We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Peaceful stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Promenade

Save Saved
You added The Promenade to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Promenade
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23, Goubert Avenue | opp. Gandhi Statue on Beach Road, Pondicherry 605001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 56 hotels in Pondicherry
Chennai
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Peaceful stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The Promenade is one of the best placed hotels in Pondi, right by the beach and close to the center of the city. The hotel staff were prompt, though there was a confusion with giving the room. the room was exquisite and very comfortable to stay in. Loved the stay and the food. The swimming pool was under renovation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Mr Rakesh,

Greetings from Pondicherry,

Thank you for the feedback and all the positives that you have pointed out. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to meet all your expectations. We have taken care of the room allotment issue with the concerned team.
Thank you once again and we wish that you will visit us again.

Thanks and regards

Gaurav Suri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    161
    71
    37
    21
See reviews for
133
163
24
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I love this place although I have never had hospitality like this in pondicherry

It is such a well-oiled machine with the most amazing staff especially manager like Sakthi who go way beyond his duty to make you feel home and welcomed

It's always a treat to arrive here ...

Room Tip: Sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Mr Rohit,

Greetings from Pondicherry,

Thank you for your feedback, and pointing out the positives of the hotel and its services. We appreciate your feedback and it helps to improve our services every time. your feedback has been shared with the team and we hope you will be back with us soon.

Warm regards

Gaurav Suri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHANDIGARH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We've had a great time. The staff was very good , the place is nice, the food is good, the ambiance is great, especially the G.M., Mr. Suri, with whom it was a pleasure to meet. Great restaurants within a stone's throw. It was an overall great experience, and I would rate the place 9 out of ten.

Room Tip: sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Pondicherry,

Thank you for your kind feedback and appreciating the services of the hotel, we are pleased that your enjoyed your stay with us and we wish to have you back with us soon.

Thanking you once again

Warm regards

Gaurav Suri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Very Warm Welcoming Boutique Hotel, very exotic place, amazing Location. The French Colonial Arquitecture reminded me of many colonial styles around the world, amazing rooftop restaurant with views, good wines and grilled seafood. The ground floor restaurant with an amazing chef (mr Shoukat) who personally made sure the indian and western food was to the highest standards, including my favorite plates. The reception, the warmth of all employees, and the old school quality of their attention makes this place a high recommendation to my friends and whoever reads my sincere comments. Saul C.

Room Tip: •"Rooms on the south side are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Mr Saul

Greetings from Pondicherry,

Thank you for you kind feedback about the hotel and the services, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and were pleased with our services. I have shared your feedback with the team and we wish to have you back with us soon.
Thank you once again for your feedback.

Warm regards

Gaurav Suri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Near the water front very well kept clean hotel. The rooms are large clean with comfortable bedding. It has very fine restaurants. the roof top restaurant is lovely, tad pricey but well worth esp if you are looking for a quite dinner in a romantic setting. The food does cool of quickly so if you enjoy warm food, ensure piping hot food arrives at the table. its a tasty scene. the buffet breakfast is realy great with attentive service. indeed enjoyable. the dinner buffet was indeed well worth with lot of varieties a tasty sitting. I sugest talk to management about bathroom if you have a problem with getting into shower where bathtub is pretty tall. ensure if the room has a lower tub. if you are physicaly challenged pls talk to the hotel if you will be able to get into shower. Constant hot water is a bonus in this colonial look n feel hotel. it does apear the fixtures etc could use a facelift which i was told by the very attentive management that this was coming in time. the mgmnt is very keen and observant, indeed great folks who went out if their way to ensure our needs were met n that we all had a great time. i must say bravo. the service thanks to well trained staff was superb. the manament just lije otger sarovar hotels i have stayed at is very client oriented. i will come back

Room Tip: see if u can get a seaside facing room. since trafic is not allowed later in the evenings, the movem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from the Promenade hotel,

Thank you for taking out the time to post your feedback about the hotel and its services, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our facilities. We have also noted the concern areas and are working towards correcting them.
Thank you once again for the feedback and we wish to have you back with us soon.

Thanks and regards

Gaurav Suri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Although on its website the hotel touts itself as being “a luxurious boutique hotel offering an opulent accommodation…A five star property”, I would class it as a good 3-star hotel which has seen better days.
Our superior room with sea view was spotlessly clean and comfortable, but the furniture and bathroom fixtures were pretty shabby and long past their prime. As for the sea view, it was only visible when standing against the window looking sideways. Otherwise all we saw was a dilapidated set of concrete buildings dominated by the decaying old concrete lighthouse.
The rooftop restaurant was lovely and the food was good although the view at night was disappointing. The breakfast buffet was scanty but satisfactory.
Check-in was fast and efficient and the staff were pleasant throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Sir / Mam

Greetings from the Promenade Hotel,

Thank you for your valuable feedback pointing out the positives and the concern areas of the hotel.
I have shared your feedback with the team and will take all the measures to correct the concern areas.
Thank you once again for your feedback and we wish to have you back with us soon.

Warm regards

Gaurav Suri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Very often we visit Pondicherry, during the weekends , but this trip was really marvelous We had very wonderful evening on the weekend with delicious & varieties of Indian & Continental food with beautiful wine , with friendly & courteous service ....keep up the good service & standards ..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam

Greetings from Pondicherry,

Thank you for your kind feedback about the hotel and its services. We are glad that you enjoyed your evening with us and we wish to have you back with us soon.

Warm regards

Gaurav Suri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Promenade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Promenade

Address: 23, Goubert Avenue | opp. Gandhi Statue on Beach Road, Pondicherry 605001, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pondicherry
#11 Romantic Hotel in Pondicherry
#15 Family Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Promenade 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Promenade is a luxury boutique hotel on the ocean front of one of India's most beautiful and romantic towns. Most of the rooms overlook the shimmering waters of the Bay of Bengal. Stylishly designed rooms with wooden flooring, specially designed luxury bedding, LCD TV, work desk, Wi-Fi, tea-coffee maker, fully loaded mini bar & electronic safe. DVD player and movies on demand service. All rooms are accented with exquisitely crafted pure leather accessories & an inspiring leather head board. All baths come with a hand dryer, bath tub, magnifying mirror and international 'Bodyshop' toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Promenade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Promenade Hotel Pondicherry
Promenade Hotel Pondicherry
Promenade Pondicherry

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Promenade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.