We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice heritage hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Du Parc

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Du Parc to your Saves list
Hotel Du Parc
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Jawaharlal Nehru Street, Pondicherry 605001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 57 Hotels in Pondicherry
Europe
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
“Nice heritage hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Having lived in France for several years, we came to pondi to see its French heritage. At 5000 INR + tax, this hotel was a minor splurge for us but it did deliver.

We stayed in room 1- which has a mezzanine with an extra bed. Great for kids (provided they're old enough not to fall down the stairs as there is no guard rail). The room is very tall and tastefull decorated.

The entrance, courtyard and hallway are also very attractive and the French colonial touch has been nicely preserved.

Only drawback about the room: no windows that can be opened and quite a few musquitos (ask the staff to spray at night).

The location is excellent- walking distance to many sights. The South Indian veg restaurant across the street provides excellent food.

The reason I am not awarding 5 stars is that on two nights they had a buffet with live music in the courtyard. Given that all the rooms open onto the courtyard, this leads to a lot of noise.

One of these buffets was the christmas eve dinner which was mandatory for all guests at 1500 rps (a kind of christmas tax...). I thought the buffet was a public health risk and barely touched it. Lots of cold dishes that had been prepared who knows how long ago.

Breakfast was similarly uninspired. Not awful, but we've had much better on this trip. However, the location (under the mango tree in the courtyard) made up for it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    124
    30
    4
    5
See reviews for
67
112
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at the hotel during the last week of Dec 2012. The location is wonderful, very close to Promenade and Aurobindo Ashram and walking distance from the good places in White Town. The rooms are cozy and the atmosphere is hospitable. The staff is friendly, polite, very helpful and very fast at room service. The food is delicious and the restaurant was actually one of the best places to have food in Pondicherry.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Pondicherry, and trust me the hotel looks much prettier than the pics posted on tripadvisor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Me and my friends visited du parc last september.. v decided on this place after goin thru tripadvisor nd the place is every bit as its showcased here. The staff is very helpful and the service is excellent.. the rooms are nice nd clean and the place is very calm with a vintage look. Must stay i wud recommend!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Du Parc earlier this week for Christmas and we thought we were very lucky to select this hotel. The beautiful yellow colored heritage building takes you back to the old colonial times! The warmth of the building was further exuded by the warmth of the staff there. Very helpful and always smiling we really appreciated all the help given especially by Abdul and Ravi; who had been guiding us about our trip even before we landed in pondicherry. The hotel is perfectly located and the rooms are lovely with a good restaurant and bar service. Will definitely recommend this place to any who asks me!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

A heritage hotel... was my 1st marriage anniversary and the staff made it a memorable one... ideally located market just 2 mins walk and promenade just about 5 mins walk... all tourist attractions 3 - 5 mins walk...

Room Tip: Ask for Room no. 3 its something you'd never imagined.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Nice place.Close to the promenade.Worth staying.Food not so great,but you have a lot of good restuatants near by.Rooms are clean but the only problem is ,you will not be able to open the windows to have a fresh breeze as the windows open up to the street.Except that everything else is fine.

Room Tip: Check for rooms on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was good value for money. All the rooms were clean and spacious (although some are bigger than others), the food was generally very good both for breakfast and dinner. The staff were very helpful on places to go and the promenade is within easy walking distance, I would definitely recommend the hotel

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Du Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Parc

Address: 5 Jawaharlal Nehru Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 57 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Du Parc 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Villa Selvom - restored as Hotel du Parc with close proximity to the beach and the Auroindo ashram, was built in the early 17th Century and was a part of Villa Aurome. It has served in the past as the residence of many French Governors including Dupleix. The Villa has been remodeled as a reflection of the colonial times. Nestled ingeniously between the mango and coconut trees, the hotel offers two exquisite Multi-cuisine restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Du Parc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Du Parc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.