to have our sincere feed back and to share the plans that he had made for Xmas and New Year.

  • Liked — Everybody makes it comfortable and satisfying
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bali
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

stay here! Great service Great Rooms Great Location Awesome Manager named Leo

  • Liked — It is gorgeous
  • Disliked — restaurant service was terrible and very slow
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

Small and lovely hotel. This property was the French Governor's residence that has been converted with all modern facilities. The ancient charm is still present. Clean and neat rooms. Friendly and efficient staff. Has both an open air and closed restaurant. Food is good. Close to the beach and amenities of the town centre. Rooms have unique style and decor. Good value for money. An overhead balcomy has been constructed at half the height of an ancient mango tree. This area is also a dining area. Very romantic to sit on the balcony under the shade of the leaves and to sip your drink.

  • Liked — Modern amenities with ancient colonial charm.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2008

We found Hotel du Parc in Pondicherry by accident in December 2007 and liked it so much we stayed a week. The hotel is a recent conversion of the former French Governor's house from the 17th century. It has only about 8 rooms. There is a central courtyard with a 300 year old mango tree where you can dine or just sit around and relax. The rooms are comfortable and the staff very helpful and friendly. Free use of the internet and lots of helpful advice about places to visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2007

hi just had to visit pondicherry on a business trip and my friend had suggested me to stay in this new hotel which has come up.
I was amazed for the cost , the place was simply amazing. Neatly designed old colonial rooms with antique furntiure, good service and above all excellent food. It was also located close to the beach and it was easy for me to move.If anyone looking for a money's worth , should definitely try this place

  • Liked — clean , spacious and quiet rooms
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Du Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Parc

Address: 5 Jawaharlal Nehru Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 57 hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Du Parc 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Villa Selvom - restored as Hotel du Parc with close proximity to the beach and the Auroindo ashram, was built in the early 17th Century and was a part of Villa Aurome. It has served in the past as the residence of many French Governors including Dupleix. The Villa has been remodeled as a reflection of the colonial times. Nestled ingeniously between the mango and coconut trees, the hotel offers two exquisite Multi-cuisine restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, MakeMyTrip and Venere so you can book your Hotel Du Parc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Du Parc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.